We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW! New Chef Rocks This TC Haunt!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phil's On Front - CLOSED

Phil's On Front
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beulah, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“WOW! New Chef Rocks This TC Haunt!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Barbara & I decided that we were going to check out the new LUNCH menu from Phil's on Front this past Saturday. There is new chef in town &, boy, does she rock! Her name is Chef Fresia Granados & she hails from Costa Rica. Barbara & I started with a guacamole & chips appetizer ($3)… very nice flavor to the guac. Then we both ordered the 'Tablita De Carne' ($12) - the hangar steak. This dish was... extraordinary! The beef had obviously been marinated for a long period of time as it was tender & very flavorful. The black beans were the best we ever tasted. This dish was accompanied by salsa, rice & plantains (a favorite of Barbara's). Chef Fresia came over to our table to ask us about our meal experience & personally thank us for dining with her. (I always love when the owner or the chef check with their patrons… so an extra 'star' for this.) But if you are seeking out some wonderful Spanish/Latin American food, you MUST stop in to Phil's for a luncheon delight with Chef Fresia! You will be very impressed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackEWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    21
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alden, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresia Granados at Phil's on Front for Costa Rican Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Chef Fresia Granados is fantastic as is her lunch menu. She is serving up lunch at Phil's on Front 11:30 to 3:00 Monday through Saturday. We started with Bocas of Guacamole and Chips $3, a Chalupa $5 and a bowl Sopa de La Casa $6. Each item was excellent especially the Chalupa and Sopa de La Casa. Next was the Tacos de Pescado 2 for $10 and Cuban Sandwich $10 also both excellent. Tacos de Pescado had a great sauce and the fish was mild and tasty. My wife is a picky eater and she loved the fish tacos. Cuban had just the right crispy spicy taste. Food was so good we ordered more tacos to go along with Arroz Con Pollo $10 to go. The Arroz Con Pollo was amazing. Fresia came out and personal thanked us for dining. Fresia we should be thanking you and beg you to stay in Traverse City as I haven't tasted cuisine likes yours anywhere north of the Caribbean. Also the prices where outstanding as I listed them above. Portions are good. Must go and taste. We will be back weekly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Anniversary night in Traverse City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I were visiting Traverse City for our 24th wedding anniversary and some local exploring. We had our annivesary dinner at Phil's and it was wonderful. The restaurant was crowded but after ordering cocktails we were seated right away. The mood was very friendly, lot's of action but not hectic. The food was delicious, we went with specials and recommendations of our servers. The wine list was very nice and we enjoyed 2 reds by the glass. The menu had so many temptations, we remarked it was a shame we were not younger and could try more! The mussels we ordered were exceptional and the broth was delicate, but tasty. We split the lamb entree and it was tremendous. Desserts (those we did have 2) were delightful. The chocolate cake was smooth and rich as advertised. Lot's of folks signed our menu which made the night and our scrap book.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJonesPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Night In Snowy Traverse City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lot's of fun at Phil's on a snowy night in TC. My husband and I enjoyed every minute and dish we experienced while dining at this cozy downtown restaurant. We started with the yummy crab puffs and oysters then moved on to the delicious grouper entree'. My chocolate martini was so good it felt like I started with dessert. However, we both decided we also needed to try the raspberry chocolate torte and the cocoa apple crisp, which were both excellent. The evening ended being serenaded by a wonderful female singer in the intimate lounge area in the front of the restaurant. Phil even took time to stop by to see how we enjoyed our evening. PS Our server, Joni, was wonderful!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had not been to Phil's restaurant in Traverse City, years ago we had been to some of his other restaurants in Leelanau County. We found the location downtown TC cozy and a nice atmosphere. We started at the bar with some local beers and a couple appetizers. The herring was awesome and a nice plate of it...but the gator bites left a little to be desired. For $10 you get two little 1" balls of what seemed like minced breaded gator..not much flavor and hard to justify $10 for so little. We moved to a table for dinner...the wait staff was great. All of our meals were beyond awesome..I had the shrimp & scallop pasta it was a great sauce, not to heavy and very flavorful..great portion, even brought some home. My husband had the duck, it was done perfect and great tasting. The other couple with us had the early bird beef medallion special and is was very moist and tasty. One of them got the beef/veg soup also and it was delish. With the early bird special you get 3 courses, a deal that can't be beat for such great food. Sometimes when you eat out you can tell you have ate processed food and get that sick feeling later...not at Phils. When you leave Phil's you feel like you have been at a friends house that had a personal chef that handmade your meal with fresh ingredients just for you. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scavenger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's On Front also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing