We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely redone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Completely redone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stopped staying here about a year ago, even though they had great rates, because it was a dump.

The hotel has been complete refurbished - I believe that they closed for a few months to do this. Right now, this is the best bargain in town. Completely redone rooms. From the excellent water pressure in the showers to the remote control heating/air conditioning system. Everything is new. I say, get in here while the rates are still low! Front desk is nice and very proud of their new hotel.

Criticisms - Needs a work space table in the rooms. Internet wifi worthless. Free breakfast was nice but miss the waffle making machine. And, from the outside, you would have no idea what they have done to the inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northofchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    283
    172
    72
    29
See reviews for
218
316
47
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed a night at this hotel after a tent broke while camping with friends. After being shaken awake at 9:00 am from the laundry facilities, we made a call to the front desk and the clerk seemed very apathetic while explaining that he had no idea why the staff started the laundry so early. Before going to breakfast across the street we met the rest of our camping group and let them use the bathroom in our room. 2 days later, I noticed an extra $30 added to my credit card by the hotel. On calling the hotel I was then lead on a he-said she-said goose-chase. The clerk informed me that the hotel staff had seen 5 people leaving our room in the morning while our reservation was only for 2 people. The extra 3 people were our friends we were meeting for breakfast. I explained this to the hotel clerk (Stan), but he said I would have to settle this with a manager. The catch is that there is not actually a manager that ever works at this establishment. The manager was supposed to call me back when he arrived, but as I called back throughout the day, he never showed. A new clerk answered the phone when I called in the evening and she told me to try back for a manager earlier in the day and then Stan the manager should be on. Wait. Stan was the one who told me to call later in the day when the manager was there. I have since been unable to ever contact a manager working at this property.

This place will scam you.

Stay away.

-An irate camper with a broken tent and a overcharged credit-card

Room Tip: Don't choose any of these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with Howard Johnson Traverse City. I am sorry it was not satisfactory.

We have a very strictly enforced policy regarding extra guests staying rooms. This policy is in effect because our rates are always based on double occupancy. When there are more than two guests in the room, we incur additional expenses for the renting of that room, which will factor into the general rates of our rooms.

In this case, hotel staff members saw three additional guests entering the room with luggage on the night of check-in, and then exiting and re-entering your room the next morning. The team members are then instructed to let our desk agents know that additional charges are to be added to that room. We simply do not allow non-registered guests to be present in any of the rooms at anytime of the day without prior management authorization.

While I regret you were not able to speak with me the day you first called, we have received no phone calls from you since that initial call. I did try to reach you the next day after you called, but to no avail. Regardless, the hotel policy is strictly enforced when it pertains to additional guests in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a newly refurbished room with new furniture and beds. It was ready when we arrived and spotlessly clean. We had everything we needed for our one night stay. The location can't be beat; it's near the state park and the road out to Old Mission Peninsula. I would highly recommend Ho-Jo's if you need a place to stay for just a few nights. The breakfast provided wasn't anything amazing, but there were bagels with cream cheese and jams and yogurt, which is enough. Thanks again Ho-Jo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmtemp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was reluctant to try a Howard Johnson Motel after noting mostly low grade motels in their chain in our area.

This one changed my mind! Would consider this chain all the time if other motels were like this.

The room was very nice, new, clean, and quiet. Only negatives were the modest furnishings-it could use a desk and chair, free breakfast was so-so, and the smell of brand new carpetting. We chose this motel because of the reviews of other TA visitors and higher priced motels in the area. The room was very nice, price was excellent, and staff was very friendly and helpful in suggesting a driving itinerary, restaurants, and attractions in the area.

Only other drawback would be the lack of a lake view if you were staying for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwellstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found our hotel to be a good value in the Traverse City area.

We have passed on your compliments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and the treatment you received from our staff to all of our team members, as they always appreciate hearing from our guests.

Your feedback regarding the lack of chairs and desks has also been received by our management team. In fact, the desks are on order from a local carpenter who hand makes all of them for our rooms. We hope to have them in the rooms very soon.

Again, we sincerely appreciate all of your feedback and positive comments about your recent stay. The Howard Johnson Traverse City team hopes to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Howard Johnson Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Rooms recently updated with new beds and decor. Only issue would be that there wasn't a chair/loveseat. Bathroom had a stand up shower, no tub, but that wasn't an issue, very clean. Small refrigerator, and flat panel LCD TV. Overall, very nice, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms exit directly to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Sambra41,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Howard Johnson Traverse City. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our newly remodeled hotel in beautiful Traverse City.

We are certainly glad you found your time at our hotel pleasurable, and the room up to your expectations. We are currently working towards suppling all rooms with a chair and custom made desk that will provide our guests with an area to sit while taking sometime to relax.

Thank you again for your review and know that our team would love to have you back in the near future so that you might enjoy our newly upgraded, complimentary wireless internet, great for planning your next adventure in the beautiful Traverse City area.

Warm Regards,

Howard Johnson Traverse City Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the HoJo Traverse City. Honestly, I was a bit turned off by it being a motel, but the rooms were large, clean, and updated. The layout of the room was a bit...odd. There was a large alcove in the back near the bathroom that had a long counter top and half-wall mirror- but no lighting at all! The hair dryer was in this little alcove, so in the morning, I had to get ready in the dark.

The only other little annoyances were that I had requested an iron for my room, but it never arrived. Also the continental breakfast wasn't great- I expected at least apples or bananas, but no fruit at all.

Overall, the stay was pleasant, especially considering that the room from $85 a night, far less than the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluntreviewer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Bluntreviewer007,

Thank you for staying with us at the Howard Johnson Traverse City, and for taking the time to complete a review of the property. Guest feedback is always appreciated by our team, as it provides the opportunity to enhance our guest's experiences.

We do want to apologize for not getting you the iron you requested delivered to your room. We will also take another look at our offerings on the breakfast bar to see what additions we may be able to provide.

When we began our recent renovations of the rooms, we did remove several jacuzzi tubs from our upstairs units. This caused there to be some space located to the back of the room. The counter top was then installed in that area to provide some additional space for our guests to store personal items and to get ready for their Traverse City outings. While there is a light located in that area, we will look at adding additional lighting as a part of our continued renovation process.

Once again, we do appreciate your selecting Howard Johnson Traverse City for your recent stay in Traverse City, and we do hope that you will come back again soon to see some more of our ongoing property improvements.

Warm Regards,

Management Team
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clawson, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our 2 night stay was average in every sense of the word, it wasn't horrible but we most likely wouldn't book there again. We requested early check in when we made the reservations, and understood that it wasn't a guarantee. We called on our way into town around 10:00 am and asked if early check in would be possible and they said to call back around 2, when we called back at 2 they said that housekeeping hadn't released any rooms yet so no, we couldn't check in early. It was frustrating, wouldn't good business have been to try and get our room cleaned when we called at 10? And to make matters worse, our room, along with another couple trying to check in at 3, wasn't ready and we had to wait. The actual room was nice, you can tell they had recently updated it however we upgraded to the whirlpool suite with the expectations that it would be a 2 person hot tub when in fact it was just a whirlpool bath tub. The hotel is non smoking but when the air conditioner turned on, the room would smell like smoke. The wireless internet service was terrible, sitting in the room we could barely get online. The pool area was nice, but you had to walk to the end of the parking lot, right past the dumpsters to get there. Overall, I think we were just disappointed and would most likely stay somewhere else the next time we go to Traverse City, especially for how much we paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenvanoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Laurenvanoh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Howard Johnson Traverse City. Our team is always appreciative of guest feedback to assist in better serving our guests.

We understand your frustration over not being able to check in early. Our rooms are all inspected by the Housekeeping Supervisor or Manager after they are cleaned. If they do not pass inspection, they will not be released. We want all rooms to be up to our standards of quality, which is the main reason why we have a check-in time of after 3 pm and don't guarantee early check-in requests. It is our goal to assure that your room exceeds your expectation for comfort and cleanliness.

The wireless internet system for the property has been worked on several times by the internet provider and the equipment supplier over the past few months. Through the help of some technical consultants, we recently finished a complete upgrade that now provides our guests with the fastest speed available in the Traverse City area.

Please know that we do hope you will consider a return trip to our hotel in very near future to see some of the improvements we are continuing to make. Again, we appreciate your staying with us and the valuable feedback you have provided.

Warm Regards,

Management Team
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Property: Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing