We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is the Best!”
Review of Beach Haus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Haus Resort
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Older building but Very well maintained and completely charming. Located right on East Traverse Bay with sandy waterfront, but grass and flowers up by the rooms. Most rooms have view of water. #113 is somewhat larger with full kitchen. It is perfect for extended stays in Traverse City. Large penthouse is available also. Light breakfast is provided. I highly recommend this lodging. Look it up on the website!

Room Tip: Splurge for a waterfront room. #113 is larger, more windows, more patio area. Has Murphy Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Beach Haus was nice and clean, front desk was friendly and helpful.
located on the Traverse Bay, beach was very nice and clean, plenty of beach chairs. Breakfast was okay, no seating area except for outside in the grassy area or in your room, had beautiful weather and could eat outside.
Only drawback they do not have bath amenities (shampoo, lotion, bar soap) in room. And the front desk did not have any, had to use liquid soap that they keep refilled. I would go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Reserving a room via the internet can be iffy...you really don't know what you're going to get. Reviews are helpful, but you have to remember that some people are never happy about anything.
We're very happy that we had the chance to stay at the Beach Haus. We hope to return there in the future. The staff was helpful and friendly; they even left a nice card and chocolates in our room in celebration of our anniversary. The room was comfortable, clean and met our needs. The grounds were lovely and the view spectacular. Even though the resort was full, it was very quiet and pleasant.
If you're looking for "up-scale" fixtures, linens and electronics, look elsewhere. But if you're looking for a charming, comfortable place to stay on a beautiful stretch of beach, the Beach Haus is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

hello........the beach haus in our opinion is a third class motel.......the rooms were like an old rustic, ,,,not warm feeling but like a dirty one....not very appealing..We seen bugs in the corners and cob webs near the ceiling...My wife and I only stayed there one night thank god and we slept with the light on , with our clothes on and on top of the sheets.....we could not wait to leave....Now if you have no problems with the above then maybe knowing that after 9 pm approx, there is no one at the front desk until 7 am the next morning...they close it down.....Yeh you read that correctly....so if you have a problem or an emergency or what ever....guess what?...your on your own......they leave a note and a phone number to reach someone "after hours"...rediculous and scary...if your from out of town, you like the idea that there is someone there for you at the front desk if you need assistance or in the event of an emergency...Now they could of changed this , but i highly doubt it...I would never recommend staying there even if they gave me the room for free..The breakfast is in the main hallway.... and its not much of a breakfast but it is at least something.....but i encourage you to check the place out first before booking .we hated it...and joke about it when we are in Traverse City ...as we drive by....I say...or there is the Sh*&^*&^ Haus..., WE DONT RECOMMEND THIS "MOTEL"..remember its not a resort and it is defintely not a hotel....ITS THE BEACH HAUS MOTEL..in our opinioin

Room Tip: if you like bugs,,,well your gona love this place...bugs in the corners and spiders on the wall !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sooboy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Beach Haus had everything we needed. Our kids loved the nice long beach and spent many hours in the water. My husband and I relaxed on the abundant lawn chairs that were tastefully placed around the resort. The free breakfast was amazing, and our kids went back for many more helpings of biscuits and gravy, corned beef hash, and oatmeal. Stone tables and umbrellas provided cover from the sun while we ate our lunch, and were a great place to play cards. For dinner, we frequently used the grills provided by the Beach Haus, and had many wonderful meals by the beach. The service here was phenomenal. Any question or need we had was attended to, and they all were very friendly to us. I would recommend the Beach Haus for anyone who likes a relaxing, laid-back atmosphere, and enjoys great service with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rideon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The lawn and beach are wonderful however everything about the hotel from the beds to the furniture to the lawn chairs are circa 1970. The beds were soft and lumpy, the linen poor quality and the bathroom came with its own plunger - watch out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiceroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Great location, with a beautiful lawn & beach area. Lawn are has lawn chairs. a deck with patio furniture, picninc tables & chairs with umbrellas, and BBQs for grilling. Beach toys are provided for kids as well as utensils for grilling. Breakfast was good. Rooms are dated & the weather strip was missing from the font door of our room which let bugs in. The resort staff was quite obliging and switched us to a room that opened on the inside. However, we had spiders in the room and we killed about 5 in one day, 2 of which were the size of a quarter that had us concerned & quite sleepless at night. There are spiders(small ones & red ones) on the lawn & the beach as well - on the beach chairs, and the picnic tables. So, one has to be cautious, especially if having babies/toddlers around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
3.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#24 of 40 in Traverse City
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haus Resort

Address: 1489 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3636
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £79 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haus Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Haus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing