We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brewery”

Right Brain Brewery
Ranked #14 of 108 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Right Brain Brewery, aka RBB or "The Brain," is a microbrewery located in the up and coming SoFo District of Traverse City Michigan. Award-winning culinary inspired beers brewed with a brain, and without extracts. Beer No Evil!
Oceanside, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Brewery”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We joined our niece & nephew for several tastings of flights of beer. The staff was very knowledgeable of the beers they brewed and they had a wide range of options. The nice thing was that they allowed you to taste beers that you chose rather than have beers they selected. Excellent brews and I can see that Michigan is catching up on the micro brews brewed in our home state of Oregon. They don't really serve food but the beer is worth the visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An art gallery for brewing!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

RBB is one of the most creative microbreweries in the state and as long as you don't hold sacred the German Beer Purity Laws, this place will tickle your brain and your palate all night long. There are always over a dozen beers on tap and several that will have you scratching your head wondering "how did they make beer out of that... and successfully?" Free your mind and imagine: beers brewed with asparagus, or wasabi, or whole cherry pies.
(I just tried the Mountain Berry Pie Whole beer ... brewed with 75 whole cherry pies... and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was!) They also have interesting, but more normal brews... really something for everyone from the timid microbrew newbie to the connoisseur. Try a sampler and go for a few oddities and a few safer bets. Share with friends... and spend the evening in a friendly, happy atmosphere, drinking awesome beer while playing a board game or chatting up the owner or bartenders.

The owner was very friendly and clearly passionate about his craft and his customers' experiences there. He sat down with us, talked about all kinds of things, and even took us in back to show us his production area. We learned they are moving a few blocks away to take on a larger production space... this brand is growing, is great for Michigan, and a treat for beer lovers. I wish Russell and the RBB crew the best and recommend you visit them wherever they station themselves in TC. It's an experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank vwp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Art!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great environment, average brews. Every once-in-a-while they have a stellar brew. Hawk-Owl, that's a keeper.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

RBB is not yet in a location that demands attention; however, if you are fortunate enough to happen upon it you are in for a real treat. What a unique establishment! The staff is warm and knowledgable; their selection is diverse, and RBB also happens to showcase local art that will stimulate the senses. I look forward to your expansion!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newaygo, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My favorite microbrewery and I've been to A LOT!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have been here MANY times when I visit TC. Last nite was just another reason why I love this place. I had a terrific Belgian and my girlfriend had a delightful Mint Stout.. There is nothing else here except great beer and a relaxed atmosphere. They had 18 beers and hard ciders on tap. All of them unique in their own way. Many are made with local ingredients like hops, honey and even sweet potatoes? I didn't try that one yet. Go to the counter, order a beer, ask for a sample if you don't know, sit down at a table or lounge in an old barber chair, grab a board game and enjoy the evening with friends.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank caveman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Right Brain Brewery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Right Brain Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing