We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and Chef is very friendly”
Review of Cooks' House

Cooks' House
Ranked #50 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Palos Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and Chef is very friendly”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our best meal in Northern Michigan! Little place that delivers big taste and beautiful presentation of food.

The chef came to our table and was very friendly and interesting to talk to. This restaurant a must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    32
    23
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a table for seven in this tiny restaurant. Windows and doors were open to catch the breeze on a lovely summer night.
We started by ordering most of the appetizers on the menu. We thoroughly enjoyed each one. The food was beautifully presented and full of unique flavors -- very fresh.
Our dinners were equally enjoyable. The wine pairings with the tasting menu were perfect with the food. We were not rushed, and the pacing of the courses was perfect for our group.
It was an exquisite, memorable dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah, ga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Agree with Mario Batali!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had dinner at the Cook's House since it is one of Mario Batali's favorites. Well, we don't agree. The restaurant pride's itself on farm to table food. It is located in an old house off of front street in Traverse City. The temperature went from cold to hot with air on, air off, door open, door shut. The wait staff and owner chef is extremely attentive and very visible. The food, well, what can I say. Very bland, attractive presentation but, no big whoop!??! The drink and wine list is extensive and good. The price of the dinner was very expensive. There are many wonderful restaurants in Traverse City, I wouldn't return to Cook's House...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mcarpenter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Foods”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Trust the Cook! Excellent Dinner. Reservation a Must! Reserved settings. Loved the Organic produce, grass fed local meats & wines.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice not Great”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

6 of us dined. Food was better than average but overpriced for the experience. Other than the water service, it was really lacking. It took 2 1/2 hours for dinner. Too long! At half the price we paid ,it would have been more reasonable. The chef is very good, but the rest of the service does not live up to that. Other better choices in Traverse City.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank entr1ck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooks' House also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Cooks' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing