We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish facility, beautiful views, new winery still on a learning curve”
Review of 2 Lads Winery

2 Lads Winery
Ranked #10 of 108 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: 2 Lads Winery is a small production facility located on Old Mission Peninsula in Traverse City, Michigan. We currently have 23 acres of established vineyards. We specialize in cool climate dry red and sparkling wines and have small runs of white wines to round out the lot. Sustainably farming our land is paramount to the health of our soil, vines and grapes at 2 Lads Winery. Come taste the difference.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stylish facility, beautiful views, new winery still on a learning curve”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Let's face it, Michigan's wine country is not Napa, but it's a fun weekend getaway. Compared to other wine tasting rooms on the Old Mission Peninsula, this one has the most modern architectural style and the best view of the water. Other locations on the peninsula have an average price of $8-14/bottle. Here, it seemed to be over double that, with fewer wine selections. The staff are nice. However, they seemed very overwhelmed. It was bustling, but I experienced better efficiency in the other tasting rooms in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    64
    46
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You have to meet the dogs!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

One of the owners was on the lawn when we arrived with his two Vizsla's. Enjoyed playing with the dogs. Friendly staff in the tasting room. My favorite was the Rose of Cabernet Franc. I am a "wine snob" and started to turn my nose up at a rose but it was most excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbfues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best vacation day on Old Mission”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent a great morning, riding slowly up the quiet roads to the Mission Pt. Light. Lunch at the Old Mission General Store and on to 2 Lads Winery. We were met and served by a delightful young lady, very knowledgable and personable. (husband is a Merchant Marine) The experience and the view was spectacular. We came home with the Riesling. So take time to visis 2 Lads, the tasting room and leave with good wine...then get a rhubarb pie from Grand Traverse Pie Co...'cause they use Roger Meyer's Bewitched Farms organic rhubarb!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A modern winery on the Mission Inn Penisula”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The tasting room has great views of the winery and the bay with a nice offering of wines to sample. The tastings are inexpensive and free if your purchase a bottle of wine. Greg was our server and provided a wealth of information about the wines provided. A must see for any Mission Inn winery tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDavidfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Great day on the mission peninsula. Looking forward to going again, and again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacationrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2 Lads Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 2 Lads Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing