We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great package for Greenfield Village, but hotel is just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taylor
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
338 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great package for Greenfield Village, but hotel is just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at this Comfort Inn because of their packages for Greenfield Village/Henry Ford Museum tickets. It made the price of the lodging very reasonable. If these museums are in your plans, do look at the package deal.

The hotel itself is okay but not as nice as other Comfort Inns where we have stayed. Our room was acceptable, though pillows were small, the in room safe had been drilled out (but they still charged us for it though when I said I wouldn't pay for the safe b/c it didn't work, they removed the charge), and there was a cigarette burn in the curtains. Staff were not particularly friendly except for the person who checked us out (she was friendly and helpful). Breakfast was pretty good - a lot of choices and decent quality, though the breakfast area only seats 20 so it's pretty tight. If back in the area again, I would probably still look for a package deal for Greenfield Village but would go to another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    14
    13
    24
See reviews for
43
26
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stay here any time we are in the area. From booking to checkout, staff are friendly and helpful, and the hot breakfast (even bacon and eggs!!) is great!! I have stayed here a number of times over the last year and a half and can't imagine why some have posted such negative reviews, but they must have caught folks on a bad day. Our stays have always been great, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. If you are coming, do book the day before since others evidently feel the same way we do because there are not a lot of empty rooms, even on a Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindas6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed overnight, but had a smoky room, but front desk said they were sorry, but no change in price. I was actually coughing due to the aroma from the smoke. Even outside the hotel there were people smoking ever time we went out. The room is large, with a huge TV, but the bathroom shower is a tub with a shower and from the 1970's. No remodel in bathroom, but sink and counter are huge. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING with a huge variety of hot and cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taylor hotels

Bluffton, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have never had a bad experience at a Comfort Inn before this one. This one was horrible. Walked into the room and in the bathroom sink was "black stuff" all over it. My husband went to tell the front desk and one of the staff members was on him about only registering 2 children when we had 3 with us. Our kids are 9-5-2. I didnt know we needed to count the 2yr old into the registered guests as we never have at any other hotel. She had a really snotty attitude about it. Our room smelled like stale smoke and the hallways did as well. Anyway the room was just dirty. We found hair on our pillows and to top it all off my husband found some kind of broken glass "pipe" (pretty sure it was a crack pipe) beside one of the queen beds. He took it to the front desk where he waited for 10min and nobody showed up. Breakfast was gross and really didnt feel like eating anything from a place like this anyway. We will never stay here again and recommend you dont either!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We purchased a family value package for two nights with four vouchers to Greenfield Village/Henry Ford Museum.

The price was great, they offer a shuttle from hotel, but we choose to drive.

The breakfast served from 630-1000 am was pretty good.eggs, sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits, cereal x 3. Make your own waffles, coffee milk and juice. Need bacon ....

From desk employees were courteous. I seen some previous comments on bad attitude. I only saw one employee that seemed bitter, I think more overwhelmed... Poor girl trying to keep morning breakfast supplies full. Three employees were needed.... Everyone else was great. Pool is heated and in door.... Night place.... Night folks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schleprock59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have never wrote a review before, but this hotel deserves one. I read the previous reviews, prior to making the reservations, but most of the time take little stock in them because some reviewers seem to be hard to please. I should have taken their warning on this motel.

Upon arrival the front desk staff was rude making me wait to check in while they chatted. They were not friendly, never a "welcome to Comfort Inn" or friendly comment. The woman at the front desk proceeded to give me a list of things that were prohibited by my wife and me, while we were at the motel. Hanging in different locations in the lobby I counted 4 computer printed signs hanging on the wall telling people what was not allowed during their stay. The housekeeping staff on the other hand was excellent and very friendly. The rooms are clean and were restocked with supplies on both days. The pillows the pillows are very thin and the stuffing is bunched up, making the lumpy. Our air conditioner worked, but on both mornings the carpet was water soaked in front of it,

In the evening we were looking for a restaurant to eat. Where this motel is located there is not much to choose from and plan on traveling 4-7 miles to find a family style or chain restaurant that is not a fast food place. (Those are even several miles away)

If one of the main reason you are staying at the motel is the free "hot" breakfast, think twice. Stayed for two nights and both days the breakfast were some of the worst we have had at a motel. The scrambled eggs were cold and rubbery. Tried the biscuits and sausage gravy, sausage links and bacon they were also cold. Waffle makers had no spray oil and everyone's waffles were sticking in the maker. At 8AM on Saturday morning most of the food steamers were empty and not being refilled, and at 8:30AM all 4 carafes of coffee were empty and no employee was around to refill them. This is a poorly staffed motel and I would suggest that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for our 1 year anniversary, the staff was friendly, and the price was right. We did a package with tickets to Henry Ford, and Greenfield Village. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPetty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylor
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Allen Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Southgate
Comfort Suites Southgate
#3 of 8 in Southgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Greenfield Village
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenfield Inn
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 6778 Telegraph Rd, Taylor, MI 48180-1713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Taylor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Taylor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Taylor
Comfort Inn Taylor
Taylor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Taylor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing