We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend in Traverse City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Traverse City”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at the Comfort Inn! Friendly and helpful service, nice comfortable bed, big TV, hot tub (in the room and by the pool), freebies at the front desk (cookies, cough drops, etc.), good exercise equipment, bottle of wine (from print-out coupon) all made for a wonderful stay. Of course, I'm sure the weekend was helped by the record warm weather that TC got that weekend. Actually had the window open the first night for the fresh air, but found that it was too warm, so stuck with AC after that. The only negatives (and this is really nit-picking) were that the AC was loud when it went on, and there was no TV guide available to tell what channel each number on the TV was. We will probably stay here again next time we are in Traverse City!

Room Tip: As others have said, second floor at the back, away from the road, are the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    115
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
141
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Liked: Great location, close to everything. The pool is five feet deep (some hotels' pool only go to three or four feet deep). Decent breakfast with eggs, sausage, peeled grapefruit slices (loved that!), waffles, OJ, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, biscuits and gravy. We were not bothered by any noise.

Disliked: too much chlorine/chemical in the pool! My skin was very irritated and itchy, even after showering. It snowed several inches overnight...the parking lot was only partially plowed and NOT salted. There was a layer of ice where water was dripping from the roof/gutter outside the main entrance. I tossed and turned a lot...can't exactly pinpoint what was so uncomfortable about the bed.

Would we stay there again? Yes, but only if we couldn't get a room somewhere else or it was less expensive to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stormynights24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here for hockey. It is clean, beds felt comfortable and great flat screen tv. The only down side was that the rooms were very warm. There was a group of us staying there and many opened windows to cool it down.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikado, Mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful! The beds and pillows are very comfortable...and even though we were at ground level right near the parking lot, we couldn't hear all the noise or see the light from the headlights. The place was clean and the staff were friendly. They had a really good continental breakfast buffet. I would have given it a 5 rating, but the only problem we had was with the very small parking spaces. They are so small and close together that you barely have enough room to get out of your car without hitting the one next to you. If you want to avoid getting your car door hit, park in the back on an end and slightly up on the curb. If you go out to eat and have kids...go to Bubbas,I think it's on Mondays kids eat for free...but beware, there are long lines out the door. We waited 30 minutes to be seated, but it was so worth it! You must visit the Stone Cold Creamery....yummy ice-cream! I had chocolate, banana, and strawberry mixed together on a waffle cone. You must go to the Underground Cheesecake Company..more yummy goodness. Check out the Cherry Republic store for all your cherry treats...tasty salsas and free samples including wines and sodas. If you love shopping and restaurants, go to The Village At Grand Traverse Commons.

Room Tip: I know this sounds bad, but...even if you aren't handicapped, the handicap room is the cheapest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our family stays at this hotel many times a year by choice. We now have friends and family that stay there also.

Our kids love the 24 hr. pool, staff is excellent at all times.

Very decent free breakfast, good enough to keep picky kids happy !!

Located on the main strip, great location.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stay at Choice hotel properties all over the country and this one is a winner! Checked in late evening. Desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was the one 2Q plus sleeper sofa in the hotel. The room was HUGE! It had a flat screen TV, mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Beds are good sized with plenty of pillows. Pool area is nice with hot tub attached to pool. You can check on the kids playing in the pool from a window across the elevators on the second floor. There is a wide selection at the complimentary breakfast, including waffles, eggs and biscuits/gravy.

Added bonus thanks to Trip Advisor - we printed a coupon online for a free bottle of wine at check-in and received a nice bottle of Reisling from the Grand Traverse Winery. Thanks, Trip Advisor!! :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are close to the road as there is a lot of traffic. We did not hear it from our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Just spent a 3 day weekend in Traverse City, stayed at the Comfort Inn. Room size was comfortable, with 2 beds, plus really nice sink with roomy counter in the bedroom which was great for applying makeup, doing hair and spreading out, plus location of it left bathroom free for others to use. The room also has a small refrigerator which we definitely used. We did not use the pool area but saw others using it. We were most impressed with the staff, especially at the front desk. Everyone was cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjesijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
1.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Property: Comfort Inn Traverse City
Address: 460 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing