We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We won't be back”
Review of Bay Inn Tawas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Inn Tawas
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tawas City
Brant, Michigan
2 reviews
“We won't be back”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just stayed two nights here, when we arrived we were impressed over the next two nights our minds were changed. The pool was freezing, the hot tub was more like a kind of warm tub. The breakfast was horrible, we used the toaster to toast a bagel, that seemed to be the best of the 4 options, bagels, bread or cereal.10 minutes later when it was just getting warm We decided to give up and go to big boy. We left for the day with our maid service please sign on the door and our room was never touched. After being woke up by children running up and down the hall calling the desk twice and nothing being done at 6:30 am we decided it was a waste of money and a paid vacation day from work so we packed up and left for home. Total bummer with the hotel, beautiful city though.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhKoski61315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    14
    8
    14
See reviews for
27
11
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and three of my friends stayed the weekend and was so impressed with the accommodations. Great staff, food, rooms, clean pool, and hot tub. Looking forward to our next stay. Highly recommend to others

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean and well appointed. The bed was very good and shower is hot quickly. All in all a great room. HOWEVER the hotel pays only lip service to having internet connection. It was up and down so I asked the lady on the front desk and was told that the general manager knows it's crummy and refuses to upgrade the system. Basically the quiet rooms at the back of the hotel get no signal so to get some signal you need to be in the middle of the hotel. Don't think that you will get online soon here, you will not and once online the system crashes quickly. This is a real shame since the rest of the hotel is great.

Room Tip: Avoid being near to the pool or at the back of the hotel away from the road if you need to use the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chosen 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have stayed in a number of pet friendly cabins in the area and found this to be far better. Basic and clean, with direct access to the outside for pet and a reasonable price. That is everything we want when traveling with our dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solanomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

DANGEROUS CHAIRS, STAFF NOT TRAINED IN CUSTOMER SERVICE. Nice rooms. Fantastic breakfast offerings. Many regular returning guests contributed to a family atmosphere. Everyone had nice things to say. My score is based on the lack of response from manager. A desk chair broke in our room and a plastic molded pool side chair collapsed beneath me. Hey I am average, weigh 150 and am 5'4'. A guest helping me said 2 chairs broke that week beneath her son. I gave the hotel a chance to say they'd replace their chairs, but no reply! My photo shows the stress point. I took pictures of all the chairs, they are all the same. BEWARE

Room Tip: if you expect to use wifi, be sure to get a room located closer to front desk. We were room 202 at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerrieLixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey city, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a clean, basic motel. It's not on the lake but close to it. My experience wasn't particularly memorable, but since I hesitated to book it based on reading various TripAdvisor disasters I figured I should note my disaster-free experience. No barking dogs, rampaging bikers or screaming children were encountered. I checked out Tawas City and East Tawas and most of the hotels aren't on Expedia. If you're adventurous and going during a non-peak time you can probably find a cheaper, smaller motel at the last minute.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyguy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Sheets were not changed on the second night because I had spilled chocolate on the sheet by accident on both beds. When I called the desk there was no help. I left my name and number for the manager to call. No call ever came so I called and he explained that sheets were not changed if you stay multiple nights. REALLY ! No sign anywhere, nothing. How is that acceptable. Guests have no idea. That is scummy. The manager was unapologetic. The sheets on the bed were obviously stained, you think a courtesy sheet change would have been done. Gene Kirvan the manager is worthless. This used to be a Days Inn franchise but it was dirty they lost it. Pool though is nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legacychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerbit, Manager at Bay Inn Tawas, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Manager spoke to guest the following day regarding his complaint of sheets not being replaced. Guest was eating chocolate chip cookies in bed. Apparently while eating, some cookie crumbs fell into guest bed. Guest didn't pick up the crumbs and slept in the same bed. If guest had requested sheets to be replaced with front desk, housekeeping would have changed the sheets immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tawas City
12.4 mi away
Camp Inn Lodge
Camp Inn Lodge
#3 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
14.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oscoda - AuSable River
16.5 mi away
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
Edmonds Au Gres Inn
#1 of 2 in Au Gres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
Tawas Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 4 in East Tawas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
14.3 mi away
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
Oscoda Lakeside Hotel
#7 of 10 in Oscoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
12.5 mi away
Huron House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Inn Tawas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Inn Tawas

Property: Bay Inn Tawas
Address: 1020 W Lake St, Tawas City, MI 48763-9277 (Formerly Days Inn Tawas City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Tawas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tawas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Inn Tawas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 rooms within walking distance of beautiful sandy beaches of Lake Huron. Minutes away from the legendary AuSable River and many other popular local amenities. 60 miles from Saginaw Tri-City airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Inn Tawas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Inn Tawas Hotel Tawas City
Days Inn Tawas City
Tawas City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing