We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - What's that smell?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OMG - What's that smell?”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Well we just checked in after a long drive and completely exhausted. The first thing that hit us when we opened the door was the incredible smell of wet dog or something... The dog hair on the sheets was pretty disgusting and made me wonder if they were even washed. The urine on the floor by the toilet was a nice touch too. We asked for a new room but since there are soccer tournaments all weekend the hotel was fully checked in. I just got back from Vegas and my son has to be up at 6am for a game so we just kept the room.

I was shocked since some of the reviews rated it high. This is the nastiest room I have ever stayed in since college. It is also the poorest rating I have ever given a hotel and I travel quite a bit. I shall avoid Motel 6 locations in the future. If you do stay here bring ear plugs, the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazyjack555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Owner at Red Roof Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear crazyjack555,
We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and odor issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us; please consider contacting our guest relations department to report your experience so we may serve you better in the future: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    59
    30
    19
    26
See reviews for
56
46
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Clean rooms and pet friendly with no dog smell. Would stay again. Not much amenities but all we wanted to do is spend the nite. Close to town. Staff very pleasant. A good deal for the price when you look around here and see the prices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiahrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This location of Motel 6 is cleanand modern. Staff were friendly. Prices were very reasonable with seniors' rates. Dogs were free and welcome. Easy parking, great TV cable service, free coffee in lobby all the time, close to restaurants. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhpark2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We originally wanted to be on the beach right in the heart of TC however, since that added an addition $150 to almost every other hotel we ended up at this Motel 6. Granted, it is beach adjacent and a little off the main drag but it was still very nice. The bed and linens were comfy and clean. I’m also am a little paranoid so I double checked both of the mattresses in the room and the sheets, both of which were clear of bed bugs. The mattresses looked nice and new but, the mattress pad looked a little worn. I think if this hotel could afford a remodel it would be amazing. The rooms were a nice bright color but, the bathroom was a little lacking. It got a little noisy in the hallway during the night but, it settled down quick enough but, the security door near room 106 didn’t seem that secure. The outlet cover underneath the bedside table was missing a cover, I know this would be easy to miss by housekeeping but it seems like a pretty easy and necessary fix. The man working the night shift when we arrived was very nice and knowledgeable about where to eat and what to do, he even helped open my bottle of wine :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Grand Traverse Bay at Traverse City, Michigan is Busy and Very Pricey this time of year. Many resort hotels and chains up and down the street. I paid double what I have ever paid for a Motel 6 before and I must say it was worth it because I have never stayed at a Motel 6 where the room was this nice.

The outside of the building and the small lobby were just okay but our room was large, well decorated and clean. The bathroom was brand new. The wi-fi worked well. We did not use the pool.

We would definitely stay there again with a competitive seasonal rate.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and a window that opened. We left the air off and the window open and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I BOOKED my stay on line and paid through Expedia. Check in was a breeze. The room was the best price I could find for a dog friendly room in Traverse City. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of snow white towels and fresh bedding. The air conditioning was fantastic. It was cold in there until we turned it down. There is a nice indoor pool we didn't use. The beds were soft and comfortable and not too noisy for a good night's sleep! The shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water. We would stay here again especially since rooms in the area were going for $150 to 300+ a night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I was surprised by the bad reviews. Our room was modern, clean, and bright. The carpet in the hall was new. Since we tend to go towards less expensive hotels , this one was one of the better hotels for the price .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palatine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Property: Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Address: 1582 US Hwy 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Motel 6 Traverse City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Traverse City is located in the heart of Traverse City. This hotel is within a short distance to North Western Michigan College, Cherry Land Mall, and Munson Medical Center. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance, or a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing