We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great spot for a long weekend getaway with the kids. Combination of pool, climbing course, and alpine slide on the grounds and proximity to other activities within 45 minutes (Sleeping Bear Dunes, Cherry Hut) made for a very fun family trip.

Room Tip: We were in one of the homes on the golf course. It would have been better to be more centrally locat...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DoubleA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our first trip to Michigan. A beautiful , awesome state. The Crystal resort was so relaxing and peaceful. There are several things to do from golfing, biking, massages(Great Spa -$$$$) sightseeing, hiking trails, and more. Very family friendly or just a get away resort. You will stay in a house or condo, with house keeping (a plus ). Also a winter skiing resort, may have to try that next time . Put this one on your bucket list.

Room Tip: They offer lower levels and on top of the mountain homes.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this resort based on the reviews and the golf courses. I did not think it was worth the price. We stayed at the Inn on the Mountain, room overlooked the parking lot. The weather was cool at night so we wanted to keep the windows open. The delivery trucks arrive early in the morning beeping, there is constant traffic going in and out, people chatting etc. Would recommend the Pinestone or Hamlet complex instead if you want quiet.
There are only 2 real restaurants and not a lot of healthy options. The staff were friendly but the service was very slow. The only other options are take out pizza and subs, if you have a kitchen best to bring your own food.
Everything closes down very early as well. We finished golfing around 8pm, the outdoor pool and hot tub close at 8pm and in the indoor pool at 9pm. The spa closes as 7pm so if you want a hot tub after golf you are out of luck.
The outdoor pool is full of kids so there is no real opportunity to swim. They should really add an adult only pool and hot tub, they have the space to do it. They also need a coffee shop, I cannot believe they do not have this at a resort this size. I heard both of these are in the "5 year plan".
Overall the staff was nice, rooms are clean, great for kids but not really for an adult golf getaway.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Inn on the Mountain facing the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Rented two 4 bedroom condos for a business retreat/golf outing. Absolutely first class in every way. Would love to come with my family but doubt I could ever afford it....people with money come here, not real people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Resort has great skiing in the winter, especially for families. This was our first summer visit. The "guys" in the family spent a day on nearby ATV rentals while the "ladies" visited the Crystal Spa. Resort offers golf (courses, putting green, driving range), disc golf, bonfires, alpine slide, outdoor pool/fun park, chair lift rides, mountain bike rental and more. Sleeping Bear Dunes are within an hour. Resort restaurants are a bit pricey. Check out Rosie's Cafe a mile away for an awesome breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: Always ask at check-in if low cost upgrades are available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeMgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent a long weekend here with my family, my boys (6 and 10) had an absolute blast as did I. The resort was in perfect condition and staffed by friendly and professional staff. There was lots to do on the resort itself plus the usual Michigan Up-North activities are close by - these offsite activities can be booked at the activities desk which makes it easy. The resort is a bit pricy - everything costs extra except the pool. There is no single ticket to do everything but you can bundle things together to keep costs reasonable. I paid around $40 each per person per day for activities which kept us busy morning until night. On some nights there is a free ride up to the top of the mountain where there is a small bar and live music plus games and face-painting for the kids. The on-property Art Park is also worth checking out – even the kids enjoyed it. We also took a trip down the Platte River on tubes which was fantastic fun. We ate at the buffet-style restaurant and also the Pub - both are good and not too badly priced given the fact that they are on the resort. We were very fortunate that we had perfect weather - I am not sure what we would have done if the weather had been bad as all of the activities we did were outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AndyDMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were traveling with our older teenage boys and were concerned that Crystal Mountain Resort would be geared for younger families. You certainly will get more bang for your buck with kids under 15, but given the golf courses, accommodations and being within driving distance of a lot of activities we decided to give it a shot. It is a lovely place. Both the grounds and our unit was immaculate. Everywhere you look there are people working on the extensive landscaping, painting or cleaning. We stayed in the Mountain Top units. They were beautiful. We had a two bedroom townhouse. Given the queen beds in the second bedroom and the two pull out couches, 10 people could sleep comfortably. Ours was an end unit, #711. We really liked having the end unit for extra windows and quiet. The unit was three floors. It was huge. It included a very well stocked kitchen, fireplace and balcony. The master bedroom was on the top floor, the middle floor was for family gathering and the bottom floor held the second bedroom. The master does get warmer. A ceiling fan would be a wonderful addition. There were three full bathrooms and a W/D. Because our kids are older, the separation was fine. However, if I had younger kids, I am not sure I would have wanted them that far away from me especially since there was an exit from the bottom floor. Another issue depending on your kids age with these units is that they are very far away from all of the main activities, i.e. the large pool with the kiddie stuff and all activities. You have to drive a couple of miles to everything. They will pick you up in a shuttle as well. They do have a pool up at the Mountain Top, which was great. It just doesn't have the kid bells and whistles of the main pool. Also wish there was a hot tub up with the pool. There are a couple of gas grills that they kept clean and a fire pit that got a lot of use. We played golf on both courses and enjoyed that. We rode up the chairlift and went down the slide. We also used the gym daily and the spa a couple of times. The gym is nicely equipped and not as crowded as we expected because it is not proportionately as big as the resort. The spa services were good. The ladies who did the services were lovely. We have been to many spas and this one was good, but not overly pampering. Overall, a little pricey. The resort is in the middle of nowhere so restaurants, supermarkets and drug stores are quite a distance away. There are a few restaurants on property that are O.K. Beyond that it is tough to get a good meal without driving 25 or so minutes. We did use CM as a home base to go to Traverse City, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Frankfort, Empire, hiking on Crystal Lake, Kayaking on the Platte River and a beach on Lake Michigan. A word on Lake Michigan - being from the Chicago area, we would never consider going into the lake; however, the lake in this area is pristine. It was clear and beautiful. We used the Trading Post in Honor for Kayaking. They were excellent. Overall, a great trip.

Room Tip: There are lots of lodging options. Do your research depending on the age of your kids and the size...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompsonville
9.4 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
23.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
160 reviews
14.7 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
162 reviews
22.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Dr, Thompsonville, MI 49683-9742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range: £86 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer - 36 holes of championship golf, 58 downhill slopes, 25km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. During your upcoming visit we hope you'll share in our excitement as an historic $11 million expansion brings new amenities, accommodations and activity to the very heart of our mountain community. Please know we are managing construction hours and crews so as to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Should you have questions please contact the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging
Crystal Mountain Michigan/Thompsonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing