We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I was surprised by the bad reviews. Our room was modern, clean, and bright. The carpet in the hall was new. Since we tend to go towards less expensive hotels , this one was one of the better hotels for the price .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palatine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    28
    16
    24
See reviews for
50
41
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here from Thurs-Mon in the spring of 2013. Very unexpected surprise of a motel. Clean, room was well maintained, close to everything, walking path directly behind the parking lot, friendly staff, vending machines had a fun selection, and the pool was ready for action - kids in it the first night, but empty over the wkend. Plenty of opportunity to get some much needed rest and relaxation. Will stay here again if possible. Price was very low - $185.00 for the entire stay. Lots of positives to say about this place. Thank you Motel 6 T.C. :)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor that's away from other guests - easy in and out - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Never again! Smelly dirty hallways, gross rooms that looked like they hadn't been dusted in 6 months. Stained bed covers, filthy sheets which I would not sleep on. Pool area very unsafe, pool and hot tub filthy. Got no sleep, people in hallways running, stomping and doors slamming. Could hear neighbors children all night. I will pay more somewhere else next time. You will get what you pay for here. Charged my credit card about 5 times what the rate was, scammed. This place ruined my weekend getaway in TC!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here March 9th and 10th, 2013 as a family weekend shopping getaway. For the price, we were very pleased. You can tell it was clean. It was also one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. For $36 off season, with an indoor pool and hot tub to keep the kids entertained, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This place is the worst, my kids went swimming and came back with red marks and rash all over them . The bathroom is overlooked and needed attention. It looks good with the decor but out dated TVs and bad picture! Never again will I stay here a

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captsalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Yes, this motel offers very affordable rooms, but the sanitary conditions aren't worth your $45. Rusty bolts in the pool, drinking fountains in the pool room were rusted through. Our room wasn't any better. Dirty tub/shower, behind the toilet there were clumps of hair, and the sink was dirty. Our bedcovers were dirty and smelled bad, I wouldn't even let my children touch them. We took them off and put them in a drawer while we were there. The noise was ridiculous, and we could hear everything other guests were saying in the rooms on either side of us. This motel was just plain disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Whether you're coming from 80 or 800 miles away, you won't be disappointed with your stay at Motel 6 in Traverse City unless you feel most comfortable when you've spent 60 -70% of your vacation budget on high end accomodations at places with room service, day spas and state-of-the-art fitness centers. But in today's economy, if you're a young couple, a family trying to make sure their kids have fun-filled vacation memories, or just a couple of empty nest retirees with a dog trying to make the most on a fixed income, please give this place a chance. No extra fees for the dog, by the way. Additionally, this Motel 6 sits in a perfect location. Pirate's Cove Adventure Park ( putt putt golf, go carts, water rides and more) is right next door. If biking, roller blading, dog walking or running suit your fancy, just hop on the paved path right behind the motel ( called the "Traverse Area Recreational Trail") and enjoy. So many things to do (shopping, dining, hiking, sight-seeing, wine tasting, skiing, snowmobiling, casino gambling, etc.). And when your day is done, come back to rest at at Motel 6, where you'll always find good, clean, honest, safe, no frills lodging provided by extremely attentive staffers who never forget to keep the front desk morning coffee fresh and flowing. Marlene M.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Property: Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Address: 1582 US Hwy 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Motel 6 Traverse City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Traverse City is located in the heart of Traverse City. This hotel is within a short distance to North Western Michigan College, Cherry Land Mall, and Munson Medical Center. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance, or a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing