We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Battle Creek
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice room”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room had been recently updated and very clean. I noticed no iron or ironing board but was told they have them available. Mini fridge kept things cold. Very basic breakfast. There is yogurt in a fridge under the counter at the breakfast area but there is no sign letting you know that. Another guest told me. I didn't look at the pool area. The main drawback is no elevator. We carried bags up the exterior stairs. Those still haven't been updated. Old outdoor carpet on the upper level and it had been removed from the stairs. I booked the room by using timeshare points I had available. I'd stay there again. The staff was very pleasant. I was able to get on the internet the first evening very easily in the room, but couldn't after that. It wasn't a big deal and didn't ask about it at the desk.

Room Tip: e ground floor room if you don't want to lug your bags up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mininutrsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    294
    175
    73
    32
See reviews for
226
322
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were pleased with the room. Very clean and updated. The front desk staff was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We paid $168 for 3 adults (2 doubles) : the pillows were lumpy, the room smelled of some strongly scented cleanser, the fan unit had brown drips, the shower curtain was missing resulting in water spraying across the bathroom floor, the continental breakfast consisted of a couple of cereals, bagels, bread, and sweetened oatmeal packets - no fruit, no yogurt, no muffins. Bare minimum. Served on styrofoam and paper plates. Pretty low end considering the price we paid. My husband was asked to sign a form when we arrived stating we wouldn't damage the spa. He asked where the spa was. He was told there was no spa. This is the first time after about 10 years of using Trip Advisor that I have been disappointed enough to write a review.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Wilmington
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen and were very pleasantly surprised that it exceeded out expectations. The room was very large, comfortable and clean, clean, clean!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Marnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson of Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson of Traverse City

Property: Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Address: 417 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson of Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson of Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing