We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tecumseh Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tecumseh
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We come to the area each year to visit family and have never stayed here before. I don't have any issues with outdated as long as the staff is polite and has a sense of what customer service is about in a hotel, the rooms are clean and show that someone cared enough to change linens, towels, etc., and do ordinary maintenance on the facility.
This was not the case here. After entering our room we found...a hairband with hair attached that did not belong to us, stains on the sheets on both the beds, wallpaper peeling in a number of places in large pieces. There was no fridge, the smallest TV (13"), no microwave.
We didn't stay long enough to check anything else out about the place.
We left, asked for our money back for the room, and drove to the Baymont Inn in Jackson, where we had a clean room that looked like a "real" hotel, super comfy beds made up to look wonderfully inviting, a fridge, microwave and other amenities that made us feel at home (Baymont is in the middle of a renovation and still we felt welcome and comfortable...at a reasonable price). All this with a dog who was as tired as we were (it was 10 pm on a Saturday). It was worth the drive to Jackson!
Our best advice....unfortunately for the nice town of Tecumseh this "inn" is dirty and needs someone to come in and save it. The place is pretty plain but the problem is not the decor. The problem is that the people owning/running it don't have a clue what they are doing.
Stay away

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phillygurl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TecumsehInnandSuites, Manager at Tecumseh Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

You did not request a fridge or microwave to be in your room. These are an additional charge per our policy. We would have been happy to provide you them if they had been requested. We DO NOT have any 13" TV's in our entire hotel. We are not a high priced hotel, therefore to compare our facility with the one in Jackson (which is twice the cost) is not applicable. Our linens are ALWAYS clean when placed into a guest room. We also have a strict no refund policy, to which we made an exception and promptly refunded your money immediately after learning you were not satisfied. We take much pride in the cleanliness we maintain. We are not a new hotel, nor do we claim to be, but our rooms are clean for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Tecumseh Inn for 2 nights. We were attending an event in Clinton, MI for the second time and, for the second time we stayed at this motel. Both times it was a very pleasant stay (that's why we have chosen to stay again here this year also). The rooms and the bathroom were clean, and covering the basic needs very well: working TV, refrigerator, coffeemaker with coffee provided, running hot/cold water, soap, clean towels and bed sheets, comfortable mattress.
We even recommended the place to our Canadian friends that didn't think they would need a place for another night, and stayed at the motel in 2 rooms the night of August 10, 2013. They were pleased with their stay and thanked us the next day for the recommendation, they needed something basic, reasonable priced for one night.
The staff is very polite and helpful. They even sent my phone charger (for free!) by mail when I contacted them that evening when I realized I forgot it in the room.
They also have continental breakfast included in the room rate, but I am not sure if it is just for the weekend or all days since both times we stayed for 2 weekend nights. The items looked fresh and the lady there told me they buy everything in the morning from the grocery store across the street.
The parking is convenient, in front of the room - we stayed at the first floor.
Overall I would recommend this motel for its cleanliness and reasonable price, and we will come back again if we will attend other events in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed here for the nascar race at MIS. The rooms are dated but clean and beds are comfortable.It is a 15 minute drive to the track and easy to get to.(straight down 50.)
The staff are very nice.There is a grocery store across the street with many restaurants nearby.
We had no issues as it did the job.I would stay here again for the race weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We recently stayed at Tecumseh Inn & Suites because we were going to NASCAR race at MIS speedway and this hotel had availability. The rooms are very out dated with late 60 decor along with almost everything else in room. All furnishings could REALLY use some updating. However, the bed mattresses have been updated and were comfortable. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice and helpful. The first look at our room for price we paid was very discouraging, and I think it was over priced for the quality of the room. We paid 4 - 5 star price for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: I was not aware of there being a pool or fitness center. They do provide Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aivlysttiwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The accommodations offered by the Tecumseh Inn are just a little better than tent camping in a storm. A large older 2 story property, with actual room keys($30 charge for non-returned keys), parking in front of your room(convenient).and an ice machine that works. The check in process (with reservations) took way too long, and when we finally got to the room it was roasting hot and not very inviting, A small 13' crt tv.A fridge(complete with leftovers from the last guest), a microwave and 2 relatively comfortable queen beds. It took over an hour for the room to cool down but it did. The room had 4 walls, a roof ,and electricity The shower worked, the toilet flushed so I guess the basic accommodations level had been met..The Location is good, close to MIR and dining and grocery shopping are across the street. I have paid more than the ($69.95) and experienced worse treatment, so this place isn't going to get demolished in my review. Once upon a time(40 years ago) this place was probably very nice, as it stands now it is very basic,stuff and not somewhere I would want to stay in more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foto_johnyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We travelled as a Formula SAE team to compete at Formula SAE Michigan at the MIS. We were close enough considering there aren't that many places to stay adjacent to MIS. We were not provided breakfast unfortunately, unlike what was advertised. The rooms were unique and clean, but could use some updating. Of four rooms, only two had fridges which was interesting. Proximity to food, a grocery store (across the street!) and downtown Tecumseh was good. Service seemed a bit lacking, we travelled in four separate cars and checking in as we arrived was apparently confusing to the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Would definitely recommend - We have stayed here for several years for the August Nascar race and have always been very satisfied. Our August 2012 was even better than the past - you can tell they really care to make your stay nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjcall2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tecumseh Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tecumseh Inn & Suites

Address: 1445 W Chicago Blvd, Tecumseh, MI 49286-8727
Region: United States > Michigan > Tecumseh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tecumseh
Price Range: £49 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tecumseh Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tecumseh Inn and Suites, located just 15 minutes from MIS Speedway, strives to offer its customers clean and comfortable rooms at a low cost. We have free wireless internet, plenty of parking space for truck drivers, and cable television. The Tecumseh Plaza is located just across the street for your convenience. We are located in a quiet, serene environment with a large parking lot to accommodate any type of vehicle. Free wifi, and cable with all rooms, and we are now serving continental breakfast in the NEWLY REMODELED MAI KAI LOUNGE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tecumseh Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tecumseh Inn And Suites
Tecumseh Hotel Tecumseh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing