We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Traverse City
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We found the management really friendly, our jacuzzi room nice and clean. Enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2explor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

This was a very nice, clean inn. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The room was nice and clean. I loved the Bath & Body shampoo & soaps! The breakfast was adequate. We got a super price (Dec. deal)! I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorimerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was the worst experience of my familys life. We checked
into this motel on Friday 12/10, and were there until Sunday Morning
12/12 about 1am. We had a Wedding to attend Saturday 12/11 and were
gone most of the day, from about 12:30-12:30 or so am to pm. We had
first rented 2 rooms for the 6 adults that were staying there. 4 beds
we figured this was more than enough, it was absolutely no secret or
anything of how many people we had. On Saturday we had another 4 guests
come, so we ordered another room, 3 total rooms for a total of 10
people, and then my father in law was meeting us there after the
festivities, so there was more than enough bed room for the amount of
guests. Cheryl, whos the rooms name were in, was unaware that the rooms
were for only 2 guests each. We were notified of this when we returned
to our rooms at about 12am Sunday Morning, the owner of the motel called
screaming and threatening to call the cops on us if we dont pay for our
extra guests, this is when he told us the rooms were for 2 guests only.
He had called my room which Cheryl was not staying in and we told him to
call the next door room. He called there and immediately starting
screaming at her telling her she had to pay extra or the cops were being
called and were going to kick us out of the motel. She said thats fine,
no need to go to that extreme, we will pay the less than 100 for the
extra people we apparantly didnt pay for. He said that it didnt matter
and that she lied to him, and had been lying to him all day, saying we
have you guys on camera with a bunch of people going in and out of the
rooms all day which was impossible because we were not even there on
Saturday but in the morning and then 5 mins before he called. My father
inlaw went down there to talk to him about it and to make a payment on
his credit card, and the owner refused. Then a lot of talking and
arguing that I am not completely sure about because I wasnt there to
witness it. So in the end we were kicked out of this motel and were
forced to drive home in a Blizzard at around 1:30-2am in the morning
with a 3 month old, a 4 year old and a bunch people coming back from a
wedding who were drinking. We left to look for another hotel and it
seemed everything had no vacancies, we decided to try and drive home to
Saginaw county, about a 3-4 hour drive in good weather. We didnt even
make it 15 miles out of the city when one of us broke down because snow
was built up under the vehicle, causing the belt to break, after a good
hour of trying to repair it we finally made our way and found a hotel
right outside the city limits, it took us about a hour and a half to get
20 miles out of the city. 1 Vehicle continued to make the journey home
because of lack of money to spend on another room for the night, they
ended up getting into a accident on I-75 about 8 hours after they left
because of terrible road condition. This completely ludacris that this
is the way this guy treats paying customers, especially when people are
being forced to drive on Blizzard condition roads, at 2am, after
drinking at a wedding. We want to be completely reiumburst for all
charges we had. We will also be making all the correct complaints to
the BBB, our Attorneys, Traverse City Chamber of Commerce, the State
Police, and Child Protective Services. We can easily make this correct
by your company showing a sign of respect by refunded all charges and
that being the end of it. Our family was completely disrespected by one
of your franchise owners.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number1friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knightsinn10, General Manager at Knights Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Response from Knights Inn Traverse City Management Team:

The Management at the Knights Inn Traverse City would like to express its regrets that this situation escalated to the point that it did, however, we maintain that we were in no way the cause and would like to clarify the events that transpired.

After making repeated attempts to resolve the situation, the management team at the Knights Inn Traverse City made the decision to involve local law enforcement. We do not take this decision lightly, however after threats of physical harm were made to hotel personnel we felt the comfort and safety of our guests was at risk. When the Traverse City Police officer arrived the guest service agent on duty reiterated that the room with children was allowed to stay as they were not causing any disruption. Once the guests were notified of the exception for that room, they replied that all of the rooms would be leaving.

As the reviewer stated in their account of the evening, there were "a bunch of people" who were intoxicated. These guests were being disruptive and a few of them made statements during the incident threatening harm to our team members and the property.

Again, we do not take the decision to evict our guests lightly. In addition, we will only involve law enforcement if we feel the safety of our staff or our guests has been compromised. In this situation we had made repeated attempts to resolve the issue with the responsible party which further escalated the situation. We stand by the decision that was made because we believe ultimately it ensured that we preserved the comfort and safety of all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

In Sept 2010 i called and reserved 2 rooms with 2 queen size or double beds for 2 nights, for 12/10 and 12/11. i then also reserved a 3rd room for for 12/11. my son was having his wedding at black star farms on the 11th and my adult children were getting the hotel from me as a present so they could go to the brothers wedding. so there would be 11 adults and 2 babies. we were there friday night went to get their continental breakfast on saturday then went back to the rooms to get ready for the wedding in the meantime the last of my kids made it there we went and pd for the room and got the room keys. we all then left by 12:30 for the wedding. no one was there all day until my husband and i came back with the grandbabies at around 11:00 or so. the rest of our kids returned with in the next hour. within 5 minutes of their return my son answered the phone to someone yelling at him it was the guys who was working the desk. my son told him to call my mom in the next room that i was the one who booked the rooms. he called me and started yelling at me that i'm a thief and if i dont come up with some more money he was calling the cops. i asked him why he was yelling at me and he just called me a thief again i told him i would be right over with my chg card to take care of whatever the problem was i litterally walked just across the parking lot with card in hand. and one of the people that was staying in our rooms also was going over there with a chg card to help. when we walked into the office the cops were already there and he is telling them he wants us out now. so the police said we had to leave i said you are making 11 people with two small children a 4yr old and a 3 month old who have been asleep for an hour by now, leave in this blizzard. they said yes. oh and then when we pull out of this driveway are you gonna pull us over and take us to jail because some of us have been drinking? no we dont work like that. whatever. the clerk working said theres a motel next store go there. i asked if he was going to reimburse us for the 3 rooms he said no i dont have to. they were aware that we lived 3 to 4 hrs away in good weather. they did not care. so we had to pack up and go into the blizzard at 1:30 am give or take a few minutes. my car ended up breaking down. my daughter and her 4 passengers drove 8hrs only to go off the road and ruin her brake lines. needing a tow. my car took an hour and a half to get running so we ended up finding another motel that had 2 rooms with 2 double beds and they did not have a problem with 4 adults and a child in each room with no extra charge. i thank god that the people at econolodge actually cared about us. they even let us stay past checkout because yet another car broke down so we couldnt leave till it got going. so yes i would say i would never stay at that hotel again that man was very rude and gave no care to human lives. i wonder how he would feel if that happened to him and his family. i know it kinda put a damper on what should have been good memories of my sons wedding. never been so stressed and upset and flabergasted in my life. if you think about it what that guy and those police men and woman did could have cost me my whole family in those trecherous conditions they made us go out in.

signed unhappy. cheryl eisenhauer and family

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank cheryldean97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knightsinn10, General Manager at Knights Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Response from Knights Inn Traverse City Management Team:

The incident discussed took place after several attempts by our personnel to resolve the problem in a professional and courteous manner. At check-in, the guests were told of the double occupancy policy that we, like most hotels, follow by our Guest Service Agent on duty. They signed a folio stating that there were indeed only two adults in the rooms. They were informed that an additional charge of $10 would be added for each guest above and beyond the two person policy. They were in agreement with us and were given access to the rooms. However, our hotel survilance video, along with obeservations from the housekeeping team members who took care of the room, confirmed that indeed there were more than two adults in two of the rooms.

This, along with noise complaints from other hotel guests, led to the Guest Service Agent making contact in a professional and courteous manner with the guests on Saturday evening, the night refered to in the review. Several attempts to collect the extra person charges were made by our agent. However, due to the refusual of several intoxicated guests to comply, along with threatening statements made by members of the party, the agent called 911 Dispatch in accordance with our policies. The Traverse City Police Department responded in an efficient and professional manner, taking control of the situation.

A few guests still proceeded to argue with the police officers, who assisted our agent in having the party removed from our property to ensure the saftey and comfort of all of our guests and hotel team members. The room in which the children were sleeping was allowed to stay as they were not a part of the complaints and unruly behavior we were seeing by the two other rooms. A police officer asked our agent if the room with the children could stay, and the agent replied, "yes." The officer then stated that to the other guests who said that all rooms would be leaving.

Due to inclement weather and the winter season, hotel room availability was quite high that evening in Traverse City. Most hotels contacted were showing occupancy levels at 50% or less. The guests were offered our suggestions of hotels to inquire at, some of which were next door to our property.

In the eighteen plus months that we have been in operation, we have had more than 10,000 guests stay with us. This was only the third time in which a room(s) were evicted. Therefore, it is not a situation that we take lightly. The saftey, comfort and well-being of all of our guests and staff members is our primary focus, and when guests actions are taken in a threatening, non-complying manner, we take a serious stance. Several of these guests were intoxicated and unruly, even going so far as to leave voicemail messages on our office phone threatening bodily harm to staff members. These messages and all video survilance from that evening have been recorded and saved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This motel in Traverse City is a disgrace to the beautiful city. In order to write this review and have it saved I was forced to give it a star. I would give it a negative star rating!

My family was turned out in the cold & snow on Saturday night (12/11/10) due to a dispute about room charges. It was after 12 AM Sunday morning when they returned to the motel from a family wedding in town. The police were called and they were forced to leave in a snowstorm with an accusation that they had too many people for their rooms. My family offered to pay any extra charges. You do the math - 11 adults, 1 four-year-old child, and 1 3-month old infant. They had three rooms with two double beds each. What was the problem? Moreover, they offered to pay the additional $10/an adult but this offer was refused. Again, do the math. 3 rooms x 2-double beds = 12 person sleeping capacity.

My family will do everything possible to spread the word that this is not a family friend motel. This motel's behavior ruined their wedding weekend. You turned out the mother of the groom, the step-father of the groom, his family members, the father of the groom, the groom's sister, and the groom's brother and two small children (the groom's niece and nephew.) It was a nigthmare.

We will notify the Better Business Bureau and the Traverse City Area Chamber of Commerce with complaints on this motel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank jns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knightsinn10, General Manager at Knights Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2011

Response from Knights Inn Traverse City Management Team:

The Management at the Knights Inn Traverse City would like to express its regrets that this situation escalated to the point that it did, however, we maintain that we were in no way the cause and would like to clarify the events that transpired.

The party who rented these three rooms was made aware of our extra person charges at the time of her reservation as well as upon her check in at our property. Upon determining that more than two people were occupying each room, management attempted to contact the responsible party. It was a combination of a refusal to pay, the high level of intoxication of the additional occupants and repeated threats of physical harm to hotel personnel that forced us to call law enforcement officials. The guests with children were never asked to leave. It was only the intoxicated guests and those who were making threats, that we were not able to have at our property.

Knights Inn Traverse City has a very simple policy that we follow in cases such as this. If the general comfort and safety of our guests and team members are deemed to be compromised by the actions of some guests, we will act appropriately to resolve the situation, including the involvement of law enforcement. We take the safety and the comfort of our guests very seriously and work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We used to stay at this hotel before it was Knights Inn, until it became run down. We decided to try it again and were extremely satisfied with how agreeable the management was regarding prices and the room we wanted. We will definitely make Knights Inn our first choice from now on!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhuff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Fantastic service with a wonderful staff. Excellent rooms, very clean, the continental breakfast was delicious and much more then was expected. A great location with many wonderful attractions right nearby, including a great restaurant right next door. We can't wait for our next vacation there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicagogirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Traverse City

Address: 360 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3064
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £33 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Free continental breakfast *Only minutes from down town and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing