We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This hotel is a great value in a great location. It's right on the beach and just down the road from the downtown area. We stayed in the family suite which has a separate room with bunk beds for the kids. There is an Xbox and DVD player with rentals available at the front desk. Both movie and game selection were up to date and in good condition with no scratches. The swimming pool and hot tub were busy both days we were there and they supply separate pool towels. There is a continental breakfast with the usual fare along with free coffee in the lobby. I believe the 2nd floor is completely non smoking if you wanted to stay away from smoking rooms. There was a previous review about the transfer of noise: I think the problem is not the wall thickness but the fact that some kids run around and are just plain loud. That being said, this is more of a family resort and would be great for gatherings although I did see some honeymoon suites. Overall the room was clean, had a large stock of bath towels, and good water pressure. Staff at the front lobby were very friendly and accommodating. For the quality and location, you can't go wrong with the price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aseedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2011

We are very pleased that you found our resort to be ideally located for your family getaway. It is always nice when precious vacation time does not have to be wasted traveling in the car. We try extremely hard to create a fun atmosphere for the kids, the x-box and game rentals were an addition in our suites this past summer. We are glad to hear our updates are a big hit! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Traverse City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I enjoyed ourselves from the moment we pulled into the lot. The staff was extremely knowledgable and friendly. The view from our room was perfect!! I have never wrote a review before but felt so strong about how great of a time we had that I had to share my thoughts. By the way, before we went to our trip I read a review that suggested that there was an odor in the hotel, the staff was rude, and not helpful. I am telling you now....that is all false.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clbailey1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to write a great review. We are committed to taking care of our guests from the time they enter the front door, until their departure. We will continue in our stride for excellence and guest satisfaction. Again we are glad to hear that our staff and resort exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to seeing you and your wife again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

cant say enough about sugar beach....the front desk staff are incredible....the rooms are classy and clean.....just a great place to stay right on the beach.....wonderful

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooboy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

We are so happy that you enjoyed our resort, and thank you for the positive feedback. It is very important to us that we continue to exceed all of our guests expectations. We spend a lot of time and effort in giving our guests the complete package when they stay at The Sugar Beach. Clean rooms, ideal amenities and a friendly and helpful staff. So glad that everything came together so nicely for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Hotel was very busy this weekend due to a soccer tournament and a Viper car show. My family enjoyed the beach area, playing football and relaxing on the water. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeandstephtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are very happy your family had an enjoyable weekend on the beach. Sorry to hear the comment about breakfast. Most of our guests fully enjoy our deluxe breakfast including fresh waffles and toppings, yogurt/granola and hard boiled eggs. Thanks for your business, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I was more impressed with this hotel than not. The rooms were clean and the view was great. The only faults on the place are the following:

1) They allow dogs. There was a barking dog across the hall. I think they should dedicate dog only rooms, and not on the top floor.
2) Rooms were OK, but felt like a cheap holiday inn. Nothing special on the room. Rooms are only for sleep here, you will be spending time on the beach.
3) Staff was OK. Ladies were great. There was a guy at the front desk who needed a class in communication. Also needs to learn to smile once in a while.

I am a glass half empty type of guy. So I had to throw in those two comments.

Overall, a great value and solid hotel.

By the way, the beach was awesome. Knee level deep about 100 yards out, so good for the kids. Little disappointed that we had to rent the floating tube (large tube with slide about 100 yards out). This would of been fun, but of course there was a sign that said for rent sign. So they nickle and dime you the best they can, but again who doesnt anymore. Look at the airlines.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ComebackShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Thank you for your business and the review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a good value. We are proud to offer clean, comfortable rooms with a great view of Grand Traverse Bay. Having the best beach in Traverse City at our fingertips definitely makes our resort unforgettable! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I am writing this from my room at the hotel. My daughter is napping and i'm crossing my fingers that she doesn't wake up give the noise level. This place has no insulation and you can hear every noise from above (sounds like elephants) and the hallway. I joked with my husband that I keep thinking there is an earthquake - the room and furniture shake when someone walks by (either in the room or in the hallway).

Room: It's okay. More like a motel than a hotel. Smells musty and not very clean (e.g. hairs in the bathroom (that are not ours).

Location: This is the best part about it. Unfortunately it rained this morning so we couldn't use the beach.

We've been here 24 hours and I can't think of anything good to say. The people that work at the front desk are very nice, I will give them that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2010

I apologize for the events you experienced during your stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. They are definitely not acceptable or taken lightly. I can assure you that the “less then perfect” room cleanliness you encountered is not typical of our standards, and I am sorry for the inconvenience. During the summer season the resort is very popular amongst friends and families, and it occasionally gets a little louder then expected at times. We do recommend that you let us know immediately if you are experiencing any problems. We have a large staff that is always ready to accommodate any need.

I am happy to hear that the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and that the location of the resort suited your needs. We are very proud of our beautiful beach frontage on East Grand Traverse Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

My husband and I noticed a bad odor when we walked down the 3rd floor hallway and was it was worse in our room. (Though it said nonsmoking rooms, it must have been smoking in the past). I asked the housekeeper if someone was smoking on the floor and she said it was the cleaning supplies. She came into the room and sprayed but it didn't last. Even the clothes kept in the closet and drawers picked up the odor. We had to wash all our clean clothes and air out the suitcases when we got home. Also the air conditioner leaked water on the carpet and the repairman had to come in and empty the unit with a shop vac. Afterward he suggested we put our towels down to soak up the water in the carpet!
Otherwise the hotel and room were very clean. Continental breakfast was ok. We enjoyed the large hot tub in the room and the bed was pretty comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel has a large beach front that is very clean (swept daily) and in a great location on Easy Bay where you can take a nice walk along the shoreline.
We did get a great summer rate on this room and would go back if they got rid of the odor or we were on a different floor. Traverse City is a great place to go and get away with lots to do: wineries, dunes, a lot of little towns to shop nearby etc.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaLC, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2010

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel. Your feedback is most appreciated, and we value your business. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Sugar Beach Resort. I can assure you that your concerns are being addressed.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beach frontage and that our staff was accommodating. I look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.7 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £62 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300' of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. Included in every guest room is a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and personal safe. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing