We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot”

Left Foot Charley Winery
Ranked #22 of 108 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Left Foot Charley is a winery like no other. In lieu of the single estate model, LFC is a collection of grape and apple growers located throughout Northern Michigan dedicated to growing fruit for our wine and cider. Located in the urban setting of the former Traverse City State Hospital campus known as The Village, LFC creates an array of balanced white wine, red wine, and hard cider. Every bottle tells the story of the farm, the vintage and the winemaker's dream of sharing it all with you.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The dry Riesling was the best of the wine we tasted. The hard cider was also excellent.
Nice outdoor seating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    15
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Good place if you get there at least a half hour before they close”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Left Foot Charley is a good spot. If you get there within a half hour of closing they do NOT do tastings unless the manager is there. We walked in 20 minutes before closing and were told we could not do a tasting. Ten minutes later another couple came in and the bartender said they couldn't do a tasting as they close in ten minutes, but the manager,I'm assuming said they could do a tasting, and they did. We although were out of luck. We finished our glasses of wine and left, without buying anything else.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jiffysplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

LFC should consider their wine tasting fee to other venues in the area. Not only that we did not find the person serving very attentive. The atmosphere and facility are nice and it seemed more suited to the after work crowd.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJMCanton_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Girl!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Every time we come to TC we HAVE to stop here for a glass of cinnamon girl and to refill our growler. We were here for the weekend and visited 3 times. It makes up for the months in between visits when we are just craving a nice cold glass of Cinnamon Girl. Their other ciders are also very good. Give it a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashba1ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

this is a nice place. great location. the staff was attentive. the wines were good. very cool lables.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NR49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Left Foot Charley Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Left Foot Charley Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing