We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Money”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here because our first choices were all booked up for a last minute long weekend getaway. The price was the deciding factor. The hotel is not on the water, nor does it have a view of the water. However, it is located close to downtown and is very reasonable priced. It is the only hotel I have stayed at that had a 24 hr pool, though we used the hot tub in our room more. The King Spa Room we booked was clean and worth the price we paid (<$80). It was somehwat small and the bathroom setup w/ the sink in the room is not my favorite, but for the money it was just fine and honestly, how much time do you actually spend in the room anyway? I would definitely stay here again, and would not hesitate to recommend it. The front desk manager was courteous and professional and there is a free hot breakfast. Good stay for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimchiply87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    119
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
120
149
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is the sister hotel to the Cambria Suites just down the street. This was built in 2008 and is still in tip top shape despite heavy use.
The rooms are very nice. The furniture is so much nicer than a Holiday Inn Express we stayed in in Kentucky. The room was immaculate with the much preferred sink outside the bathroom.
The bed is a very comfortable pillow top.
The pool hot tub area appeared very nice with lift devices for both for handicapped guests. I was very impressed.
This is the best complimentary breakfast we've ever had in a hotel , puts others to shame. There were very good strawberries to add to a variety of you make waffles. There are more than the usual fruit choices , also.
The price is extremely reasonable for the TC area even off Season. The staff is very welcoming and helpful.The hotel is MUCH nicer inside than its curb appearance. Don't be discouraged by the outside. Ask for a second floor room in the back. Our room looked out over an office type building which was very quiet at night.
The only down side is it's not on either of the Bays, but the price would have doubled for that.
That is the ONLY reason I didn't give this a TOP rating, but it is a very, very good place to stay.
It is a good base to use while traveling around the area. We have a cottage in the area the we haven't opened yet, but I could see using this as a base for touring all the great things this area has to experience. The State Park beaches and Traverse City beaches are not far away.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stategt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed for our 2nd time at the T/C Comfort Inn. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi were available but we did not have time to use it on this trip. The breakfast was quite good and had a range of options; really more than one could eat in one sitting. Staff at checkin was very friendly and knowledgeable of restaurants in the area. Area is quiet and there are easy ins and outs of the property. We had moved to this hotel after being dissatisfied with a much more pricey hotel suggested by family members. We will return the next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at the Comfort Inn! Friendly and helpful service, nice comfortable bed, big TV, hot tub (in the room and by the pool), freebies at the front desk (cookies, cough drops, etc.), good exercise equipment, bottle of wine (from print-out coupon) all made for a wonderful stay. Of course, I'm sure the weekend was helped by the record warm weather that TC got that weekend. Actually had the window open the first night for the fresh air, but found that it was too warm, so stuck with AC after that. The only negatives (and this is really nit-picking) were that the AC was loud when it went on, and there was no TV guide available to tell what channel each number on the TV was. We will probably stay here again next time we are in Traverse City!

Room Tip: As others have said, second floor at the back, away from the road, are the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Liked: Great location, close to everything. The pool is five feet deep (some hotels' pool only go to three or four feet deep). Decent breakfast with eggs, sausage, peeled grapefruit slices (loved that!), waffles, OJ, coffee, cereal, yoghurt, biscuits and gravy. We were not bothered by any noise.

Disliked: too much chlorine/chemical in the pool! My skin was very irritated and itchy, even after showering. It snowed several inches overnight...the parking lot was only partially plowed and NOT salted. There was a layer of ice where water was dripping from the roof/gutter outside the main entrance. I tossed and turned a lot...can't exactly pinpoint what was so uncomfortable about the bed.

Would we stay there again? Yes, but only if we couldn't get a room somewhere else or it was less expensive to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stormynights24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here for hockey. It is clean, beds felt comfortable and great flat screen tv. The only down side was that the rooms were very warm. There was a group of us staying there and many opened windows to cool it down.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikado, Mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful! The beds and pillows are very comfortable...and even though we were at ground level right near the parking lot, we couldn't hear all the noise or see the light from the headlights. The place was clean and the staff were friendly. They had a really good continental breakfast buffet. I would have given it a 5 rating, but the only problem we had was with the very small parking spaces. They are so small and close together that you barely have enough room to get out of your car without hitting the one next to you. If you want to avoid getting your car door hit, park in the back on an end and slightly up on the curb. If you go out to eat and have kids...go to Bubbas,I think it's on Mondays kids eat for free...but beware, there are long lines out the door. We waited 30 minutes to be seated, but it was so worth it! You must visit the Stone Cold Creamery....yummy ice-cream! I had chocolate, banana, and strawberry mixed together on a waffle cone. You must go to the Underground Cheesecake Company..more yummy goodness. Check out the Cherry Republic store for all your cherry treats...tasty salsas and free samples including wines and sodas. If you love shopping and restaurants, go to The Village At Grand Traverse Commons.

Room Tip: I know this sounds bad, but...even if you aren't handicapped, the handicap room is the cheapest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#11 of 40 in Traverse City
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Property: Comfort Inn Traverse City
Address: 460 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing