We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“left hungry, thirsty, and disappointed.”

Right Brain Brewery
Ranked #14 of 108 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Right Brain Brewery, aka RBB or "The Brain," is a microbrewery located in the up and coming SoFo District of Traverse City Michigan. Award-winning culinary inspired beers brewed with a brain, and without extracts. Beer No Evil!
Oscoda, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“left hungry, thirsty, and disappointed.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

went at lunchtime, one other table of people in bar, three people behind bar, no one to wait on us. Yes we were standing at bar. Left Hungry, Thirsty, Disappointed. They may have the best beer in TC, but I'll never know.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyt427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still great beer, terrible experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Perhaps over time the staff and owners have grown tired of tourists, I can get that. But really, at least pretend to be a decent person. Rude service and outright being ignored was not on my agenda. I had been here previously and had a great experience so I'm not sure what happened in between. They still haven't really established any menu so eat before you decide to stop. Still love the beer but the atmosphere was almost hostile with the "you don't belong here you're not a regular" feel to it. Skip it, you can buy their beer at local stores and even downstate now without the attitude.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nandipandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky friendly vibe and great beer”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yummy beer. Delicious mango salsa!!! Excellent hummus. Very funky, interesting space. Looks like they have lots of cool-sounding activities. Went there on ale trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hermione5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off beaten path but totally worth it!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This brewery isn't on the main drag in traverse city but more off the beaten path. My husband and I love craft beers so we chose to stop at Right Brain. What a great choice! Every single home brew they make is so unique and very delicious! We had flights so we could try several and the names of each beer are just as fun as the taste! Names like Rumple Smooth Skin, Thai Peanut, and Firecracker with a hint of pepper flair - all amazing! We went on Sunday night and were the only 2 there...I was very surprised by this but the staff was great!

Unique? By far! This brewery is a big open industrial building and you can bring your own food in! They have local kids art hanging on the walls that can be purchased and tons of board games waiting to be played!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I liked the whole flight”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Visiting a few breweries in the area and this was the only place I liked all the beer. They aren't all main stream (think Thai peanut beer) but all well made and easy to drink the flight sized portions. I like the cake walk and blue magic? best.
We walked from downtown. Sidewalk doesn't go all the way so driving is probably best.
Building seems to be more of an open warehouse with a mismatched selection of seating.
The bartenders were helpful and seemed knowledgable. Huge bonus in a brewery. I think a larger selection of foods could benefit this establishment. Not fancy but maybe some more sandwiches (the waffle sandwich looked good but we did go elsewhere for Lunch) or mini pizzas or something.
I am surprised to say that from this experience I would recommend a visit here or driving out to Shorts.
Keep up the good beer at Right Brain!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrstabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Right Brain Brewery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Right Brain Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing