We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redone Inn done right”
Review of Old Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Mission Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Innkeeper Angie was very friendly and went out of her way to show us the entire inn and give us the history of the building and it's previous owners. We were upgraded from a one bedroom with a pullout sofa bed to a suite with 2 seperate bedrooms ( we were there with my sister and her husband). We went out to dinner and when we came back Angie had a bonfire going in the front yard with other guests sitting around. We joined in for awhile and enjoyed conversation with one another and later on the innkeepers dog made an appearance. The breakfast was great. Made to order anything you wanted, as much as you wanted. Location and setting was beautiful with a water view straight out from the Inn. Would definitely stay again if ever in that part Michigan.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward0236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Angie and Bruce were fabulous! Such great hosts and they made us feel right at home! Angie also told us that they are going to be renovating this winter so each suite has its own bathroom and there won't be anymore shared bathrooms! Angie gave us a great tour of the Inn and told us about its history. While we didn't get a chance to go, I love that the Inn has bonfires every night so guests can sit outside and watch the stars! Also, Bruce is a great cook! They do this very simple but delicious breakfast menu and will make you as much as you want of anything on the menu! :) The Inn also has a beautiful view of the lake! I would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our plans were to stay at the nearby Neahtawanta Inn, but when one of the owners took ill, we found Old Mission to be a suitable alternative.
Nice location out on the peninsula with a pretty view of the water from across the street--no beach access though.
Angie was there to greet us around 8:30 (we called to tell her we'd be late) and show us the Apple Suite. With a living/sitting room in the front, porch seating and two bedrooms it was comfortable for the three of us. The price was right and the space was clean, though verging on the edge of cluttered. The front room was jam packed with apple theme doo-daddery, and the bedrooms, The Captain's Quarters and Lighthouse were equally packed with decorations. I like, even love, a theme, but this decorating was overdone. Easily 50 percent of the "stuff" could be put away and there still would be a theme.
The bedrooms are small, and the window air conditioning units are loud and awfully close. I used ear plugs and slept fine, but over in the Lighthouse room, my friend turned the AC off due to the noise and was hot and uncomfortable most of the night.
Breakfast in the morning was good, made to order items including oatmeal, eggs, pancakes and French Toast. It was a nice perk at this Inn.
The apple orchard on the property was lovely for photographs, as was the outhouse and phone booth.

Room Tip: The suite would easily sleep six, it appeared that the sofa in the living/sitting area would pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I admit we were hesitant to stay in a room with a shared bath, but seeing as we only needed a Saturday night stay our choices were limited. Well, it turned out to not even really be much of an issue. Angie is fantastic - she is so genuinely nice and cares about the Inn and her guests. Her hospitality shined through throughout our stay, from helping us with our bags, to telling us about the inn and giving us tips on the local restaurants, etc. I would definitely recommend the Old Mission Inn to anyone looking for a scenic getaway with a view (views of East Grand Traverse Bay from each room!) and some history.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyclara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Bruce and Angie are fantastic hosts! The moment we arrived, Angie greeted us and knew exactly who we were even though we have never been before. She gave us a wonderful tour and shared with us the Inn's rich history. It is easy to see how they have a passion for this place and love what they do! This Inn is within a short walking distance to a beautiful beach. (Haserot Beach) We had a great time swimming and finding petoskey stones.
When we were done for the day and the sun had set, Bruce and Angie got a bonfire going for us. We had such a good time listening to all their stories! Sleep came easy to us in our comfortable, air conditioned room. The bed was so plush and with the no street light ordinance Old Mission has, everything was dark and calm.
Breakfast here is FANTASTIC! You order from a menu and Bruce cooks is to order. Pancakes, toast, eggs, coffee, and juice is just the start.
LOVE this place!

Room Tip: Ice cold A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Old Mission Inn, and had a unique and wonderful experience! Angie and Bruce are top-notch hosts who take their life's work seriously and are very, very good at it. Taking the guided tour is a must for an interesting trip back through the long history of this inn (over 140 years old, and only 4 owners). It was great meeting the other guests and the conversations over breakfast were spirited and stimulating to say the least! This inn caters to adults/couples which makes it a perfect romantic getaway from the kids. The beach around the corner is another plus, not very crowded and somewhat sheltered from the bay. Great wineries, restaurants, and scenery up and down the Old Mission Peninsula. I highly recommend this inn as an alternative to the hustle-bustle of Traverse CIty.

Room Tip: Try to book either of the two ground floor suites for a nice view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staying at the Old Mission Inn was like being in an era gone by. Angie and Bruce are wonderful hosts and sharing the history of the Inn was great and so interesting. Location was perfect for me to attend a wedding taking place less than a mile away. I could go back many more times and never finish all the information they have on their place. Food was great, interaction of hosts with guests was priceless. Will plan on returning myself and referring others, as well. And Angie is a great photographer, if anyone needs a picture. Thanks again, Donna Cross

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
15.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
14.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,410 reviews
14.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
14.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
210 reviews
14.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mission Inn

Address: 18599 Mission Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-9751
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldest continually operating historic hotel in Northern Michigan. Located on Traverse City's scenic Old Mission Peninsula. The Old Mission Inn combines old style Victorian era furnishings with modern amenities including deluxe bathrooms and free wifi. Full hot, old fashion, all you can eat breakfast included in the price of the rooms. All rooms overlook beautiful Lake Michigan's East Grand Traverse Bay. The Old Mission peninsula is rolling acres of cherry orchards and vineyards. Enjoy the local wineries, restaurants, biking and kayaking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing