We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turning heads everywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turning heads everywhere!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

One search of hotels in Traverse City will leave you realizing there are not many modern and sophisticated hotels. It is the beach after all. But for those of us who still want our upscale hotel city options in remote get-away locations, with big screen TVs, wifi, and still be able to collect on brand associated travel points, this is the place to stay. As always, with any new hotel, it is really hard to mess up, unless of course you dish out terrible service. The Cambrian Suites Traverse City does not fail, providing a sleek new modern hotel with great service. From the moment you enter, you'll notice a refined atmosphere, with a very well organized and spacious lobby that is conducive for strangers from all over to mingle around the bar, the fireplace or the big screen TV above the fireplace. The front desk staff is efficient, knowledgable and best of all, friendly! As you walk around to the elevator (if your room is not on the first floor), you'll have no choice but to sightsee the hotels amenities, including the bar/breakfast/dining area, the pool and exercise room. Once in the room, there is nothing else to say but new! All rooms in the hotel are suites, so space is abundant with a living area and partially separate bedroom area. Keeping kids entertained is quite easy as the living area provides a couch and flat screen TV. There is a multimedia input area on the wall that seems to accommodate input of things like an XBOX or Playstation. The living area also provides a spacious desk with hardwire Ethernet port and desktop lighting. There is a refrigerator and microwave as well. The bedroom offers it's on flat screen TV and a rather comfortable bed. The bathroom is also relatively spacious and offers a standing shower with partial glass wall serving as the shower curtain. (I'm not sure if there are any rooms with tubs for those of you with kids.) Hotel Internet was easily accessible from all devices, including laptop, iPad and iPhone.

The reason for four stars was the lack of complementary breakfast. Although while you are in Traverse City you probably are not looking to eat breakfast at the hotel, it would still be nice to have that as an option, especially with kids. However, the bar does serve breakfast lunch and dinner at a cost.

The hotel is located on the east side of Traverse City closer to the airport. It is not along the beach however still within walking distance to the main attractions downtown. I do believe that the hotel does offer a shuttle service.

Overall this is easily the best hotel in the area. I imagine it will continue to be the best hotel in the area so long as they keep up with their great customer service. Job well done Cambria Suites Traverse City!

Room Tip: Hotel is an all suites Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1xpf1xp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for being our guest on your recent visit to Traverse City. We appreciate
all of your comments and hope to see you in the future. Sorry that the Cambria Brand
doesn't have the complimentary continental breakfast offering, we all have the full service
restaurant and bar available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    117
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
177
257
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cambria Suites this last November. The hotel was really clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, the bedding was comfortable and the location worked well for what we were doing. We normally stay at the hotels on the beach but in the winter we will likely stay at the Cambria Suites again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for being our guests while in Traverse City. There are many great choices
to choose from , we feel honored that you gave us a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Nicely appointed, comfortable spacious rooms, attentive staff!. This is a very nice hotel. It is a little pricier, but provides a nice experience for the money. Only negative was in-room coffee. While it is a "designer" blend, it is terrible. Walk to the lobby in the morning and grab a cup from the station set up outside the elevators. Exercise room and pool area were very welcoming and functional. Staff very attentive. Shuttle service made things very convenient and is a great perk for the money spent! Great job to Cambria Suites Traverse City! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMBayCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Traverse City. We appreciate your feedback and
Thank you for all of your comments. We are in the process of changing our in room coffee
and our coffee makers as well during the middle of January. We are going to change to
a higher quality of coffee.
Best Regards,
Jack Buist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were looking for a quick weekend getaway and when I read the reviews on tripadvisor, I told my wife we should trust it. Boy am I glad we did. Hotel was awesome and in line with most of the reviews we read. Very new hotel with excellent accommodations and very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable and just what we were looking for in the Traverse City area. Centrally located to many great winerys and only a short drive to the mall and Boone's Long Lake in...a family favorite for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. It was great that you were able to enjoy many of
the popular places to go when in the area. The winery's and Boone's Long Lake Inn
are truely fun destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been searching for a hotel in the Traverse City area that we can call a home away from home and that meets all our needs. This Thanksgiving we decided to try the Cambria Suites in Traverse City, MI. I am so glad we did. Every aspect of our experience with this hotel was incredible. The staff is incredibly polite and friendly. A Thanksgiving Meal was available from 11-8 Thanksgiving Day, in which I am very sorry we did not partake in. We enjoyed an incredible meal late in the Reflect Bistro within the hotel. Our waiter Peter was A+ server. And our food was fantastic. The room was so clean, I personally struggle with allergy problems and I did not have any allergy attach while staying in the room. The hotel was very quiet and the maids that were working on the floor the next morning were very curtious and greeted us in a very friendly manner. All in all it was in unbelievably great stay.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner in this place. Very accommodating, especially for a few people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for being our guest over the Holiday Weekend. We appreciate
your comments and our happy that we were able to attend to all of your
needs. Thank's for choosing our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our dinner was wonderful and tasty! The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We had a great server who was very busy, but she was efficient, smiling, and on the ball. The rooms were spacious, clean and nearly new. The entertainment drew a nice crowd. The pool, hot tub and fitness center were impressively clean and the water was just right- not over chlorinated and perfect temperature. The breakfast buffet had great meat, among other things, and made to order omelettes. This is a great place to stay for business or leisure. The Cambria supports and donates to the local schools too! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appreciative231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for being our guest and enjoying all that we have to offer. We appreciate
all of your comments and hope that we will have the privilidge to accomodate you
in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

When we go on our anniversary weekend we always look for a more unique hotel, and we were incredibly pleased with our choice of Cambria Suites. We read many hotel reviews before deciding with Cambria Suites, and I am very happy that we did. Every single staff member was incredibly polite and willing to answer any questions about the area that we had.

We got in on a Friday night and had intended to go out to a local restaurant, but upon checking in and glancing over the in-hotel menu we decided to go to the lobby restaurant for dinner. Our waiter was incredibly friendly and patient with us taking our time to look over the menu. I ordered the black bean nachos for me meal, and they were some of the BEST nachos I have ever had (and that's saying a lot because I tend to order nachos at most places). We both ordered drinks, which were reasonably priced and were not skimped on with alcohol.

The room itself was one of my favorite rooms we've ever been too. The bed had a mountain of pillows and was so comfortable that the minute I laid down I passed out. Being able to sleep in hotels is a hit or miss for me, but I slept so soundly. We hardly ever even heard our neighbors during our stay.

I could go on and on about what a wonderful experience we had at Cambria Suites...and I NEVER write reviews. Thank you to the staff and management for running a great hotel, and we will definitely be back if we're ever in Traverse City again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack B, General Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary weekend at our hotel. We are glad that you
chose us. We appreciate all of your comments and hope that you will come and visit
us in the future. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City

Property: Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Address: 255 Munson Ave # US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686-3079
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Cambria Suites(R) hotel provides luxury accommodations in the charming coastal town of Traverse City, and is the perfect place to stay for corporate or leisure travelers.Our Cambria Suites luxury hotel offers both business and leisure travelers exclusive amenities that will make you feel right at home, including: Full service Restaurant, Reflect Bistro, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with Happy Hour daily from 4 to 7 pm, state of the art fitness center, free High Speed Internet via Fiber Optic Cable, complimentary Shuttle Service and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing