We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 18 Traverse City B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Don't really have anything to add - the other reviews have pretty much covered it:
1) Franny - very, very friendly & helpful,fun to talk to...
2) Incredibly convenient location - only 5 min walk to downtown, but far enough away to be quiet
3) Breakfast: delicious.Franny is more than happy to accommodate any dietary preferences (because whatever it is, it'll be delicious!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_and_H2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Oviatt House B&B. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Traverse. We feel so fortunate to have this beautiful location to share. We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just stayed at the Oviatt House over the Labor Day weekend, and I can't write enough good things about it. Franny was a superb hostess in providing information about local sites and restaurants and served wonderful and creative breakfasts. Over the two days were were treated to oatmeal pie, baked oatmeal, quinoa salad, fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, etc. The location of the house is great and only a couple of blocks from downtown TC. Parking is easy, too. Although small (to be expected for a house of this vintage), the rooms are clean, nicely furnished, and there wasn't much noise from the other guests even though the house was full when we were there. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grose room, which has its own bathroom and exterior entrance. Upstairs there are fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bepeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I am so glad you felt so at home at the Oviatt House and that we fed you well. We have fun doing it and I'm glad we were a good fit for your vacation. Traverse is a beautiful spot; it is hard to go wrong with a vacation here. Thanks so much for your review and taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Location, location, location. Don't be fooled by the look of the street, you are blocks from downtown Traverse City, walking distance to most everything. This is a small, old house; very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is plenty of parking, not common in this area. But those are not this B&B's best features. It's Franny. She is a wonderful cook, breakfasts were amazing! I have food allergies and she took special care to make sure I was safe and in fact, made a casserole with me in mind that was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Franny engaged every visitor, asking what their plans were for the day, giving them tips, maps, and helpful suggestions. We were a diverse group and she met everyone's needs. Have one of the complimentary local wines or beers she provides and lift a toast to a great hostess.

Room Tip: Half the rooms share bathrooms, so if privacy is important to you make sure to book an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review of the Oviatt House. The entire fun of running a B & B is visiting with guests and listening to all of the stories that are told at the breakfast table. Each person at the table helps to create the fun and laughter and thoughtful moments we all share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a fabulous stay at this lovely b&b. We stayed in the Grose room which has it's own entrance via the back of the house, and an en suite bathroom. The bed was super-comfortable and the room, though small, was well-kept. The highlight, though, was Franny and the absolutely delicious breakfast. Franny took into account our dietary restrictions (no dairy; vegetarian) and pointed out which dishes we could and couldn't eat. The frittata was amazing and my boyfriend can't stop raving about the pancakes. The location, too, was great. We were car-less and were able to walk down to main street/the waterfront and all the restaurants and bars we wanted to explore. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Loved the Grose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks for the review. I remember those pancakes too! The credit for those goes to Julia, who found the Lemon-Poppy pancake recipe and mixed up the batter the night before. Traverse City is a city and area we love as well, and I'm glad we had a part in helping you enjoy it too. Look forward to you coming back. I appreciate your feedback on rooms and sleep. We'll do our best to make those a 5 star next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
305 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's nice to park the car and walk to downtown activities, restaurants, beach, shopping, etc...
Parking in T.C. can be a pain so this is a real plus. Hostess Franny and her sister are pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts are good. Be specific when making reservations if ensuite bathrooms are important to you. Room are very small. Home is old.No individual thermostats.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oviatt House B&B. Our home is an old one built in 1899 by a Scotsman! He indeed was a practical and thrifty man and the room size refects his philosophy! The rooms are a bit on the small side but we try to make up for that with beautiful furniture and art throughout the house. And as you said, our location really speaks for itself being so close to the happening world of downtown TC. Please come again. Choose one of the larger rooms and we'll give you a great breakfast and a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yes Franny is a very nice interesting and accommodating person as we found out two nights in July. Yes the house is not huge but it is suprizingly quite in regards to not hearing other guests. Special treat for those of us who like organic and natural foods but the regular stuff is still available. Yes there is a organic food store just two short blocks from the house. I walked there and got my apple and carrots juiced from the small deli inside,very convenient!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EasyJustVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrannyBluhm, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
You are great to send in such a nice report about Oviatt House. We too love being just down the street from the organic food store Oryana. For any visitors that care about organics, they will love checking out that location. Good for picnics and good for loading up the car to take home some basics. I am so glad you liked our organic choices. We feel the flavor and nutrition really makes a difference in buying local foods that don't travel 2000 miles and in organics where the soil is alive. So glad you appreciated it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oviatt House B&B during a trip to Traverse City in which we were trying to decide whether or not we wanted to move there. The B&B is lovely and in a great location from which to walk to everything we wanted to see. Our charming hosts, Franny and Ken, talked with us at length, answering all of our questions about life in TC. I had over-packed (our entire trip lasted 2 weeks) and had much too much luggage with us, and as there was no closet in the room we were in, the accommodations were a bit cramped. But the room was charmingly furnished and spotlessly clean, and had hooks for hanging clothes on the back of the door as well as ample drawer space. It also had a private entrance. We stayed very comfortably for 4 nights. Breakfasts were freshly prepared, varied, plentiful, and delicious. And the other guests, who were of all ages, were all extremely nice. Just as they had helped our daughter and son-in-law to decide to move to Traverse City, Franny and Ken also aided us in making this very large decision. If you are looking to be welcomed to a B&B with kindness and caring, you must stay at the Oviatt House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTravelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing