We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant day!”

National Forest Adventure Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tatenhill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A day of adventure awaits at the National Forest Adventure Farm, whatever the weather. You can meet and feed the animals, explore the outdoor Funfield and have fun in the huge indoor play area. Meet a host of farm animals including pigs, sheep, cows and goats. In the spring and summer you can also bottle feed our lambs. You can cuddle a rabbit or guinea pig and see our more unusual animals such as alpaca, reindeer and chipmunks. We also have daily animal activities including pony grooming, milking demonstrations and egg collecting. The huge Funfield features a range of have a go activities including Go-Karts, assault course, mini golf, jumping pillow and in the summer the Water Splash Out. Why not take a tractor and trailer ride around the farm and look out for the scarecrows? The 3000m² indoor playbarn features a huge soft play area with demon drop slides. There's an under 5's area with a ball pit and giant Lego construction zone. Enjoy eating out or picnicking at one of our landscaped areas on sunny days, or in our airy 120-seat restaurant. In the summer, the Farm is home to a huge 10 acre maize maze. So take on the challenge of 3 miles of pathways, bridges and viewing towers.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were on hols in the area with our two kids 5 and 2. The maize took us 1hr 45mins with drinks hut in the middle, fantastic trail to do set around the book the scarecrows wedding. Had lunch then on to see the animals and bouncy pillows, bouncy castle, go karts, tractor ride. A full day at reasonable prices!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmteam, Administrator at National Forest Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of the maize maze and the farm, and well done on cracking the maze! We're really pleased you enjoyed your day out with us and it sounds like you made the very most of all the outdoor activities which are currently on offer over the summer. Perhaps we will see you again if you revisit this area - we do hope so.

kind regards,

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    163
    48
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my children had a school trip at the farm and they loved it, we returned the following week and used the free vouchers we got from school, plenty to do we go see the animals then play outside then go indoors to the drop slides, these are a good attraction to the adults as well as children, the staff are very helpful my son went missing and they radioed around trying to find him, he turned up in the end, there brilliant dealing with young children if they get lost or stuck in the frame they assist them, we returned again the week after with friends and they loved it too, I think it's well worth the money except children should be cheaper than adults as the adults don't do as much, the only bad thing I have to say is the food isn't very appealing and expensive we brought our own food on our third visit, we made a scarecrow which is well worth the £1, we tried the maze and the tractor ride and the kids loved it will definitely be a regular from now on.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmteam, Administrator at National Forest Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Gina, many thanks for posting a wonderful review for the farm on Tripadvisor! Having visited 3 times recently, you may wish to consider membership, so you can come as often as you like and try all our special events throughout the year? The comments you make regarding food I will certainly pass on to the restaurant manager.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

kind regards,

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lots to do outside and in. A indoor play area, lots of animals to see and feed inside and out. A tractor ride around the farm. A mini ride driven by one of the staff. Big maize and small maize to get lost in. Sand pits, bouncing castle, go karts, gift shop and restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmteam, Administrator at National Forest Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Louise,

Thank you very much for your great review and your summary of what's currently on offer at the farm this summer. Sounds like your family had a fab visit! Hope you also managed to take the tractor and trailer ride and have a go at making a scarecrow at the workshop. It's really great to know you all enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again soon.

kind regards,

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lot to be desired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As more grandparents take charge of the youngsters as parents work it becomes more expensive and as such the National Forest Adventure Farm is an example, with a charge of £9 peak season, there is nothing we can do at this venue we are just supervising and buying food.
there is an extra charge for crazy golf also £1 per ride on the electric cars, so £18 for two grandparents to do nothing with the children is a bit of a rip off, the area in general is very rough, stone walkways very awkward for wheelchairs and people with walking problems. the price for individual children is reasonable had they attended alone, animal petting is restricted to guinea pigs on a tray that can be stroked, egg collection is a farce, queue up to take 1 egg out of a nesting box this is not what was expected, so in conclusion, somewhere to go but leaves a lot to be disired

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank givealittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmteam, Administrator at National Forest Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for posting a review for the farm on Tripadvisor. We would have loved it to be more positive, but all feedback is useful, so many thanks for taking the time and trouble to let us know what you thought. It would probably have helped to know what sort of things you came hoping to do, because we have lots of activities on site which we encourage adults to get involved with alongside the children. There is a tractor and trailer ride, scarecrow making workshop, full size maze with puzzle trail and mini maze, plus pony grooming, milking demonstration and lots of activities such as jumping pillows, go-carts, trim trail and a massive indoor play area that adults as well as children are allowed to use. We do appreciate that many of the things available are physical or active, so really it has to be the individuals judgement call as to what they wish to or feel able to get involved with. Certainly at this time of year, people do come and spend a full day with us, and in these circumstances, it represents very good value for money. We hope to see you again, perhaps after school or when one of our special 2 for 1 offers are on?

kind regards,

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“TERRIFYING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Absolutely great evening out for Halloween...took my 13 year old niece and we walked round the different attractions holding hands!
The actors were great, getting up close and making strange faces and noises. My favourite was walking through the corn field maze, having to find our way out whilst being jumped upon by all sorts of sppoky characters! Will definitely be going back if I'm up that way!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmteam, Administrator at National Forest Adventure Farm, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello and thank you for posting a wonderful review for us on last years Screamfest event! We'll be doing it all over again for 2014, so make sure you are in the area again in October. We will look forward to scaring you again....

kind regards,

Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Forest Adventure Farm also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 

Been to National Forest Adventure Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing