We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”
Review of Brew

Brew
Ranked #36 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Brew is an independent cafe and coffeehouse located at 108 E Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan. Brew offers customers a wide variety of delicious beverages, including coffee, tea, espresso drinks, microbrews, local wines, and seasonal drinks, along with pastries, grilled sandwiches, soups, salads, wraps, vegan, vegetarian, and gluten free menu options.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Serve yourself for a buck or get a pour over for 3. Great coffee and nice atmosphere. Friendly and hard working staff. Great location of front street.

Helpful?
Thank Johnnygrapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place, I love the atmosphere, beer, wine and coffee”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Its a definite stop in place, they have wonderful coffee, and the mugs for sale are priceless. I purchased a unique mug for my husband. They serve food, I didn't have any, but I will stop in next time. Its a self-service restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffandJulie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“snooty”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went here with friends. It's got a prime location and an interesting menu. However, a friend has significant allergies, and the barista was very rude in responding to her inquiries about ingrediants. This was off putting to say the least. There's several other coffee shops I'd try before I'd go here again. Customer service is important.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pricey for not a lot”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Their medium is about the size of everyone else's small coffee. Then it is filled only about 70% of the way to the top. Whether its a coffee drink with tons of foam, or even a regular coffee. Its a shame because the staff is nice, the coffee is good, but the value isn't there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcatsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

For starters, Brew has some of the consistently best service of anywhere I've ever been. They are friendly and attentive without ever being overbearing. It's also one of my favorite places to study, hang out, get coffee, and eat. I just tried their quesadilla the other day and it was amazing! I would also recommend their tuna melt with dried cherries (yum) and their pita and hummus. Half off bottles of wine (on Tuesdays I believe), which is awesome, and they also usually have a nice selection of beer. Go there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SushiQ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brew also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing