We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience - only tea farm in N. America”

Light of Day Organics
Ranked #20 of 116 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Light of Day Organic Farm & Tea Shop is Michigan's only certified Demeter Biodynamic Farm & the only commercial grower of certified organic teas in North America! Our specialty is the growing-from seed to cup-of award-winning, delicious, original recipe loose leaf teas and tisanes. This is a not-to-miss health and wellness destination when visiting the greater Traverse City area, and is located right on M-72, the main highway to the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. Thank you for your interest in certified organic Michigan agricultural products! We look forward to your visit! With love from Light of Day farm family. Please check website for seasonal hours and tea class schedules.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am a huge tea fan and I happened upon this farm while vacationing in northern Michigan. This site was a surprise around every corner. The company grows, processes, packages and sells all of its tea product on-site with only a handful of very knowledgeable and dedicated staff.

You can stop in for a tea tasting (6 or so teas) and a fresh cup of any tea there. The company sells top-quality greens, whites, blacks, and tisanes. The staff knows everything about the composition, health benefits and cultural history of the teas they produce.

They also allow you to wander around the farm where you can see a variety of plants growing in addition to tea, right there on-site. Beautifully managed and very friendly staff.

The location is perfect for friends or family who are traipsing around Leelanau Peninsula and looking for a unique experience.

3  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Owner at Light of Day Organics, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi! We're so glad that you had a nice visit, and we appreciate the nice post so that others will consider coming here to experience this beautiful place. We hope to see you again soon! Welcome to the farm family!
Be well,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

A very nice operation. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very knowledgeable woman(the owner maybe?), who took us through all of the teas they had available and the differences in how each is harvested is primarily in the timing. They have all of their teas on display and you can open the tin and smell each of the samples. They have a tea bar where you can be served hot or cold tea prepared as you wait. The prices are a little higher than I have every paid, but the attention to detail and the sustainable farming practices contribute to this. I did end up buying a ceremonial grade Matcha. I'll likely be ordering online as well. Worth a stop on your trip.

2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Owner at Light of Day Organics, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi there Sue!
Thanks for taking the time to make a positive posting about your visit to Light of Day Organics. How have you been enjoying the Matcha? We have an annual sale each February online, so please stay tuned so that you may benefit for the sale if this is a product that you have found benefit from (and we hope that you have).
Hope to see you again next Summer.
Be well,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped in because we had read good things on Trip Advisor. It was fun, but we wished they would have shown us around more and explained how they grow organic food and tea. It's really more like a store than a farm unless they explain more. We did taste some teas, though $6 seems like a steep price considering we had tasted wine and whiskey for much less. We did buy some tea, but it's all extremely expensive. We were on vacation and splurged, but never would spend that much on tea at home. We did discover matcha tea there, so we have to give them credit for that. We bought matcha smoothies for the rest of the week in downtown coffee shops. With more of an educational slant or even a short tour, this could be an excellent experience instead of just good.

Thank Becktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Thrilled that we turned around to visit this lovely spot. Well kept pristine grounds. Calm serene spot for a visit.

2  Thank JMKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirsten_rosemarie, Manager at Light of Day Organics, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

We, too, are happy that you turned around to visit! The farm is looking truly beautiful right now... I enjoyed a quiet stroll through the gardens before opening the shop this morning, and definitely encourage all of our guests to do the same while visiting. Nothing more calming than sipping a cup of tea while wandering through the beds where that same tea was grown.
Rosemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We learned a lot about tea, everything from the plant, ingredients, processing and the effects on health by taking the $6 tea flight. We really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend the experience!

1  Thank SaraMaeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirsten_rosemarie, Manager at Light of Day Organics, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the experience, and learned a lot! Part of the beauty in farm-to-table dining is the level of understanding that comes with seeing where our food is grown and how it is produced. Knowing about a product (if it really is of good quality) should always increase one's enjoyment of it... anyway, that's our philosophy, and that's why we try to make sure that everyone leaves well-educated about their tea!
Rosemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Light of Day Organics also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Light of Day Organics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing