We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavy on garlic but good!”
Review of Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe - CLOSED

Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh, housemade pasta served up the way you like it! Try our Spaghetti & Meatballs, Papardelle Bolognese, Eggplant Parmesan or any of our amazing made from scratch meals. Dine in, take out or take it home and make it yourself. We're not fine dining, we're just good eating. And... we cater! Menus change daily and are published on Spaghetti Jim's Facebook page or call us for today's mouth-watering specials!
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heavy on garlic but good!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Spaghetti Jim's on the last Friday of the Cherry Festival - even at noon, there was no waiting in this unpretentious little place. Husband had the chicken Cesar salad while the son and I went for the pastas. Both our entrees were good. I'd rate the service only ok, and the intense garlic aftertaste for hours even after him and teeth brushing a bit much, but some folks like garlic so this may be the place for you! Better than some of those chains that serve pasta? Surely.

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Generic dining room hiding fabulous pasta!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Was surprised that this is located in a strip mall, but it's out of the way and a true Hidden Gem! Yummy, truly homemade pastas (you can tell!) and delicious sauces! I ordered their signature spaghetti and meatballs and loved it (so did my picky daughter) and my husband got a panini. If you can spot their tiny sign, try it out! Dining room needs more ambiance though - it's fairly generic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven-sent caterer!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spaghetti Jim's was terrific, start to finish, in catering our dinner event for 30. Ours was an informal family reunion gathering, but a special occasion. Jim helped us hit just the right balance, equipping the tables with nice white tablecloths, flatware and glasses and offering a family-style buffet that included a lovely antipasto platter, salad, great entree options, and fabulous desserts (tiramisu and key lime pie.) He called me several times before the event, just to be sure we had covered all the bases. His wife oversaw the set-up early and with care. Great cooks, great people! Thank you for all your help!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SharoninDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were looking for a spaghetti dinner during our trip to Traverse City, We had looked on line for an Italian Restaurant, saw a few high end choices, but when we looked at menu on line not one of them offered spaghetti & meatballs. Spaghetti Jim's was the last one we looked and we were glad we continued to look, it is a bit hidden in a strip mall, but it was definitely the real deal. My husband had the full size spaghetti & meatballs, he was not disappointed. I had the Chicken Parmesan, which was delicious. All of the sauce and noodles are homemade - YUM!!! You can tell the owners truly care about their customers, they take time to try and visit every table, now that's service. We will recommend to others and return when we are in the area!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Has real potential”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has some potential with some tweeks. The food was very good. Their signature spaghetti and meatballs was exceptional. Made with fresh pasta and homemade mozzarella stuffed meatballs in a robust sauce it was defining. My daughter enjoyed her spaghetti carbonara. All entrees are served with a small salad with isn't much to speak of. Portions are good and they do offer many of their dishes in smaller portions. Prices were very reasonable. The one point of contention was the service. It was NOT bad service just undermanned and not properly trained. One cook, one dishwasher/prep person and the waitress/hostess/cashier/ bussed. The poor girl ran herself ragged but it was more than one could handle. She also needs to be trained on order of waiting tables. She was sweet and friendly just too much for one person to handle.
Don't let that stop you because the food is awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing