We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food from menu”
Review of V.I. Grill

V.I. Grill
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: The V.I. Grill serves fresh and local American fare in a family friendly atmosphere. Some of our specialties include Fresh Whitefish, Black Angus burgers, natural hand cut fries, fresh salads or unique sandwiches. Don't forget to save room for our local fresh daily desserts including Moomers Ice Cream. Enjoy a outdoor dining around a stone fireplace with a full bar area. Our Tavern is accented with hand scraped Hickory floors and Mahogany back bar with 22 taps, tv's are visible and our dining room includes a two story stone fireplace and specializes in large groups. Next time your in Suttons Bay, experience the history of Leelanau County Est. 1871!
Whitetop, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food from menu”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went on a Sunday during brunch, but dietary restrictions prohibited us from enjoying the buffet. We saw many plates pass our table with food that looked delicious from buffet. We ordered from the menu and had: Tony's omelette (spicy salsa, jalepenos, cheese; another omelette, and two eggs bacon, and toast. All were well prepared and tasty. Our wait staff member was very friendly and attentive. This is a place we like to visit - especially after church on Sunday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    85
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great wait staff.. very pleasant place”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we ate out on the patio which was nice because they have overhead heating and even though it was cold and rainy it was great outside... Ordered mussels and margarita Pizza.. Damn good food.. Drinks are pretty good as well

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ditjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food. Great variety. ”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We've had breakfast, lunch and now dinner. Really good and very tasty, fresh food. Go there. Love the patio seating. We've also been indoors. Very warm and cozy with a fireplace. Outside bar. Nicely done.

Helpful?
Thank Edie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very satisying meal, on the patio!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We kicked off our anniversary vacation at the highly recommended Village Inn. We were so pleased with this fantastic restaurant in quaint Suttons Bay. On a beautiful June evening, the patio provided the perfect ambience on the downtown strip. The service was great and the food was one of the best we as a couple have enjoyed for awhile. I had the whitefish sandwich, harvested locally, with sweet potato fries. The garlic aioli with the fries was amazing. Husband had a burger with their homemade potato chips and he was quite pleased. The sandwich "buns" were light and fluffy, more like rolls. We would eagerly return to this place. Definitely check it out.

Helpful?
Thank lovesource1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stopped here for dinner during a recent stay at Black Star Farms and were delighted to discover that on the night of our visit, a Thursday, all bottles of wine were half off. We enjoyed a delicious bottle of Michigan wine with one of the best pizzas I've ever had. Our male waiter was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. This is a pretty casual place and we felt right at home. The few locals there in April only stared at us for a few minutes :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V.I. Grill also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to V.I. Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing