We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLE!”
Review of Amigo's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Amigo's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Taylor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OLE!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great local restaurant with awesome food. Everything that I've had there was really good. But beware, Hectors chili is SPICY!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I've been going to Amigo's since I was... what, two? I grew up in the area and have been going to Amigo's for damn near 30 years. Now that I'm a man (kinda), I travel a lot for work and have spent plenty of time across the country, internationally and in Texas. I've never found anything that measures up to this place and it remains my "favorite" restaurant. Luckily, I'm down in Toledo now so the 45-minute drive is often worth it. Must-haves include the botanas (easily my favorite), and then basically any dinner menu item. I wish I lived close enough to dine there more regularly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyHo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
303 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Only gave it "very good" value rating because our burritos were buy 1 get 1 free. Has really gone downhill...”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

This was probably our last time here... Nowhere near as good as it used to be when I worked nearby many years ago. Would never order the wet burrito again. It was big but didn't have good flavor and both of us disliked the odd flavored tomato sauce on top.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kona-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandoote
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesdays!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great authentic Mexican fare with great prices and good service. They have lunch specials everyday for around $5. If you think about it, you would spend that for some crappy fast food. They also have all day specials during week days. My favorites are .99 cent taco Tuesdays and wet burrito Wednesdays. If you buy one wet burrito for $9.99, you get a second $1 with purchase of two beverages. (Amigo's doesn't serve liquor or beer.) I'm a big eater and one wet burrito is enough for two meals. Amigo's is not a fancy place, but the food, service and atmosphere are just fine. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
“GREAT”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Enchiladas are superb and the staff is really friendly! I would eat here again! Best Mexican place in town

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amigo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing