We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been better.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Black Star Farms
Ranked #2 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Arbor, Mi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could not have been better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for two nights recently for our anniversary. The accommodations, hospitality, breakfast and dinner were just perfect. They exceeded our expectations. We look forward to returning someday.

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyChamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northport, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great room, great breakfast, great people, great fun! Cleaner than my own house! Beautiful area! The tasting room was nice and we bought our favorite wines, and some different cheeses. Had a great time! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707Mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I received a gift card to Black Star Farms as a wedding gift. We timed our visit to celebrate our first anniversary. We had a wonderful time! The room was a bit pricey, but absolutely wonderful! There were less expensive rooms than the suite we stayed in, but they were not available the weekend we visited. We loved the unlimited wine tasting in the tasting room and bought several different types of wine. The hospitality hour was particularly enjoyable and we met several of the other guests. The food at both the hospitality hour and the breakfast were amazing. Hats off the the chef. The only area for improvement is the lack of a restaurant for dinner. We did receive a great recommendation from the innkeeper. We are already talking about when we can return to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us. I hope that we will see you again in the future for more happy occasions. -Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This inn has lovely rooms, excellent breakfast and wine at happy hour. The setting is beautiful. A visit to the stable and barnyard and a walk through the orchard make this inn experience unique. We enjoy wine tasting on the property each time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks so much for your review, Robbie. It is always a pleasure chatting with you both. Hope to see you again soon. -Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My 2 friends and I checked into our spacious beautiful suite, to find chocolates and wine in the cooler. The breakfast while only served from 8:30-9:30 was scrumptious with both cold and warm food. Unfortunately we did not get to eat dinner in the Inn as the chef was sick. The property was relaxing, quiet, and very rural. Dining and night life are a short car ride away. The only thing I would change is they glow in the dark constellations on the ceiling, kind of creepy.
The staff was attentive and professional. The tasting room was crowded at times but the wine is good. You could probably skip the cheese. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. -Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at The Inn At Black Star Farms three times now and our stay was just like the last two, simply amazing. The impeccability of the rooms, the warmth of the innkeeper Jil and the gourmet breakfast made this last minute getaway memorable, given it was our 9th wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the romance package and the the back-to-back massages Sunday morning were much needed given our hectic schedules. The bottle of BeDazzled and wine flutes were a nice touch with the package as was the Long stem rose waiting for my wife on the bed when we entered. We will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: The Lyra is the most cost effective, $225 high season and $150/night low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to see you both. We very much appreciate your repeat business. -Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My sister planned and booked our trip and this was a new place for both of us. More bed and breakfast then hotel. We stayed in Betelgeuse - lovely room. All the suites are named for stars.
A great spot to stay if you want to visit Petoskey, Charlevoix and Harbor Springs - all a short drive away. Very pretty property and breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed the wine reception as well as the tasting room and picked up some cheese too. 2-thumbs up - we will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Look at the website it is very descriptive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatbsf, Innkeeper at The Inn at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We appreciate your visit. -Kellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
13.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
11.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Black Star Farms

Property: The Inn at Black Star Farms
Address: 10844 E Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate escape in the heart of Leelanau Peninsula Wine Country where you will feel comfortable, pampered, and renewed. Our distinctive Bed & Breakfast Inn nestled below a hillside of vineyards and overlooking barns and pastures, features ten luxurious guestrooms with an exceptional package of services and amenities. Our guestrooms are named for various stars in the Northern galaxy. Each has its own private bath, some have fireplaces or spa tubs. All guestrooms have WiFi and satellite TV. Your stay includes many complimentary amenities including afternoon refreshments, an evening wine reception, a full gourmet breakfast, a complimentary bottle of our wine, and enjoyment of our sauna, library, and recreational trails. You are invited to enjoy our wine-paired 6 course monthly Harvest Dinners or our own Hearth & Vine Cafe for locally sourced farmstead cuisine. Guests can inquire with the innkeeper to learn more and to make a reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Black Star Farms Hotel Suttons Bay
The Inn At Black Star Farms Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing