We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a fabulous stay at this lovely b&b. We stayed in the Grose room which has it's own entrance via the back of the house, and an en suite bathroom. The bed was super-comfortable and the room, though small, was well-kept. The highlight, though, was Franny and the absolutely delicious breakfast. Franny took into account our dietary restrictions (no dairy; vegetarian) and pointed out which dishes we could and couldn't eat. The frittata was amazing and my boyfriend can't stop raving about the pancakes. The location, too, was great. We were car-less and were able to walk down to main street/the waterfront and all the restaurants and bars we wanted to explore. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Loved the Grose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks for the review. I remember those pancakes too! The credit for those goes to Julia, who found the Lemon-Poppy pancake recipe and mixed up the batter the night before. Traverse City is a city and area we love as well, and I'm glad we had a part in helping you enjoy it too. Look forward to you coming back. I appreciate your feedback on rooms and sleep. We'll do our best to make those a 5 star next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
314 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's nice to park the car and walk to downtown activities, restaurants, beach, shopping, etc...
Parking in T.C. can be a pain so this is a real plus. Hostess Franny and her sister are pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts are good. Be specific when making reservations if ensuite bathrooms are important to you. Room are very small. Home is old.No individual thermostats.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oviatt House B&B. Our home is an old one built in 1899 by a Scotsman! He indeed was a practical and thrifty man and the room size refects his philosophy! The rooms are a bit on the small side but we try to make up for that with beautiful furniture and art throughout the house. And as you said, our location really speaks for itself being so close to the happening world of downtown TC. Please come again. Choose one of the larger rooms and we'll give you a great breakfast and a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yes Franny is a very nice interesting and accommodating person as we found out two nights in July. Yes the house is not huge but it is suprizingly quite in regards to not hearing other guests. Special treat for those of us who like organic and natural foods but the regular stuff is still available. Yes there is a organic food store just two short blocks from the house. I walked there and got my apple and carrots juiced from the small deli inside,very convenient!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EasyJustVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
You are great to send in such a nice report about Oviatt House. We too love being just down the street from the organic food store Oryana. For any visitors that care about organics, they will love checking out that location. Good for picnics and good for loading up the car to take home some basics. I am so glad you liked our organic choices. We feel the flavor and nutrition really makes a difference in buying local foods that don't travel 2000 miles and in organics where the soil is alive. So glad you appreciated it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oviatt House B&B during a trip to Traverse City in which we were trying to decide whether or not we wanted to move there. The B&B is lovely and in a great location from which to walk to everything we wanted to see. Our charming hosts, Franny and Ken, talked with us at length, answering all of our questions about life in TC. I had over-packed (our entire trip lasted 2 weeks) and had much too much luggage with us, and as there was no closet in the room we were in, the accommodations were a bit cramped. But the room was charmingly furnished and spotlessly clean, and had hooks for hanging clothes on the back of the door as well as ample drawer space. It also had a private entrance. We stayed very comfortably for 4 nights. Breakfasts were freshly prepared, varied, plentiful, and delicious. And the other guests, who were of all ages, were all extremely nice. Just as they had helped our daughter and son-in-law to decide to move to Traverse City, Franny and Ken also aided us in making this very large decision. If you are looking to be welcomed to a B&B with kindness and caring, you must stay at the Oviatt House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTravelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

As Traverse City continues to get more and more crowded in July, The Oviatt House remains a quiet and restful oasis in the middle of it all! Franny is such a thoughtful and delightful hostess! Stay here - you'll be back to!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We loved it here! Great location, just a short walk from the historic downtown restaurant and shopping area. Immaculate room with comfortable 4-poster bed, wonderful breakfast of vegetable omelet, bacon, smoked salmon with asparagus, homemade bagels, fresh fruit, brewed tea. Its an older house, so it was surprising that even with a full house we couldn't hear other guests in their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWHJER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I'm so glad you had a good visit here in Traverse and at the Oviatt House B&B. You were here in July, - a very busy time in Traverse - It sounds like you really enjoyed yourself and I'm glad we could be a part of it, and that our recommendations of places to visit hit the mark with you too. We have so many exquisite views up here, it sounds like you had a chance to enjoy them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had a wonderful experience in Traverse City because I stayed at Oviatt House for the evening. Franny is a fantastic host. She was welcoming and also made great suggestions for activities and places to eat. Breakfast in the morning was amazing. The location is perfect for explorations by foot. I will certainly return to Oviatt House the next time I am in Traverse City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing