We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superior Comfort Inn”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed twice now at this particular Comfort Inn and can highly recommend it. Summer is high tourist season in the upper part of the Mitten, so don't expect the same kind of room rates for this level of motel further south in the state. In particular there are major events like the Cherry Festival and the Traverse City Film Festival in late July and August that no doubt tend to drive up the rates. Still, this place stands out for its very friendly and helpful staff, clean tastefully appointed rooms, and its convenient location right on the major coastal road for the area. It is much closer to downtown TC than the other Choice hotel on Route 31 too, and is a nicer hotel than that one too. This Comfort Inn has a shuttle bus during the high season too so one can sample the many brew pubs of TC without worrying about driving home afterwards. All in all, this place is good value for money if you are vacationing in the Traverse City area!

Green Features: Good in this regard, although no recycling was evident (no in room recycling receptacles).
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    115
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
141
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had to stay overnight in Traverse City en route to Interlochen. Booked a room here last-minute, and it was one of the least expensive options available in TC. Not sure if hotels are always expensive in the summer or if Cherry Festival had anything to do with the price. At any rate, our room was clean, beds were quite comfortable, but the room was expensive (high $200s) for the class of hotel. The air conditioner was noisy, but that seems on par with this hotel class (individual wall units that cycle off and on). Seems this hotel class should cost in the low $100s/night, but apparently the location and time of year commands higher prices. The lack of value dropped my rating down to 3, but this hotel seems to be one of the better "deals" in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Well worth the price - nice room, very friendly staff, great decor, comfortable bed, HDTV and great breakfast! Toping it off was a free shuttle to the Cherry Festival and excellent knowledge of restaurants and area activities. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JAAdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for one night during the Cherry Festival. Staff at check-in was very friendly and helpful. Loved the pool but wish it was more private--felt like we were on display because hotel guests have to walk by its windows to go to the front desk, breakfast, out the door to the parking lot, etc. Rooms are fairly basic but had everything we needed. Comfortable beds. Our 2nd floor room was very quiet. Breakfast had the standard choices, with my son's favorite: make-your-own waffles. GREAT location--very close to downtown but not in the middle of the traffic madness. Convenient to downtown TC, Old Mission Peninsula, and many great restaurants. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I and another couple booked a stay while visiting Traverse City recently. This is our fourth stay at this hotel which has become my personal favorite in Traverse City. Rates are reasonable, the hotel is very clean and is conveniently located to the downtown area and local attractions. Rooms have been updated, and I was impressed with the overall "quality" feel of the room. I am a "Choice Privileges Elite Gold" member, and regularly stay at Choice Hotels. This is, perhaps, one of the best Comfort Inns that I have stayed at. What really sets this hotel apart from all of the others, is the level of service provided by the hotel staff. They have a great staff! From the moment you arrive at the front desk, your are made to feel very special. The front desk staff is courteous and professional, and will go out of their way to make your visit as pleasurable as possible. Shortly after you arrive at your room, you will receive a call from the desk to ensure that you are happy with your room, or if any further assistance is required. Everyone is friendly, and you can expect to be greeted by the entire staff including service employees and housekeeping staffs. I'm hard-pressed to come up with anything negative to say about this hotel. If you are looking for a good hotel with reasonable rates and an excellent staff, than you may wish to consider booking here. It will be a wise "Choice!"

Room Tip: Rooms near Munson Avenue may have a little road noise. Not too bad, but if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penguinhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite place to stay on business. Clean, reasonable, convenient. I have been staying here for years now and will continue to do so. Very well updated is the biggest reason for me to stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank michskier8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

From start to finish, we were extremely impressed with this hotel! When we arrived, we were able to get our roomright away, despite being several hours before the official check in time. The room itself was nicely updated and spacious and the fridge and microwave were a great touch. The rooms were extremely clean as well.

One thing that really set this hotel apart from others was the friendliness of the staff. Always approachable and smiling, every single person we passed in the hallway said "hi! Good morning!"

I don't usually leave reviews for hotels but this entire visit really stood out to me. I'm leaving this review today before we have even checked out! We will definitely stay here again.

Tip: use the rear exit, onto 8th St to head downtown. It's only a 5 minute drive and you avoid the Munson/ front street traffic!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kellabee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
1.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Property: Comfort Inn Traverse City
Address: 460 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing