We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family destination”
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good family destination”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was here for a corporate conference but brought the fam along. The entire experience was very nice. Friendly staff, great facility with all sorts of activities.

Family loved the pool and the chair lift to the top of the hill - but they really liked the alpine slide and the climbing wall. Take advantage of the packages to bundle activities together - otherwise it is sorta' pricey to buy all individually.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    152
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
354
150
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful 4 days golfing with a large group of people. Condos were great, golfing was great at Arcadia Bluffs, Mountain Ridge and Betsie. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is the dinner dining options are not the greatest. Othwise, great resort, will go again!

Room Tip: Condos on golf course side are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkushnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We lodged at Crystal Mountain over the weekend and could not have been happier. The grounds are well maintained and easy to navigate. We stayed in one of the bungalows’ and worked out well as we had many family members visiting; we had a group 6 adults and 6 younger children. There were 3 bedrooms with king beds and connecting restrooms. There was also a kid’s room with 2 bunk beds which was fun for the kids. The bedrooms were very clean with extremely comfortable beds and each room had its own flat screen. The living area was also nice with plenty of seating. The kitchen had everything we needed and was functional. There was a lovely patio with both indoor and outdoor seating that looked over a common area that had seating and fire pits. The common area had both gas and real wood fire pits and was very relaxing. Be sure to bring bug spray as the mosquitoes are thick this year. The Resort is primarily a ski resort but has many amenities for summer fun. The Golf Course looked challenging and was busy all weekend. The pool had all kinds of activities for children of all ages and the Lifeguards were attentive. There is a resort store that had everything to meet resort needs; it is as on most onsite stores more expensive. There are also 2 restaurants on site and a sub shop. We ate at both the restaurants, one a Scottish Pub and a fine dining and both were very good with an excellent selection. My only issue with the resort is it seems to me that some of the cliental were pretentious. It was almost like when you said hello, people seemed bothered you were speaking to them. Didn’t bother our fun though. I would look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colon, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having a nights getaway coupon, booked a week before and hoped for good golfing weather. Stayed at the Hamlet with a lovely room. Was disappointed with not being informed that the pool & hot tub were not open. The management went out of their way to make up for it. Golfing was fantastic on both courses. Look forward to another stay when everything is up & running. Need to purchase some of their lovely soaps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clair Shores, MI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked a last minute 3 night vacation last weekend. We waited until the kids were on spring break, and waited to see if there was still good ski conditions. We called Saturday morning and arrived Saturday night. We stayed in the Colony. We got a great deal, that included our lift tickets for 3 nights, 3 days of skiing. It was the least favorite of the places we have stayed at Crystal Mountain, a very simple room, two double (maybe queen?) beds, small kitchenette. It was a great location though, right in the middle of everything. We prefer to stay at the Inn, as it is more of a suite, with a separate bedroom. Our only room complaint was how loud the heat was when it kicked on about every 20 minutes. The second night, we just left it off, luckily was not very cold out. Skiing was amazing. We put our children (ages 7 and 10) in their first ski lesson, and within minutes, they were on the lift and skiing down the hill. Kudos to Jerry, their instructor. As always, we encountered the most friendly and accommodating staff from check in, the restaurants, ski school, rental, chairlifts, etc. A few of the wait staff at the Wild Tomato remembered my kids, and were very excited to see them. Everyone has a smile and is making sure you are having a good time. As always, you didn't disappoint. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This place is a skiers dream. The compound is large and we'll maintained. It has all different types of rooms. The little townhouse condo spaces are cute. The room prices are high but you get what you pay for. The surrounding town of Thompsonville has no nightlife or restaurants which is a shame. You would want to stay at the resort and not leave due to this. We always eat on site at the wild tomato which has a great breakfast buffet with omelets waffles and homeade scones to die for. I really enjoy this place in the winter but have visited in the summer and the outdoor pool are is really nice. Great place to stay and relax.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goattie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My fiance and I visited Crystal Mountain to participate in the wedding planning weekend, where various vendros were present and Crystal held its banquet dining tatsting evening. Both were well planned and coordinated, and we particularly enjoyed tasting all of the various food items that Crystal's banquest services had to offer. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire weeknd of activities.

Room Tip: We have found each of our rooms in The Colony building to be very nice, one was a two queen bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
9.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
156 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
151 reviews
23.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
22.6 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Property: Crystal Mountain
Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 56 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging
Crystal Mountain Michigan/Thompsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing