We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent place to stay. Rooms are very nice & super clean. No need to go out for breakfast as the continental breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are a little pricey, but we stayed only one nite & they took a senior citizen rate ... But we had to ask. All in all it is a beautiful place to stay & the people were soooo kind & gracious.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyzmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked online so we were a little nervous. When we got there, we were greeted warmly, given directions to our room through a breezeway connecting the buildings and heading to the beach. Our room was very clean, but the shower could use a little extra work. It was a walk in, not like the tub surround. King sized bed with queen sized pull out and large balcony. Bar frig, microwave and coffee maker. Tv was definitely old school. Average continental breakfast but we went to a local restaurant for breakfast and it was good. Lots of restaurants, some right across the street. 10 minutes from Grand Traverse Mall. Lots of downtown shopping. The beach is combed daily but towels, etc were not picked up and disposed of for 3 days. The water only goes up to your knees for quite a ways. Rentals at the beach for sea-doos , etc. Would have given this a 5* except for the breakfast and beach cleanup. Definitely going again though !!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper level and away from the elevator. Go to a grocery store for snacks and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_360063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway Sept 13th-15th. Check in isn't until 3pm, but we were leaving for a wine tour at 12:30pm and called ahead hoping to check in before we left for the tour. The front desk and housekeeping was very accommodating, stating that our room would be the first room that they cleaned once the previous guests checked out. We got there a few minutes before noon, and our room was ready!

We had a King room with a Jacuzzi, facing the "courtyard" (parking lot). I thought this might be an issue with noise, etc. but we never heard anyone else, from the hallway or outside during our entire trip. The room was very clean and the Jacuzzi was huge! A very nice bonus to be able to relax in the Jacuzzi in our room instead of having to go to the pool room. There was also a mini fridge and a microwave in the room, which was nice for keeping and warming up leftovers from the night before.

The free breakfast was nice, it was fairly busy each time we went down there, but everything was promptly refilled, and everything seemed very fresh and tasted good.

It is about a 5 minute drive to downtown.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Although we weren't on the beach, we went and sat on the chairs and walked out on the dock one m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We cancelled our stay at the Grand Traverse Resort and spa as it was so disappointing and we were so poorly treated and we came upon this hotel. Staff were ecellent, rooms very decent, views stunning! The rates were fair and included a good breakfast. Everyone very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What we can expect from hotels like that: standard comfort, nice price, nice breakfast (all we need and a more!), friendly, nice area...and on.
We had a terrible night before and run from an &B in Sutton Bay to Traverse City. After a extraordinary dinner a wonderful night in a comfortable bed, bathroom, plus a nice breakfast. The beach was gorgeous!Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I am not going to go again to some B&B if I can have a clean, quiet, comfortable room and not pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Houston_TxFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My two sisters and I all spent a "girls NIGHTS out" at this beautiful hotel. We just returned from a three day stay in Traverse City, MI. This hotel deserves a PLUS for being so accommodating and clean. We asked for extra towels and they were in our room when we arrived. The beach is beautiful, the scenery awesome. You can sit on your deck which has a table and chairs to eat or snack. The shower was wonderful and the pool is beautiful. The breakfast was also a plus and the fresh fruit bowl very healthy. Very polite and professional service by the staff. All I can say is, "I can't wait until my next visit to Sugar Beach Resort.". The old mission peninsula is breathtakingly beautiful and restaurants nearby are great.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redheadn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here this summer with my family. It has a great beach and the rooms were nice. They did have a washer and dryer which was a big plus! Rooms were spacious and because there were 6 of us they had a large enough family room with bunk beds for us. The kids loved the beach, the sand was clean and the kids loved renting the water trampoline! The line for the breakfast was a little crazy and over crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRLL11255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,470 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300 feet of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a spacious living room, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing