We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Safety and Location on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort, Safety and Location on the Bay”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Several times a month I am on the road traveling. I always look for a safe, comfortable and affordable place to stay. The Sugar Beach Resort/Grand Beach Resort in Traverse City, MI provide me that and more.

Add to it a beautiful location on the Grand Traverse Bay, I've got the best place to stay while away from home in TC.

Room Tip: My first choice is always a bay side view room. As a business traveler the hotel management throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    104
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
127
111
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
sgirlie
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I booked two rooms for my dad and I last week for three days. The property is well-maintained with spacious, comfortable rooms. I'm not sure I'd be happy paying the $300 they charge in the summer but for the off season, it was great. I enjoyed watching the sunset from my balcony. The breakfast buffet was good, but it would be better if they offered whole wheat bread for toasting. The only whole-grain option anywhere on the buffet was the raisin bran cereal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Sugar Beach and enjoyed the stay for the most part. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I loved being right on the beach. We didn't get up in time for breakfast.

I was very excited to see that adults only were allowed in the pool from 10:00 to 11:00 pm, as we were trying to spend some time without our own kids... We went down to the pool ready to sit in the hot tub until the families headed out. At 9:45, a couple dropped off 5 kids under 12 and took off. 10 o'clock came and went. At 10:20 a staff member came out and told the kids they had 5 more minutes. 10 minutes later the kids are still splashing and running around the pool. I went to the front desk and complained. I was VERY disappointed that then at 10:55, an employee came in and told the adults, who were finally able to relax and swim some laps, a five minute warning...

I may stay there again, but I will complain much louder and much more quickly were something similar to happen again... I was very disappointed with this experience. The staff were aware there was no adult with these kids and let them swim unsupervised. Not only is it annoying when a hotel disregards it's policies on adult swim time, but this was also hazardous for the children when a safety rule is broken.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greendreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We looked at several properties online before we settled on this one. We spent a few extra dollars for a water view room. We are very happy. It's quiet, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room is large with a walk-in shower which is a plus for arthritic knees. We have enjoyed watching sunset from our balcony and walks along the beach. This is a great off-season value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mplsmyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed there for the first time and we loved it! The rooms were clean, not overly warm as you could control the temp of your room and it actually worked!!!! The staff was kind and check in was fast. Great maned breakfast buffet with room. We will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: While there there was a power outage. We were only on second floor so was easy to take stairs next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Every time I come to the area (can be up to 3-4 x's/mos) I stay at your hotel. I have never had a bad experience and enjoy the location so much!. I have to travel anywhere from 1-2 hours north and south of the location for work purposes and, no matter the time I get back, (can be near midnight at times) I have always encountered friendly and helpful staff. All the ameneties have been very clean in my experiences. Thanks also for bringing back waffles!!

Good job to the staff at Sugar Beach!! I will continue to refer friends, family, and coworkers to also stay at your hotel

Room Tip: Have stayed in courtside and beach front. All have been very positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I am so happy I chose the Sugar Beach Resort!! I am always looking for new places to visit and experience and this was by far one of the best! The rooms were amazingly clean and I consider myself a huge skeptic. The view was gorgeous, I stayed in a room that overlooked East Bay. The staff members were all great! From the gentleman who checked me in, the gal who attended the wonderful breakfast bar, the room attendant to the incredibly sweet gal who checked me out. They have the best staff!!! I will be back!

Room Tip: Call to make your reservation, they are so helpful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,061 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300' of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. Included in every guest room is a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and personal safe. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing