We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to be a Pirate or Just relax sailing on the Bay”

Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us aboard the 114' SCHOONER MANITOU as we ply the sparkling waters of Grand Traverse Bay. Sailing out of Traverse City, MI, Manitou offers three two hour sails per day as well as an adventurous "Floating Bed and Breakfast" package.
Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Want to be a Pirate or Just relax sailing on the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

It's always a FUN FUN time sailing on Grand Traverse Bay. Each adventure is a new one from the Smiling Captain Brendan to first Mate Corey who picks up a fiddle and starts playing amazing music. Kids and adults can pretend they are pirates, hoist the sales or ask the Captain what are those fuzzy things up in the rigging. We had a beautiful day with bright blue skies and a nice wind and darted through the waves and back and forth across the bay. Great view of the skyline of the city, and picking out the houses along the shore or dotted among the hills. Beverages are available for purchase. If there are kids who love ice-cream (or adults for that matter), sign up to sail on one of the Moomers' Ice-cream sails. YUMMmmmm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MIRockHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    44
    13
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A calm, peaceful, serene end to our trip to T.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We will always remember the Manitou ship we enjoyed towards the tail end of our 1-year wedding anniversary trip to TC. Friendly folks. Staff that play the violin with heavenly finesse. Some ice cream (or lunch depending on what you sign up for), and a fair price. This is a nice activity, especially towards the end of your trip. Very relaxing and also really cool to check the ship out. My wife and I chatted with a few folks, bought a couple beers and wines, and just enjoyed the scenery cruising in the Traverse City bay. Just a heads up that you park across the street from where you board, and get on a bus they provide, which is essentially there to help you cross the street. For young couples this may seem a hassle, but for families with small children, this ends up being a nice feature. There is nothing exhilarating about this ride, but it does make for a quiet, peaceful, scenic ride on the bay in what is probably one of the most classic and tallest sailboats to still cruise around here. Two thumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank detroitmalujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Last time I was in Traverse City two years ago, with my son, we took an afternoon sail aboard the Manitou. It was a beautiful afternoon with a strong wind, less than capacity crowd, and an adventurous captain as we sailed fast and far out into the bay. It was an excellent adventure to say the least.
This time while visiting the area with my daughter I was hoping to relive the experience, but the only time we had available was Wednesday evening when they have the "entertainment" package. The experience was a disappointment to say the least. Though the wind was again strong (cold front moving in an the other smaller sail boats had hard time not capsizing), we never went farther north than the dock nor fast enough to excited about; in fact they never raised the middle sail. I suspect this was due to the fact that their "entertainment" (an older trio of folk singers) used the middle of the boat for their act. It was nice for my daughter to experience the ship, but she was bewildered as to why I would spend the money and time for such a mediocre experience. I guess I am too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire, MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant cruise: great for elderly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went on the wine sunset cruise with my 87-year-old mother-in-law. The weather was perfect, and we sailed about two hours around Grand Traverse Bay. Tickets were $60 each. We were never near the shore, and so the scenery was water and water (with a few boats). Though you could go inside, most or all of us sat on bench-like structures on the deck. The food was nice, and suitable to buffet presentation. We had hummus, babaganoush, baked brie in pastry, dolma, a ground lamb and rice dish, finished with brownies & lemon bars. Everything was served at the right temperature and tasty. We had 6 or 7 types of Leelanau Cellars wines to taste. I preferred the three dry wines, but I overheard others who preferred the sweet. There was some visual drama as the sails were raised and lowered, but everything was very well-run. The crew was likable and very helpful with my mother-in-law's walking & vision challenges. Passengers were allowed to take the wheel. Spirits seemed good. A few passengers stayed the night on the B&B plan.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David_B_of_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Bed & Breakfast experience on the Manitou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We sailed on 8/13/13. The crew was very friendly and knowledgable sailors. Great fun to chat with. The wine tasting and dinner was a lot of fun and very tastey. It was quite windy the day we sailed, but that added greatly to the experience.

Be sure to dress warmly and consider at least a rain jacket (it is possible you may get wet).

Staying overnight was very enjoyable, with a wonderful breakfast (cooked on the wood burning stove) served in the galley. More plesant conversation with guests and crew. Just be aware, though, if you have any notion that you might get motion sickness, don't plan on sleeping on the boat. Or at least take proper precautions to try and combat this. The constant gentle rocking can be worse than actually sailing on a somewhat rough bay.

Highly recommend!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lonejustice63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing