We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinestead Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

More than we needed. Had a full kitchen. Which we did not need or use. Was on first floor and could walk on to a beautiful beach. It was a little dated but good enough. The room size was huge. Most of the furniture was fine, some showed a little wear. My wife felt it was not the cleanest place (kitchen chair and bathroom floor) I felt it was ok and would not stop me from coming back. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Compared to a true 5 star hotel it is not, but the location on the beach and the size of the rooms makes it worth a look. Great for family with small kids and teens who love to walk the beach

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I take a week vacation every year to Traverse City and stay at the Pinestead. It's beautiful resort with a indoor pool, arcade room, BBQ's and this resort has the BEST BEACH! Some of the water levels on Grand Traverse Bay are very very low but the Pinestead doesn't have that problem and looks fantastic every year. This resort is always packed to capacity in the summer. Hopefully you'll be one of the lucky one's like my family and I to buy a timeshare or stay a week or two on the bay. GORGOUS place to stay!

Room Tip: I suggest asking for a end unit. They are a bit more $$ but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was the 1st time we stayed on the bay in TC. Normally we will stay on the big lake either farther north or south. We chose this location because it was for a family reunion and the 2 BR condo, it was perfect! The location was awesome and the sunset over the bay was spectacular, we made a point to watch the every night. The room also worked out well as family came in and out all week and everyone enjoyed their stay. The facility is centrally located and anything you would want or need is walking distance or a short drive. The grounds were well manicured and pristine. The kitchen had everything we needed so we were able to make whatever we wanted whenever we wanted. The bedrooms were on opposite of each other so we still had plenty of space and the living room was sufficient. The pool area and beaches were very nice and kept clean with plenty of loungers and chairs available. We were able to walk the beach in either direction as the State Park was right next door. The ducks and swans were beggars for sure; we were sucker and would throw them treats. It was a wonderful stay and would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is a perfect location to lock ourselves up in the room to just quilt all day and all week. Staff is friendly and they know us since we come up every year. I don't care about the looks of this place as long as we have a comfortable bed, working kitchen and a swimming pool to take breaks in. It is a good place to stay during the winter obviously for skiing or quilting. It gives us relaxing feeling quilting away while we watch swans swimming away on the semi frozen bay with snow all over. We are coming back in early next year!

Room Tip: If you want a perfect view of the bay, take a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My daughter, teenaged granddaughter & I stayed recently in this condo rental property and were very happy with the location (right on the main street in Traverse City, & directly on the beach), accommodations (1-BR w/ 2 queen beds + living room with hide-a-bed and full kitchen), and cleanliness throughout (everything everywhere is spotless). The rooms & bathroom areas were roomy with modest but homey furniture, comfortable, with great beds & a - believe it or not! - very comfortable new sofa-bed. The indoor pool & sauna were gorgeous & inviting, and even though it was freezing the night we were there, we sat on the patio & listened to and watched the waves crashing in from Lake Michigan. A fog was rolling in, and it was just mystical & ethereal to watch! Being steps from the beach is always a luxury, and our spacious accommodations were only $87 (I'm sure that in-season rates would be understandably higher). Our daughter heard that this property has the best stretch of beach & clean sand on the entire main street, and it really appeared that way. You are also literally minutes from all sorts of activities, restaurants, and state parks. The Pinestead Reef Resort also has a lovely upper room which overlooks the water, complete with fireplace, suitable for business meetings or family gatherings. This place is a treasure with its great staff & wonderful rooms. If I could've given it a 6-star rating, I would have.

Room Tip: Ask for room 129 on the ground floor - it has a wonderful view and is just steps from the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My 3 sisters and I have been staying at the Pinestead for the last 10 years. The accommodations are clean, roomy and homey. The people who work there are also very friendly and helpful. We usually go in the middle of October every year and always have had good weather. We usually do a winery run and a trip to the Casino. We look forward to this trip and a return to the Pinestead. I recommend the Pinestead very highly.

Room Tip: We have been in many of the rooms. Our favorite is the one downstairs that has a picture window loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
556 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent the week-end in a one bedroom unit on a cold weekend in March. Great place for the money! Comfortable living room and functional kitchen; two comfy beds in the bedroom and large bathroom. We shared with another couple and were very comfortable. We were the only ones in the the indoor pool and hot tub. While the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was clean and functional, and a fraction of what it costs in the summer! So much more comfortable that a hotel room! Great microwave for heating snacks and large fridge for storing all that wine from the winery visits...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Property: Pinestead Reef Resort
Address: 1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing