We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Middlebury, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We travel frequently to Interlochen Arts Academy and need an inexpensive but clean hotel. This hotel is all the way downtown in Traverse City and adds a longer commute to IAA; however, it is the most affordable hotel we have found that also is very clean. Having been recently renovated, the rooms have nice granite countertops and a huge shower. Beds are clean and very comfortable. Carpets are also clean. Service is friendly and helpful. Desk staff know us by name now, and warmly welcome us each time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TammyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    308
    187
    79
    32
See reviews for
242
334
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in TC please take my advice and book a room at the Howard Johnson. I travel about 120 days out of the year and I have slept in numerous hotels, motel s and airports. I confidently recommend this hotel to you because of the extremely clean and updated rooms, extraordinary customer service and very low price. For about $40 to $60 US dollars you can either choose a DBL Queen, King or Jacuzzi Room. This is the best deal in TC I promise you. The proprietor is constantly on site looking to improve the quality of the experience, trust me this place is a GEM both for the eye and your wallet.

JDEBECK

Room Tip: Super Fast WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

When I arrived at check in I was surprised by the wonderful lobby, very spacious including a fireplace & furniture. Staff was very friendly & helpful if I asked for anything. My room was very clean, spacious & new. The price was great & location to the downtown area was only a couple of miles away-nice. I definitely recomment this motel & will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lsleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I haven't stayed at a Howard Johnson for many years because I had the impression that their motels were old and rundown. Well, not this one! My husband spent several weeks in the hospital recently, and I was driving 60 miles round trip every day to be with him. One night the weather was so bad that I decided to stay overnight in Traverse City. I went online to look for a hotel and decided to try Howard Johnson because of the great price, which included breakfast. I enjoyed it so much that I stayed 3 more times. Whenever the roads were "iffy", I gave them a call and reserved a room. Every staff member I met was just wonderful--so friendly and helpful. The rooms are a nice size, well-lit, and very clean, with plenty of towels and free WiFi. The breakfast has a good variety of food (cereal, bagels, etc.), hot drinks, and juice. I feel like I found a terrific bargain!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our stay at HJ in Traverse City was wonderful. Our room was reasonably priced, spacious, clean and included Coffee and breakfast. If we are ever in Traverse City and need a room we'll check with Howard first.

Room Tip: week days are more affordable than weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baruke36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very good bang for your buck. Clean rooms, nice bed and shower. Nice staff. Would stay again. Breakfast only consisted of bagels, cereal, and doughnuts

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajcox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were told that they were overcharging their customers because of demand that evening and wanted $224 for one a one night stay.

The clerk told us that a price reduction would be approved by management and asked us to wait, as he would be back in a few minutes. We waited and waited and waited… Management never arrived and there was no attempt by the desk clerk to establish contact. When I stated my concerns, the clerk’s demeanor changed as she crudely asked us to leave. I contacted customer service and during my telephone conversation with the representative, the clerk persistently yelled at me from across the lobby. Among other things, she yelled that the room was no longer available, and at one point, threatened to notify the police. Is it policy to notify police when a customer is placing a telephone call with customer care? We were treated like criminals and don’t wish for this to happen to anybody else. This stop was supposed to be part of our anniversary getaway.

We later attempted to raise the issue with Head Office, who simply told us that this is a privately owned location and that nothing could be done for our case. The are several terrible reviews on this Howard Johnson, and we paid the price for not informing ourselves first. Don’t make the same mistake we made.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2travelers_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsontc, General Manager at Howard Johnson of Traverse City, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Management Team Response

This review was completed by an individual who did not stay with us on the night in question. The hotel, and the Traverse City area in general, was full on that night, and had been for days in advance. All the statements in this review are completely untrue.

This reviewer became highly agitated when told of the no availability of a room. As he became more agitated, he displayed rude and discourteous behavior towards our guest service agent, which caused her to become uncomfortable with the situation. The reviewer also stated that the clerk did not attempt to make contact with management. This is not true as the General Manager was on-duty that evening, and was notified by the guest service agent to respond to the lobby. The General Manager did make contact with this reviewer at that time, however, his demeanor and attitude towards the manager was not acceptable, and the General Manager asked him to leave the property to find other accommodations.

In the review, it was stated that the reviewer was told we were overcharging on that evening. The rate he listed ($224) was never given him. We did not quote a rate because we had no rooms available.

The Management Team was contacted by the corporate office, and we did issue a written response to the reviewer stating the facts of the situation. However, this reviewer continued to demand compensation, despite there being no rooms available for the night and his conduct during the interaction with our desk agents.

No member of our team takes these situations lightly. However, when the person inquiring into the availability of a room becomes discourteous and displays behavior that is threatening towards hotel personnel, they are immediately asked to leave the property for the safety of all involved. This incident feel into those parameters, and the actions of the reviewer left no choice but for us to either have him leave the property on his own or call law enforcement to help with the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Property: Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing