We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, Clean, Comfortable Room at a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Large, Clean, Comfortable Room at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We've visited Traverse City for a day or two for the last two years and have stayed at another more expensive chain very near the Motel 6. Last year we were not particularly happy with the room so decided to try the Motel 6. Excellent choice. I'm disabled and was able to bring my power scooter into the room and turn it around with no trouble. The bed was comfortable and the room and bath were very clean. They accept dogs and the bikeway is immediately available to the rear of the building for dog walks. Motel 6 does not provide a breakfast, but given the quality of the offerings at one alternative the lower price more than compensates. There is coffee available in the lobby and a Big Boy about half a block away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    60
    30
    19
    26
See reviews for
56
47
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Not bad for the money. Only coffee for breakfast. Heated pool was by no means heated extremely cold couldn't swim in. Staff was very nice. Rooms clean and very plain. Hot tub was nice and warm. Other motels in the area served at least donuts.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsoap1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great motel, clean, good beds and nice towels, service and personnel helpful and friendly, I will have to take another look at Motel 6's in the future as we are traveling. We travel often and stopped going to Motel 6 due to bad experiences; here is a big "THANK YOU!" To Jonny and his staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Boardman, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our first visit to Traverse City's Motel 6 in decemer 2013 was fine at first, the room was clean, modern and comfortable. But when we came across the indian man on staff (who i later found out was the OWNER!!) He was VERY rude when we asked for an extra towel.
Our second visit, the beginnging of this month, we had no issues (or so we thought) my husband had never been there before, we planned on staying 3 days but only paid for one up front, telling the lady at the front desk if he liked the room he wanted it for 2 more nights. So not to book the room to anyone else and he would be down before checkout time to pay for the other 2 nights. No problem she said.
We wake up around 10:30 (our alarm didnt go off) checkout was at 11, so my husband jotted downstairs to pay for the remaining 2 nights. Only to be told when we got there that we had to leave. He asked why, they said they had 2 noise complaints from the people under us.
1) why was the room not phoned to tell us there was a complaint?
2) we informed the first lady we talked to (the one who checked us in) that my husband had a disorder where he cant hold his body still (kind of like terrets) where his leg spazzums can sometimes sound like a stomp. We were given a room on the top floor anyway.

It was this same indian man (owner) who was very rude about everything. He would not listen to a word i said. I asked if we could just be moved to a bottom floor, so my husbands disability couldnt bother anyone, and expressed how sorry we were, he was not having it.
Then we told him we had unpacked 3 large suitcases of stuff, hung up all of our clothes, had all of our items organized in drawers, etc because we were preparing for a longer stay. We asked for an extra few mins to gather our things at very least, we could pay for a late checkout. and he would not even grant us that, giving us only 15 mins to gather our massive amounts of stuff spread through the entire room. He made a couple rude comments that had me highly offended to top it off.

I do not recomend this hotel to anyone! Honestly i would rather sleep in a cardboard box than visit this place again. The owner is a very rude man, and discriminates against people with disabilities!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katielyndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for one winter night and found it to be clean, comfortable and a good value. We will definitely stay here again in the future. The Red Mesa Grill is just a couple doors down and a great restaurant. The motel is within a short drive or cab ride to town and has several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I would like to say, that the midnight staff, who apparently "owns" the hotel, treats people like dirt! If you are up at night, and have to deal with the person who was working on 2/12, then I feel sorry for you. He is RUDE, and won't even give you his name! Other than that, it was a nice hotel, but just UN-HOSPITAL service. If you RUN a hotel, LEARN how to treat people w/respect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcandy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear tcandy10,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay
you had as a result of the service issues you experienced. These conditions are
not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our
Guest Relations Department so they can have a record of your experience to help us
provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay at motel 6 was only for a night in October 2013. My girl friend and I weren't looking to spend much money BUT we wanted to be on the main hotel drag "US 31" and close to downtown. Motel 6!was perfect. They also offer a indoor swimming pool and hot tub which was a huge plus from being outside all day. We got to unwind in a nice heated pool. This hotel is good for people on a budget. I have no complaints about this motel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
817 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#31 of 40 in Traverse City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Property: Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Address: 1582 US Hwy 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Motel 6 Traverse City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Traverse City is located in the heart of Traverse City. This hotel is within a short distance to North Western Michigan College, Cherry Land Mall, and Munson Medical Center. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance, or a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing