We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged us before the tour, then took a week to refund”

Tasty Morsel Culinary Excursions
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 August 2013

First, let me be clear that it was understandable why the owner had to cancel our tour and we had no problem with that. The problem was the poor business practice of charging our credit card in full two days BEFORE the tour. Then when the tour was cancelled it took a week to refund the credit card. We were in Traverse City all week, and this was the only activity we did that charged our card before services were rendered -- all others used the card to hold our reservation and then charged the card the day of the activity. This was also the most expensive activity we did all week, including things like kayaking and taking a 3-hour boat cruise on the bay, meaning that it was a hefty sum of money. If a business wants your money right away (or even before they render service), then they MUST be able to issue an immediate refund rather than making the customer wait several days. This is an unacceptable business practice.

Thank Becktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yum-e-gal, Owner at Tasty Morsel Culinary Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I'm sorry you felt your experience with our company was a negative one. We strive to make the experience for everyone who contacts us, takes our tour, or works with us in any way positive, professional and fun. We had processed your refund the day before your tour was to have taken place (as soon as we learned about the death in our family.) Unfortunately, we cannot control how long it takes the bank to process and post the refund to your card. We take payments in advance, not for our benefit, but because we work with so many other businesses. These businesses go to great lengths to prepare a good experience for our guests and it's not fair to them when we have guests who cancel at the last minute or don't show up for the tour. We have found that by taking pre-payments, we minimize how often this happens. Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I are new to Traverse City and our daughter gave us the 3 hour walking tour as a gift so that we might get to know down town Traverse City better. Lysa did a great job and knew the area well. We went in to stores that I normally would never have visited. Because of this tour I definitely will shop more often downtown. Thanks Lysa for a job well done!

Thank 200Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yum-e-gal, Owner at Tasty Morsel Culinary Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

I'm so glad we were able to give you some insight and introduce you to some amazing new places in your new home town! Glad that you loved the tour. Hopefully, we'll see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I had a great day walking around downtown Traverse City and sampling the fabulous food the city has to offer. Lysa did a fabulous job of showing where to get delicious food in TC and providing plenty of information on the various stores, restaurants, and brands we encountered. It was very obvious that she has done a lot of research on the local restaurants and brands and was able to answer any question we had. Not only is the tour delicious but it was a learning experience as well, she even provided some great cooking tips. Overall, this was an excellent tour we would highly recommend to anyone visiting TC! Thanks!

Thank Sammadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were honeymooning in TC and wanted to explore the area in a way we never had before. Lysa knew many odd, quirky facts about the area and places we visited. She was very polite and made it a point to ask us if we wanted to visit anymore sites before wrapping up our walking tour. She always kept the conversation going and was able to make the experience very enjoyable. Lysa was very knowledgeable about the city and had suggestions for restaurants for us later on our trip. Can't wait to come back to Traverse and do another tour with her.

Thank MichiganFoodie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went in February and did the walking tour of Front Street. Lysa was friendly and knowledgible. I grew up not to far from the Traverse City area, and visited from time to time when I was a kid, but there were a lot of places that I would probably have never found if it wasn't for this tour. Some of the places are in fact chains/franchises, but they are still unique in there own way, and who really turns down free pie just because its a successful business and has other locations across the state. We had a great time and would love to go back and do one of the full day tours soon.

Thank TrishaandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasty Morsel Culinary Excursions also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Tasty Morsel Culinary Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing