We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Great rental shop

My wife and I rented bikes as part of the wine tour and couldn’t have been happier with the... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
j72094
,
Chesterfield, Michigan
via mobile
No matter the season!

These people know bikes, SUP's, x-country skiing - and they know the area. They can deliver or... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
Rob C
,
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Read all 29 reviews
  
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
29
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water bottles self guided tour rails to trails shady lane wine purchases wine tour local wineries winery stop sandwich rolling hills great fun traverse city northern michigan leelanau peninsula black star farms helmets grade
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 29 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We did the self guided wine tour and really enjoyed ourselves. Although it did feel like we peddled up hill both ways at times! We are from the relatively flat lands of Indiana and were not used to Northern Michigan "rolling" hills. The TART trail we rode one was wide and had very pretty scenery. Since it was early fall, the air was filled with the wonderful aroma of ripe apples all along the trail. Nick, at the bike company, was really nice and helpful. We peddled to 4 wineries along the trail. Nick delivered a big and delicious picnic lunch to us at Shady Lane winery. He also stopped by the wineries we made purchases at and retrieved our bottles. The bikes were in good shape, Treks. We got to keep our water bottles as a souvenir. We are hoping to give their Microbrewery Bike tour a try next time we are in the area. Here's to wishing Nick much success!

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank mcconnell46788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I are not frequent bikers, but are interested in doing so in the future. Our test drive was to go with our best friends and family members (avid tandem riders) and do a self-guided tour of the local wineries. This help limit how much you could drink and drive (literally). Buying wine was easy, as they pick it up for you and have it waiting when you return.

This was amazing... they fitted us with bikes and helmets and sent us on the easy riding path. It was largely flat, but felt more downhill on the way back, perfect for those not in the best of physical shape (see photo). Warning: Black Star Farms is an expert level ride once you get off the path!

The deli lunch was not typical. It was a gourmet feast (more than anyone could eat) and the picnic basket presentation was top notch. Shady Lane Cellars and that lunch make a perfect setting for a wedding proposal.

The self-guided tour was $59 pp and was worth every dime if you plan on buying more than a bottle of wine and having lunch. You won't find a better lunch along the trail. If not, you can rent the bike for the day for $30 and bring you own lunch to save a few bucks. Note bikes have a carry bag that could possibly carry one bottle of wine if you are careful.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank macleandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Four of us did the self-guided wine tour in summer 2012 and a really amazing day we are still talking about! The service from the bike shop was excellent from start to finish: the bike pick-up went smoothly, they helped us choose how much we wanted to bike and which wineries fit best, planned our lunch for us, and set us off on our day.

The routes were easy to follow and a beautiful ride, and the wineries were very accommodating. When we arrived at the winery where we planned to have lunch, the bike shop had already beaten us there and set up a great spread. The food was excellent!

In the end we had a really, really great day, and looking forward to doing a similar trip this summer (2013!). Highly recommended!

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC