We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unacceptable customer service”
Review of Mitchell Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitchell Creek Inn
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unacceptable customer service”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

" ‎5 stars for cleanliness and location. ZERO stars for customer service!!! We made reservations on October 21 to stay in the cabin from Thanksgiving day, the 25th, till Saturday, the 27th. We needed a full kitchen and a pet friendly place. We had a cooler full of food to cook. My son is in the culinary program at NWM. He had a m...enu for us he was going to cook for us. Everything seemed perfect until we arrived.

We arrived 1 hour early. We asked for an early check in so we could start cooking. The person at the front desk told us "sorry we gave your reservations away" WHAT? We just drove 2.5 hours and we never even got a courtesy call about this dilema? The person at the front desk offered us 2 other rooms, with no kitchens, at the same price or a refund and we could find another place to stay. Really? on Thanksgiving day you want us to find another place that has a kitchen and welcomes pets? We had no choice.

I spoke to the front desk the next morning about this situation and asked what happened. The front dest told me that a family had come in from out of town and it was an emergency so the owners decided to put them in the cabin WE reserved and told the front desk person we would be better off in the two other rooms.

This was totally unacceptable and we had no choice but to stay. Being with my family eating pizza and chinese food on Thanksgiving was more important than cooking BUT I will never, ever reccomend this place to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kyjj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We had to plan last minute to find a room while on a Holiday weekend with an event in Traverse City going on so many hotels were sold out. The people who run the Inn were extremely nice and the room was very clean but was very tiny. We had to take a smoking room since there was nothing else (even being smokers the room stunk). The sheets were like sandpaper and you could hear all the traffic on the road. We were trying to be cheap and save a buck because my husband just had to go up for the afternoon to meet a potential client, I wish we would of spent the extra $30 and stayed at a nicer hotel. We ended up going to bed early and getting up early and not even using the shower, thought it would be more of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshine20269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I absolutely adore Mitchell Creek Inn. My friends and I have stayed at this motel upwards of a dozen times, and we have already made our reservations for summer 2010. If you want a chain with a lot of amenities, then it isn't for you. You won't find upscale, chic, and classy here. What you will find is a clean, pleasant stay at a quiet laid-back inn. The motel sits on the main drag just to the east of Traverse City - about 3 miles out maybe. It is *directly* across from the State Park and beach. There is a crossing light at the corner which makes the 3 minute walk to the beach easy.

The rooms are clean and cozy; some might describe them as small, but I think they are fine. My companions and I are very comfortable. We stay in the kitchenette and cabins, so I have not personally been in the smaller room. There are no phones, so bring your cell. But honestly, how many people don't have cell phones now... There are a number of restaurants in the area that will deliver (but that's another review). They will allow pets and do provide internet access. The rooms do have cable television. The beds are very comfortable and fresh.

The owners are sooooo nice and very kind and helpful. The rates are quite reasonable for the touristy location. While the rooms themselves are close the main road (I don't think the noise is bad), there is a beautiful woodsy area with Mitchell Creek running through it at the back of the property. They have a gazebo area and fire pit with comfy Adirondack chairs. I can't tell you how many evenings I've sat back there with friends, the owners, and other guests enjoying drinks and the fire.

Though simple, your basics are covered. I've *never* had a "ugh" moment at this motel. The atmosphere is very cabin or cottage like - simple but homey. Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogg_frogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowlerville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Over the summer some colleges and I stayed at The Mitchell. The service was great. Very friendly and personal. The rooms were clean, comfortable and accommodating. No stairs or long walks from your parking spot. Also, there is a leisure area behind the inn with a creek, (and although i didn't get the chance to see it i heard the salmon are amazing in the fall.) grilling area and fire pit. The Mitchell is pet friendly, with the owners do (digger) on site. The Inn is close to town (only about 3 miles) and right across the street from the beach. Overall we had an amazing trip, and plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghangennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Vey nice little mom and pop Inn, Exactly what I was looking for, a nice little up north place.If you are looking for a chain hotel you can find everywhere then this might not be your place. But if you are looking for a nice up north location this is the place for you. It is pet friendly which is a huge plus, there is a creek running through the property and it is right across the (busy) street from the state park. I mention busy street because it is, but that wa no problem for us and there is a light to cross the street. It is in a good location, not too far from toiwn. You will need to drive there but you will need to at most locations.It is not right on the water, but it is just across the street. The owner is very friendly and personal, she made the stay even nicer. They also have free internet.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank withopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.4 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinestead Reef Resort
Pinestead Reef Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Property: Mitchell Creek Inn
Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchell Creek Inn is a quaint, 14 room inn on East Grand Traverse Bay, across the street from the State Park Beach. Locally owned and operated by US Army Veterans, the Inn features unique rooms, friendly staff, and an outdoor area where guests can fish from the banks of the creek, enjoy grilling or a campfire, and paddle one of the complimentary kiaks down the creek to the Bay. If family-friendly and easy-going is your style, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing