We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the outdated website!!”
Review of The Vineyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vineyard Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Before booking our reservation, I read several reviews of the Vineyard Inn, and even called Pam to speak directly with her regarding my concerns about the unflattering reviews. She assured me that these "bad reviews" were being written by her neighbors who were attempting to steal her guests. Although I was skeptical, I decided to go ahead and book 4 nights in a "2 room suite" as described on the website. Let me assure you, I am not a neighbor of the Vineyard Inn, but an honest to goodness paying customer, who was very disappointed. Upon arrival, we were escorted by the COOK to our room: #14 on the second level. Thankfully, there were no musty smells as mentioned in previous reviews, but the room itself was not worth the $175/night we were charged. The carpeting in the room was clearly in need of cleaning, and the wood-rotted windows (one of which would not close completely) were badly in need of repair, as well as better coverings! The room was NOT a 2 room suite, as advertised, but rather one very large room, with a kitchenette and small bathroom; no sofa in the room as described on website. When we questioned Pam the next evening, (up until then she was nowhere to be found) she said our room was considered a suite because it was larger than the studio rooms. Pam also said it used to be two rooms, but the bedroom was so small, they knocked out the wall. When I mentioned (and showed her) that the description and pricing on her website of a 2 room suite vs a studio differed, she replied by saying the website was outdated, and that "No one has ever complained before." The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were as flat as pancakes. The bathroom towels were the typical, low grade, scratchy type and the outlet in the bathroom did not work. The maid came daily and replaced any towels we left on the floor, and made the bed, but left the dirty dishes in the kitchen sink and never cleaned the bathroom sink. We also booked the full-day wine tour through The Vineyard Inn. Again, the prices and details were misrepresented. For example, no one in our group expected to pay tasting fees at each winery - we thought it was inclusive and the website was very vague. Questions to Pam were once again met with the response, "the website is outdated." Morning, all-day, and afternoon tour groups were melded together. Lunch was rushed. Afternoon group wanted to visit wineries that the morning group had already been to, etc.... it was a mess! A few positives: The location is nice, just on the outskirts of Sutton's Bay. There is a small private beach with fire pits, and our room had a large outdoor deck. The deck is shared by 3 other second floor rooms, but we seemed to be the only ones on the floor while we were there. Corky's Bistro is nice and has a lovely outdoor patio and bar. We only had the pizza which was very good. Overall, seems that Pam needs to update her website, clean up her Inn and organize her wine tours! Seems the Vineyard Inn is just a hobby for her.

Room Tip: Do not book online. Call the inn and be very clear about your expectations. Get everything in writi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank svfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Pathetic Place
We five ladies stayed two nights immediately after Labor Day. Upon entering our room we were greeted by a musty smell and nasty carpeting. Stairs to loft bedrooms featured steep steps and treads far too narrow to accommodate adult feet safely and comfortably. Bathroom was stocked with only two hand towels and two washcloths--for FIVE adults. Sign requested that we re-use our towels! Only one spare roll of bath tissue was provided. Pull-out sofa-bed in the living room was the most uncomfortable mattress imaginable. Immediately adjacent was the slider to a tiny balcony. Drapes on this window consisted of but two panels on an opening that clearly required three to fully cover the glass in what served as a sleeping & dressing area after dark. Ancient coffee maker probably had not been properly cleaned with vinegar run through its inner workings since Sonny was still with Cher, if then. Brewing a single pot of coffee took nearly an hour. Not a single luggage rack was provided. Bathroom had exceptionally tiny soaps shaped like Tootsie Rolls and difficult to use. Wall sconce was inoperative. As a whole, accommodations were very over-priced, old & shabby with amateur or absent renovations painfully evident.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greengenes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We rented the entire inn for 3 nights (a total of 12 rooms) for a family reunion. The rooms are in need of some updating and repairs, but overall were clean and adequate for all of us. The inn was great for the reunion...a beautiful lawn for games, areas for spending time in comfortable chairs chatting, two places for campfires, a dock for our boat, and a grill for cooking. Pam invited our family to use the outdoor bar (covered by a large canopy tent) one night when it started to rain and our plans to eat at the beach had to change. One of our sisters was in a wheelchair due to a broken ankle and Pam offered the use of their golf cart to get her around. The views are amazing and I can't wait to see the family photos with the amazing backgrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMC628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What we thought was a beautiful location for a girls weekend in wine country turned out to be a terrible experience because of one reason... Pam the so called "owner." If she treats guests that spend money at her hotel this way, I can't imagine what she treats her family and friends like.
It started when I tried to receive a confirmation for our stay that was information for someone else with a similar last name. They also tried to overcharge me, but thankfully i disputed and referenced the confirmation (which was received days after they said it would be sent). Then after several attempts to book the wine tour with no one available to take a reservation we chose to book with another company (Caltic in TC - which was amazing I might add, and from the other reviews it appears that we were saved from an overpriced tour).
I received a call the day before driving up and Pam was calling to confirm our stay and wine tour, I returned the call to say that we did not receive a call back for the wine tour and booked with someone else. This was the start of disrespectful treatment which continued the entire time... to make a long story short I will just give examples:
An employee told us we had to move from a table due to "reservations at the restaurant," I still have yet to see the place fill up with people. I now feel that she probably told them to say that just so we would move.
She came up to a balcony where we were visiting with a couple to say that their neighbors needed chairs that we were using - this couple came out after she left to say they were very confused why she did that and they did not need chairs.
She came to our room on our last night and asked if we needed anything... (she had not done this the prior 2 nights we were there) she proceeded to accuse us of having 12 people in a room that could barely fit 6 people and when I told her to leave us alone she proceeded to try and slam our door in my face, storm down the stairs, and say "you have ruined things for other girls trips" (whatever that meant) and then slammed a door so hard I thought the glass would shatter.

I am giving fair warning that if you prefer to dine and stay at a comfortable, respectful, and non-abusive inn I highly recommend another destination. There are plenty of other places in wine country that would provide a better view and price. Such a shame; as stated in other reviews this place has potential to be great if there were a new owner.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kgurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom which slept 2 (twin beds with pull out twin), and a loft with a queen sized bed. There was a wall unit AC in living area and fans provided for up-stairs rooms. Weather was very hot on days we were there (July 2013), and on last day the entire Inn lost all electricity.
Rooms were clean but musty, old fashion TV, small bathroom, so a bit pricey for what you get.
Pretty view but water level very low. We did not eat at Corkys. Loved the Suttons Bay area, close to all the wineries, and Glen Arbor area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dynamo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First, I have never stayed at the hotel but absolutely love the restaurant. There is nothing like a the Cheese and Fruit tray with a bottle of local wine. The atmosphere is just great. Located on M22 so that in itself paints the picture of beauty!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FanofPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I arrived very skeptical in light of the reviews here; but it was the only option in the area for a last minute getaway on our way to manitou island and so we went with it. I have to say, check in was smooth, the personnel were kind and helpful. The rooms are clean, it's just a very dated inn and yes, it smells musty... They could use new carpet and some updates. But the linens were fine and although furnished simply, the room did the trick. The place has serious potential with some investment. Corky's is adorable and the view is great. Skip the beach until the water levels rise again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Vineyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard Inn

Address: 1338 N Pebble Beach Dr, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9486 (Formerly The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay)
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range: £71 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vineyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay and Corky's Beach Bistro combine water and wine to create the perfect backdrop for a memorable get-a-way at this 12-suite, romantic, European style inn, on the sandy shores of beautiful Suttons Bay. All of the suites enjoy stunning lake views and are nicely appointed with kitchenettes. Corky's Beach Bistro is our new on-site, full service restaurant, featuring a lively atmosphere, your favorite fare and libations including our very own French Valley Vineyard's wine, free boat docking and boat moorings, and Leelanau County's only beachfront dining. Choose one of our fun packages: tour the wineries in our limo coach or trolley, hit the links, get the girls together, a romantic getaway, or just relax on the beach. Located just north of downtown Suttons Bay, right on the 45th parallel. Also located at the Vineyard Inn are the offices for Wine Country Weddings and Events, our in-house catering and event company. We offer full catering services to commemorate every event. Weddings, anniversaries, milestone birthdays, vow renewals, rehearsal dinners, and corporate retreats to name a few. You can choose your venue from any one of our three event sites, Crooked Creek Ranch on Lake Leelanua, French Valley Vineyards in the heart of wine country, or The Vineyard Inn on Suttons Bay. We can also come to you with our fully equipped mobile kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Vineyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard Inn On Suttons Bay Hotel Suttons Bay
The Vineyard Inn Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing