We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lee Point Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suttons Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lee Point Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Suttons Bay B&B and Inns
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We recently stayed three nights at Lee Point Inn and we loved every minute of it. The owners, Fred and Patty, were very friendly and made us feel more like family than guests. They welcomed us into their home, did everything they could to make us feel comfortable, and offered many "extras" such as setting up a driving range for my husband other offers that were extremely generous. The home was beautiful and very clean and well-kept. The food was superb and Patty is an amazing cook, with Fred backing her up on the grill! Patty even shared some of her yummy recipes with me. The backyard is breathtaking with many different decks, tables, benches, and even a swing overlooking the bay. We basically loved everything about this place and highly recommend it. We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at Lee Point Inn. Note that this is a private home in the woods right on the Grand Traverse Bay. The family lives here but the rooms are very private and the service is outstanding. We stayed in the Blue Room and loved it. We could see the sunrise over the Bay each morning. Melissa (the young adult daughter) prepared and served breakfast both mornings. The Dutch pancake and the Eggs Benedict were scrumptious; great coffee, lots of fruit, juices, condiments. We took out their canoe for a fabulous outing on the Bay. Melissa also recommended the TART bike path and we spent a wonderful day riding down to Traverse City and back - this path is not to be missed. I highly recommend Lee Point Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

First off my husband and I have avoided B&B's at all costs. Our trip to Traverse changed all that. Last min our weekend plans changed, unwisely we chose to go north with no plans on where to stay. Once we did it took hours of calling to determine every place but TA's lowest rated hotels had no vacancy. Lucky for us Lee's Point had one room available and they were very kind regardless of the fact that we were looking for a place to stay just before 10pm. The owners were gracious and kind. The rooms were clean and seperate. The bed in the pink room was one of softest cuddly beds. If that wasn't enough they served breakfast an hour earlier to accomadate our schedule. It was delicious. Our biggest complaint was that we didn't have more time to enjoy the view from their back patio.
One thing to be aware of is that their rates although competitive are not as low as published in TA. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busylilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Found this gem on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased with our stay. The house is large and lovely. The bed was comfortable in the 'blue' room which was at the end of the hallway so we had maximum privacy. Breakfasts were always delicious, beginning with fresh fruit and coffee. During our four day stay we had eggs Benedict, German pancake with fresh berries, hashbrown casserole, and baked French toast. The icing on the cake is the magnificent backyard! It is about 6 stories above West Grand Traverse Bay. There is expansive decking to enjoy the incredible view. It is equally as lovely at night. The Inn Keepers are friendly and personable and spent time with us as well.

Room Tip: The peach room has a king size bed and a full tub as well as a balcony. The blue room is at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SenoraNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were a little uneasy about booking our 15th-anniversary lodgings here because there was only one previous (very positive) TripAdvisor review. But we took the plunge and booked three nights during the peak of the fall 2011 foliage season. As it turned out, we loved our stay at Lee Point Inn.

We slept in the Peach Room on the 2nd floor, which has a beautiful view of west Traverse Bay across to Old Mission Peninsula. One morning we even saw a bald eagle perched on a nearby limb, scanning the shallows below the bluff for fish. The forest around the Inn was lovely in the fall and framed the water views nicely. The home has a large deck out back with a gazebo, lots of seating, and a fire pit. One can walk down a 96-step wooden staircase to a beach below the bluff. The hosts have kayaks to lend, but the rainy & windy weather we encountered on our stay deterred us from venturing out.

We liked the Peach Room. It had ample space in the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was comfortable, with unscented, clean sheets and duvets. (One of us is sensitive to fragrances.)

We enjoyed three delicious breakfasts. Each one started with a fresh fruit salad. The 1st morning we had a Baked German Pancake, with choice of butter, local jams, fresh berries, and maple syrup, with sausage grilled on the BBQ. The 2nd morning we had Eggs Benedict with homemade blueberry muffins. The 3rd morning we had oven-baked French toast with Michigan maple syrup and slow-grilled, thick peppered bacon. We savored every meal, especially the last one. Patty and Fred are warm & friendly hosts with whom we enjoyed chatting and who gave us good tips on restaurants for dinner in Traverse City and on Leelanau Peninsula.

For us, Lee Point Inn was nearly perfect as a staging ground for exploring the peninsula by car. For other travelers, there may be other considerations that make the Inn less attractive: The house is modern -- don't expect a 19th-century Victorian. The Inn is several miles from the town of Suttons Bay - you can't just stroll to an art gallery or restaurant. (But it is beautifully situated on the water near an orchard.)

We look forward to staying at Lee Point Inn again on a future trip and strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatStarA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast inn located in Leelanau County near Suttons Bay -- in the heart of northern Michigan's wine country. The innkeepers are very accomodating and fix up a fine breakfast! The inn has a lovely Grand Traverse beach -- private, with lovely views, perfect for swimming. We had a great weekend and since Suttons Bay is among our favorite spots, will most certainly return.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesLeelanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suttons Bay
12.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
13.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.6 mi away
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast
12.6 mi away
A Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Point Inn

Property: Lee Point Inn
Address: 2885 S Lee Point Ln, Suttons Bay, MI 49682-9528
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Suttons Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Suttons Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lee Point Inn Suttons Bay, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing