We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spaghetti did not live up to the name” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe - CLOSED

Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh, housemade pasta served up the way you like it! Try our Spaghetti & Meatballs, Papardelle Bolognese, Eggplant Parmesan or any of our amazing made from scratch meals. Dine in, take out or take it home and make it yourself. We're not fine dining, we're just good eating. And... we cater! Menus change daily and are published on Spaghetti Jim's Facebook page or call us for today's mouth-watering specials!
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spaghetti did not live up to the name”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had lunch at the office and ordered take out. They forgot the side salads, so we had to go back and get them. On the plus side, they gave us free cookies for our trouble. I ordered the Pasta Americana, which was basically spaghetti with baked cheese on top. It was VERY greasey (from the cheese?). They gave a good portion size, and lots of sauce (which I love). However, the sauce was NOT that great. I could seriously have made better with a jar of sauce and some ground beef at home. I was very disappointed because I figured with a name like "Spaghetti Jims" the spaghetti should be awesome, right? It was mediocre, sad to say :(

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkintheClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away from Jim's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I went to Spaghetti Jim's with my wife expecting a great italian meal, mainly driven by all of the positive comments here on tripadvisor. Our experience was quite the opposite. Not only did we get seated at a table with a great view of the dishwashing area, but we experienced some of the worst service we've had in a long time. Coupled with severely undercooked pasta dishes, the kitchen running out of key items (bread, ice), and an overall atmosphere of pure confusion by the staff, we will not be returning anytime soon. Unfortunate, as our expectations were high going into the meal. This restaurant has much potential (think: ready for a visit by Gordon Ramsey) that could be unlocked by a professional restaurant manager.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pasta in northern Michigan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is hands down some of the best food in northern Michigan. The piccata was divine. The spaghetti sauce is very good with perfectly seasoned meatballs. The best part is the hand made pasta. The minestrone soup was delicious with a wonderful tomato base. Every time we have ate here Jim has personally asked about our experience. This is our favorite restaurant in town. Thank you Jim.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heavy on garlic but good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Spaghetti Jim's on the last Friday of the Cherry Festival - even at noon, there was no waiting in this unpretentious little place. Husband had the chicken Cesar salad while the son and I went for the pastas. Both our entrees were good. I'd rate the service only ok, and the intense garlic aftertaste for hours even after him and teeth brushing a bit much, but some folks like garlic so this may be the place for you! Better than some of those chains that serve pasta? Surely.

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Generic dining room hiding fabulous pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Was surprised that this is located in a strip mall, but it's out of the way and a true Hidden Gem! Yummy, truly homemade pastas (you can tell!) and delicious sauces! I ordered their signature spaghetti and meatballs and loved it (so did my picky daughter) and my husband got a panini. If you can spot their tiny sign, try it out! Dining room needs more ambiance though - it's fairly generic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spaghetti Jim's Market & Cafe also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing