We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mitchell Creek Inn
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Traveling with two small kids and decided we weren't ready to come home yet. I was on Trip Advisor in the State Park parking lot looking for a place to stay and saw Mitchell Creek Inn from there. I drove over and was met by a very friendly staff and got a Kitchenette Room for a VERY reasonable price. Once checked in we walked around the grounds a little. There is a little creek winding its way through the back area where there is some seating and a firepit. They built us a fire later that evening and provided us with sticks for roasting. There were even some LARGE fish to watch on their way through. The owners were so helpful and friendly. I even talked them into coming out to the fire to chat with us a bit. Very comfy beds. Just a tip not a complaint that you do need to bring your own toiletries. I would classify it as no frills but a hidden gem of a place. We will go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cozycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our room (on the end) was very spacious with a kitchenette. The only issue was the A/C didn't work (not usually an issue in Michigan but it was August and it was in the 80s). There were no other rooms available close to our price range within a 40 mile drive, possibly because we were in Traverse City during the film festival. We decided to stay and the manager brought over two fans and gave us a discount on the price. Things worked out OK.
The setting is very nice with an outdoor area with a firepit and yes, there is a creek. Also very convenient to the park across the street. Not fancy but more character than a chain.
The manager was helpful (gave us a map and good direction to a laundrymat).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your cooperation as we awaited the arrival of the new air conditioning unit! We're glad you enjoyed the area and the personalized service. We look forward to greeting you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is such a great place to stay. Very clean and affordable for a family vacation. My daughter loves the creek and Digger the dog. The cabin is awesome and the kitchen is a good size. The owners are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you so much. We are honored to serve all our guests.
"Entertaining Angels Unaware", Hebrews 13:2. God bless and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in the cabin in February. There is a great open grass area for the kids without the worry of them getting hit by vehicles. The creek was awesome. My daughter really enjoyed looking for fish. The cabin was great, perfect for us. The kitchen with window looking out to the grass area was nice. The heating system was very efficient. This place was also very quiet. We had a great relaxing time. Cant wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

For the past two summers we have stayed at Mitchell Creek Inn for our annual golf outing. We love it! There are approximately twenty of us that stay there as we can all gather around the firepit at night and be together. The staff at the Inn is friendly, courteous and accomodating. The rooms are very small and quaint but extremely clean and fresh. We have not found the small rooms to be a problem because we basically are only in them to sleep. There is a small pavilion outside and the firepit area so we are usually gathered there. The dogs usually join us as they love to run after balls or sticks and we have become very fond of them.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MI2faraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Drove up north on a whim without the kids......location is great as is the customer service - staff was super friendly! Room was small but clean and quiet. Great for the two of us! HD TV's and free internet. Can't beat it for the price! Room also has a microwave and small fridge. Bathroom has shower only - no tub. We were planning on spending one night only....but for the price we took two nights. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Somehow we ended up with a smoking room that smelled terrible. We tried using Febreeze every time we left but it still stunk when we returned. The room was about 10 feet wide by 20 feet long, including the bathroom.

Now for the good. The bedding was clean and the staff was very nice. They had two great dogs on site that were friendly and always liked a good scratch. It is only because of these aspects that it does not get a "Poor" rating. In the future though, we'll book a hotel further in advance to avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavanburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Property: Mitchell Creek Inn
Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchell Creek Inn is a quaint, 14 room inn on East Grand Traverse Bay, across the street from the State Park Beach. Locally owned and operated by US Army Veterans, the Inn features unique rooms, friendly staff, and an outdoor area where guests can fish from the banks of the creek, enjoy grilling or a campfire, and paddle one of the complimentary kiaks down the creek to the Bay. If family-friendly and easy-going is your style, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing