We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont have high expectations!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suttons Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont have high expectations!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I went here for my birthday because it was near the casino. When we got back to r room, i had to listen to a drunk lady on the balcony two rooms down till after 2am. There is nothing but a metal rale between u and your neighbor. Then her children had us up before 8a, banging a stick on such said dividors. The vending machine was empty, and no restrouant on resort. The rooms were pretty nice. Beautiful view of bay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themfirst185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location was beautiful, the have a large deck/balcony with nice chairs for you to sit and enjoy the view. The rooms were VERY small and VERY VERY Dark...with a very loud and noisy air conditioner. It advertises free WiFi....but we found that the free WiFi only worked in the small lobby...not in the rooms.
It was ok for one night because of the location.
They said they recently remodeled...but seems someone forgot to address the lighting situation.
The woman at the front desk, when we checked in (Samantha) was very nice and very helpful. Later on that day....the young guy covering the front desk....was NOT helpful and acted as if he did not care about anything other than watching the TV.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here recently after hearing there had been a remodeling done. My room was quite nice with a balcony that had a table and two chairs. The room had a flat screen tv and good a/c. The halls were dingy. There was no microwave or iron/ironing board. The shower was nice.
No breakfast. Overall a decent place to stay-nothing special-nothing bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtonholly3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel was recommended by the bride of the wedding we attended near Traverse City. I could find out very little on the internet about the hotel and made our reservation based on the fact that it was the most reasonable price for a room in the area. We were very pleased with the accomodations. The clerk at the desk was most helpful giving us ideas for local restaurants and answering all our questions. The room was immaculate and recently up dated. The bed was comfortable, the linens fresh and clean, the bathroom was perfect with great water pressure. I asked for extra towels and a pillow and was immediately taken to the laundry where I witnessed a clean, organized, and well stocked room. Our room was near the lobby and the laundry, but we heard no noise. Coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby and it was excellent coffee. For us the bed, the bathroom, and free parking are the most important items. We don't need a pool, a workout room, and such things. If you do you may be disappointed. There was no breakfast and we are used to that being a part of most of our stays now. However, the gal at the desk directed us to a nice place in Suttons Bay for breakfast that was great. The casino is next door and most people staying here do gamble. We did not, so I can not review the casino. We enjoy visiting the area, but not paying the usual high price for a room. We will definately be back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannetteMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here June 2013 for 2 nights. We had a wonderful bayside room. The night desk clerk was fantastic. ( Ben ). He helped us out of a difficult situation, and was very professional and overly helpful. Ben made our trip better. The day crew was very nice also. No, they don't have bells and whistle amenities, but do have clean remodeled beautiful rooms.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We book a room here in February 2013 for the Traverse City Wine Festival on June 22, 2013. We stated that we would need a shuttle to or assistance to get a taxi into Traverse City for the festival and that was a requirement for our decision to make the reservation. We were told the hotel had a shuttle and it would not be a problem. We also asked for early checking around 1:30 or 2 rather than 4 because we were coming from a biking tour and would need to shower and get ready for the festival and concert. Again we were informed no problem. When we arrived, we were treated rudely by "Dawn" the front desk supervisor from the get go. We were told they never allowed early check in and they had no place for us to even change or keep or luggage. Further, Dawn said the shuttle would not be made available to us and conceded the notes on our reservation indicated it would. The final insult is she refused to help with obtaining a taxi and merely directed us to a phone book with no suggestion of which service was reliable. I would not send my worst enemy to stay here! despite "Dawn" and the fact we were late, due to her, the Traverse City Wine Festival was worth the trip. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Suttons Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
17.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
17.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
17.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
19.0 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge

Property: Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge
Address: 2521 N West Bay Shore Dr, Peshawbestown, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9366
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suttons Bay
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Leelanau Sands Casino & Lodge Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing