We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a CRAZY place!!”

The Village at Grand Traverse Commons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old state asylum that is being renovated into shops, restaurants, wineries, and more...lots to look at, including tons of trails to walk, bike, ski, etc.
Mitchell
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“No longer a CRAZY place!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The focal point of the Village is an enormous building that was once an asylum for the mentally challenged but it now has a second life.

Within the former asylum we spent 2-3 hours roaming through the basement maze of shops. These shops sold all forms of artistry - paintings, metal and glass works. As well other boutiques sold wines, bicycles and clothing. At one end of this magnificent structure one might rest and dine at Stella or walk the grounds to visit out-buildings that include a bakery, a wine-tasting outlet, cheese cake shop and a coffee house. Although we did not visit the entire main building, there are condominiums as well as a senior retirement area present and various offices.present.

This is a beautifully restored building situated on magnificent grounds. A tribute to individuals who are/were visionary risk takers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank under65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    195
    66
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved the architecture of this building”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This building is sooo cool to know the history of it and what it is today. It is a beautiful building. The stores in it are not really my taste. There were mostly art and hand crafted jewelry (expensive). I got the gelato it was very good chose 4 kinds and bought some MI food items there. We also ate at Stella the night before for our anniversary the best restaurant in the world in my opinion! Also did some sprit tasting there. Had a good time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodie4Life1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Worth the trip just to see the beautiful buildings. The shops are very pricey but it was cool see a bit of the inside. If you like historical sights and want to take some great pictures then don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JCLacy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Renovation at it's best!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As a photographer, and someone who appreciates historical buildings, I loved to see this fabulous renovation of an old state hospital. Preserving this landmark adds so much to the city. Interesting shops, coffee shops, wine and food, along with office space, and at the same time a look at the portion of the hospital that is waiting to be renovated. A true before and after view. Loved it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy fun”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was easy to go from one shop to another down the halls of Grand Traverse Commons. Shops had lots of unique items and the shopkeepers were so friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Village at Grand Traverse Commons also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Village at Grand Traverse Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing