We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here weekend of October 5th, 2012. We were immediately greeted and made to feel welcome by the lady at the desk. We even got into our room earlier than 3. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were! It's very much like you have your own apartment right on the water. We stayed in a ground floor room which had sliding glass doors that went right out to our patio overlooking the bay. It was pretty chilly so we didn't spend any time outside except to take pictures, but in the summer, the beach area looks like it would be really nice. When you walk into your room, there is a little kitchen area which is fully stocked with glassware, silverware, pots and pans, coffee maker--everything you need. Then past that there is a table that's big enough for four people to sit around. Beyond that is a living room area with big flat-screen tv, a pull-out couch and recliner. A separate bedroom area (in an adjacent room with a door) has it's own flat screen tv, 2 double beds, the bathroom and a little vanity area. Also, it has 2 closets (with a safe), an ironing board, etc. Lots of extra pillows and blankets. Really, anything you need for a trip is right there. We didn't use the pool, but the couple we traveled with who also stayed there used it twice and they had no problems with that or with the hot tub. We had a really nice stay here. Affordable, clean, and a lot bigger and nicer than I thought it would be. I will definitely return next year once it gets warmer! Oh also, it was maybe a 5 minute drive to downtown TC and once you park your car, the entire downtown area is walkable. Lots of shops, coffee houses, pubs and restaurants. Also, the peninsula with all of its wineries and restaurants is right around the corner from the Pinestead. It's a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 127 and really liked it. It all depends on your preference. Some people don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLeo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Pinestead Reef was a motel that years ago was converted to a timeshare facility--it is located directly on Lake Michigan and only a short distance to downtown Traverse City (probably not walkable)--it is also a short drive to the two peninsulas and their many wineriesand the Turtle Bay casino--while the balcony overlooking the beach is shared by all rooms,during the late April time we were there no one else was using it even though the temperatures were generally ideal--the 2nd floor one bedroom unit was clean and provided plenty of space for the two of us--and the flat screen TV and granite top bathroom upgrades were very nice--Pinestead Reef is located directly on US 31 which gave rise to some traffic noise at nite but not unbearable--the staff was very friendly and helpful (especially when our GPS had difficulty locating the resort upon our arrival)--we were satisfied with the accomodations and Traverse City is a great resort area with its proximity to the many wineries, the great restaurants, the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park and only 2 hours to Mackinac Island for a day trip

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stlretirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Pinestead Reef was a decent rental stay. This property was originally a motel that was taken over by the bank and was converted into condos (according to the old owners). Our unit (1bdrm. 6 full) was an RCI exchange. The unit was clean and the bathroom was updated with a granite countertop. The view of Lake Michigan was very nice. We had 2 full size beds along with a pull-out couch. The mattresses were AWFUL, hard as a rock. I found that sleeping on the pull-out couch was much better than the mattresses (go figure!!!). Unfortunatly the mattress pad for the couch was only the size of a twin mattress. On a positive note, there were lots of extra pillows available in the bedroom closet.
The unit seemed to be 2 rooms that were connected with 1 doorway. One side had the beds and the bathroom and the other side was the kitchenette, small dining table, couch and recliner. There were 2 flat screen tvs (1 in bdrm and 1 in main seating area).
Because the condo was located on the main highway, the traffic was loud. I must say that this unit/kitchen area was very small compared to other RCI exchanges we have stayed at in the past. I think the main draw to this location is that it is located on Lake Michigan (would be great during the summer months)
The staff were very friendly, and the pool area was very nice as well. There is a hot tub and sauna and small exercise area. They did provide pool towels at the desk area.
All in all it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michiganmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here for a week in February. The 1 bedroom apartments are very spacious and the views over the lake are sublime. The main heater is so effective, I didn't bother with the bedroom one after the first day or so.

The wifi is as fast as I've found anywhere. The service was excellent. The location right between the beach and the park was tranquil and despite being next to the highway, I didn't hear a peep of traffic noise.

My only issue was that the walk to and from Tom's supermarket was pretty bad. The highway isn't designed for walkers and there are areas of the beach where you need to walk through knee-deep water, which isn't really practical in winter. But if you have a car, the place is pretty much ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GerardT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The good... good location. Friendly staff. pool was warm and clean. We were here in winter, but if you're a summer guest the beach would be a plus. Restaurants nearby. Several ski resorts within an hour drive. Flatscreen TV was good. Sauna was good.
The bad: hot tub WAY too hot (probably 106+). construction in the locker rooms made the Womens' locker room become a unisex locker room which is not very convenient since you have to walk to pool from outdoors (rooms have a outdoor enterance) and it would nice to change out of a wet suit in locker room instead running back to your unit in a wet suit. The construction crew didn't clean up, so the one "unisex" locker room had tools lying about and chunks of plaster on the floor, toilets sitting out by the vending machine. Room doors didn't latch properly, have to pull shut really hard. Heat within the unit is difficult to control. Two individual window units that either made the rooms really hot or really cold. The balcony was really strange- one continuous balcony so that you (or others) could stroll around even on the second floor and gaze into the various units affording no privacy if any windows are open. Room was dusty and the cupboard had boards that were falling off between the fridge and the stove. Bathroom is really cold. There is a heater, but it doesn't appear to work. Supposedly the one bedroom unit sleeps 6 but it appears that a queen or king bed was swapped for two full beds (very small for two people- and makes the room VERY crowded) and one pull out sofa. We found food in the fridge that the previous occupants had left. Normally in condos the ice is emptied from the previous occupants, but not so here. Work out room consisted of a bike (broken- tension knob broken off and I bruised my leg on the bolt that was sticking out where the knob was supposed to be). The eliptical made an awful grinding sound continuously. The treatmill was the only thing that really worked, but the emergency stop feature was taped toegther with electrical tape.
The ugly: dishes in the one bedroom condo were NOT clean. There was food residue and fingerprints on the dishes and even lip marks on some of the glasses. The can opener was so dull that it would not cut through the cans without several trips around the top and even then you have to push (and cut your fingers) on the top of the can to get hte can open (low quality kitchen impliments, pots and pans). The whole kitchen cleanliness issue made me question the cleanliness of the entire unit.
Summary: if you get this cheap, then it's a fair place to stay. We were very dissapointed since it was rated an RCI silver crown resorts. There must a HUGE difference from the gold crown resorts we are used it to this silver crown resort resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Has a kitchenette which makes it nice for families. Pool area is inside and steamy and towels provided at desk. This is a timeshare establishment so there are sales reps available. Area is across from state park and you smell the campfires from across the street. Lots of road noise too from heavy trucks. Beds are small double beds and couch bed is queen size. They say it sleeps 6 but really meant for only 4 at most. Bathroom extremely small and bugs and spider webs out on deck. It is a converted older hotel into a condo. Heating unit also not working properly, and they came to fix.Pillows lumpy and needed updating. Pleasant staff and would recomend this place for convenience.

Room Tip: Opt for the newer section of this hotel the farthest from their office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sassytoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

beautiful beach and sand with a very fine room. full kitchen, plasma tv, full bath & shower. each day there was a planned resort activity for us and kids. the other guests were fun and friendly. the very 1st day we were there gm gary thaxton made us feel @ home. i love the central location to the traverse city area that the reef offers. there was plenty of parking and great info for the area @ the front desk. i look forward to the next visit ti pinestead reef, see you in 2012.
PS- my 8 year old loves the indoor pool!!!!!
thanks

john
pescari

Room Tip: look on-line for the reef's website, for available timeshare options, the week you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3632
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing