We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pinestead Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Place Hotel(Traverse City)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
38
42
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
42
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenliving roomtime shareeast bayslidersfantastic locationbottom floorgrand traverse baystate parkbeach areaqueen sizebit datedfall colorsfirst floorhome away from homenice beachup to date
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a condo property with large one and two bedroom rental condos. These units are huge, way bigger than the modern suite hotels. Things are really up to date from the recent renovations. You get a full kitchen with full size fridge and stove and all the dishes needed for a family of four. Everything is spotlessly clean and the indoor pool and hot tub are warm and cozy. The price varies by season and is very reasonable compared to the nearby hotels especially when you realize you get twice as much space and the location is right on the beach. You need a car to fully enjoy this area as so many attractions are 10 or up to 30 minutes away. The downtown Front Street shopping district is only two minutes away and is a 'must see' for its eclectic collection of unique boutiques and shops. The area is famous for cherries so be sure to try all manner of cherry concoctions that seem improbable but will amaze you. With so much to do this is truly a four season destination. And the Pinestead Reef Resort is the perfect home base for your trip.

Room Tip: From the ground floor rooms you can walk directly out to the beach through the sliding doors.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This resort, although old, was spotless, and had the necessary updates that newer facilities do not match. The views from the living area and bedroom were magnificent. Reasonably priced and very comfortable. Well-appointed and equipped as well. Would definitely stay again. Although a little far away from the city proper, it is still close enough to everything. There are lots of wineries a short distance away as well.

Room Tip: It is my understanding that off season, it is easy to book. During the season, however, book early!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at Pinestead Reef a week ago. I would certainly stay again as the rooms were so well equipped and spotlessly clean. The location is a bit further from the city than we've normally been but easy access to the beach is worth it. I had a problem operated the shower mechanism and someone was there quickly to show us. The elevator to the 2nd floor was very convenient to our room as requested. The pool-sauna area was great ...but a very chilly outside walk to it at this time of year. However, there are great shower facilities such as shower, sinks, lockers etc. so one could change before going out or in. The only drawback for us was the no-pet rule but I imagine this to be fairly typical of time-share units like this

Room Tip: OUr room , 222, was closest to the elevator (midway)but quite a walk from the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was a great place to stay. A condo is the way to go when traveling with another couple. The cost was less compared to getting 2 hotel rooms. As a matter of fact since the two bedroom units were all booked they gave us a three bedroom unit. Loved being on the beach, we were able to unwind and just relax. Kim was just awesome. She gave us maps and highlighted routes for us, telling us what to see, she also gave us menus for some of the restaurants in the area. It's great this place allows rentals when you only what to stay a few days without using an RCI exchange. We will absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gziggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here weekend of October 5th, 2012. We were immediately greeted and made to feel welcome by the lady at the desk. We even got into our room earlier than 3. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were! It's very much like you have your own apartment right on the water. We stayed in a ground floor room which had sliding glass doors that went right out to our patio overlooking the bay. It was pretty chilly so we didn't spend any time outside except to take pictures, but in the summer, the beach area looks like it would be really nice. When you walk into your room, there is a little kitchen area which is fully stocked with glassware, silverware, pots and pans, coffee maker--everything you need. Then past that there is a table that's big enough for four people to sit around. Beyond that is a living room area with big flat-screen tv, a pull-out couch and recliner. A separate bedroom area (in an adjacent room with a door) has it's own flat screen tv, 2 double beds, the bathroom and a little vanity area. Also, it has 2 closets (with a safe), an ironing board, etc. Lots of extra pillows and blankets. Really, anything you need for a trip is right there. We didn't use the pool, but the couple we traveled with who also stayed there used it twice and they had no problems with that or with the hot tub. We had a really nice stay here. Affordable, clean, and a lot bigger and nicer than I thought it would be. I will definitely return next year once it gets warmer! Oh also, it was maybe a 5 minute drive to downtown TC and once you park your car, the entire downtown area is walkable. Lots of shops, coffee houses, pubs and restaurants. Also, the peninsula with all of its wineries and restaurants is right around the corner from the Pinestead. It's a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 127 and really liked it. It all depends on your preference. Some people don't like the ground floor in a hotel. But I think once it gets warmer it would be really nice to just walk out the door from your living room down to the beach. I think all of the rooms have pretty much the same set-up.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLeo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews