We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was the 1st time we stayed on the bay in TC. Normally we will stay on the big lake either farther north or south. We chose this location because it was for a family reunion and the 2 BR condo, it was perfect! The location was awesome and the sunset over the bay was spectacular, we made a point to watch the every night. The room also worked out well as family came in and out all week and everyone enjoyed their stay. The facility is centrally located and anything you would want or need is walking distance or a short drive. The grounds were well manicured and pristine. The kitchen had everything we needed so we were able to make whatever we wanted whenever we wanted. The bedrooms were on opposite of each other so we still had plenty of space and the living room was sufficient. The pool area and beaches were very nice and kept clean with plenty of loungers and chairs available. We were able to walk the beach in either direction as the State Park was right next door. The ducks and swans were beggars for sure; we were sucker and would throw them treats. It was a wonderful stay and would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is a perfect location to lock ourselves up in the room to just quilt all day and all week. Staff is friendly and they know us since we come up every year. I don't care about the looks of this place as long as we have a comfortable bed, working kitchen and a swimming pool to take breaks in. It is a good place to stay during the winter obviously for skiing or quilting. It gives us relaxing feeling quilting away while we watch swans swimming away on the semi frozen bay with snow all over. We are coming back in early next year!

Room Tip: If you want a perfect view of the bay, take a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My daughter, teenaged granddaughter & I stayed recently in this condo rental property and were very happy with the location (right on the main street in Traverse City, & directly on the beach), accommodations (1-BR w/ 2 queen beds + living room with hide-a-bed and full kitchen), and cleanliness throughout (everything everywhere is spotless). The rooms & bathroom areas were roomy with modest but homey furniture, comfortable, with great beds & a - believe it or not! - very comfortable new sofa-bed. The indoor pool & sauna were gorgeous & inviting, and even though it was freezing the night we were there, we sat on the patio & listened to and watched the waves crashing in from Lake Michigan. A fog was rolling in, and it was just mystical & ethereal to watch! Being steps from the beach is always a luxury, and our spacious accommodations were only $87 (I'm sure that in-season rates would be understandably higher). Our daughter heard that this property has the best stretch of beach & clean sand on the entire main street, and it really appeared that way. You are also literally minutes from all sorts of activities, restaurants, and state parks. The Pinestead Reef Resort also has a lovely upper room which overlooks the water, complete with fireplace, suitable for business meetings or family gatherings. This place is a treasure with its great staff & wonderful rooms. If I could've given it a 6-star rating, I would have.

Room Tip: Ask for room 129 on the ground floor - it has a wonderful view and is just steps from the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My 3 sisters and I have been staying at the Pinestead for the last 10 years. The accommodations are clean, roomy and homey. The people who work there are also very friendly and helpful. We usually go in the middle of October every year and always have had good weather. We usually do a winery run and a trip to the Casino. We look forward to this trip and a return to the Pinestead. I recommend the Pinestead very highly.

Room Tip: We have been in many of the rooms. Our favorite is the one downstairs that has a picture window loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent the week-end in a one bedroom unit on a cold weekend in March. Great place for the money! Comfortable living room and functional kitchen; two comfy beds in the bedroom and large bathroom. We shared with another couple and were very comfortable. We were the only ones in the the indoor pool and hot tub. While the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was clean and functional, and a fraction of what it costs in the summer! So much more comfortable that a hotel room! Great microwave for heating snacks and large fridge for storing all that wine from the winery visits...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We love this condo property. It has easy access to downtown and fronts on one of Traverse City's most beautiful beaches. Spacious rooms with full-sized kitchen. Highly recommend. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Game room for kids. We recommend going to dinner at Red Ginger and Om Cafe, both in downtown Traverse City. Frenchies is a wonderful "hole in the wall" coffee shop that serves the best coffee, espresso, caps, lattes (along with Oryana which is the best place for grocery shopping -- located on 10th St.). One more thing: watch a movie at the State Theater! You can't beat it. Enjoy your stay at the Pinestead and in Traverse City.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank NandSManitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
610 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a condo property with large one and two bedroom rental condos. These units are huge, way bigger than the modern suite hotels. Things are really up to date from the recent renovations. You get a full kitchen with full size fridge and stove and all the dishes needed for a family of four. Everything is spotlessly clean and the indoor pool and hot tub are warm and cozy. The price varies by season and is very reasonable compared to the nearby hotels especially when you realize you get twice as much space and the location is right on the beach. You need a car to fully enjoy this area as so many attractions are 10 or up to 30 minutes away. The downtown Front Street shopping district is only two minutes away and is a 'must see' for its eclectic collection of unique boutiques and shops. The area is famous for cherries so be sure to try all manner of cherry concoctions that seem improbable but will amaze you. With so much to do this is truly a four season destination. And the Pinestead Reef Resort is the perfect home base for your trip.

Room Tip: From the ground floor rooms you can walk directly out to the beach through the sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Property: Pinestead Reef Resort
Address: 1265 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3632
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing